We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's about the service!”
Review of Regent of Rotorua

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Regent of Rotorua
Ranked #8 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

We had a most enjoyable two night stay at the Regent. The hotel reception and restaurant are tastefully decorated. Our room was large and well appointed. The outdoor pool though small is refreshing. The geothermic pool at 40 C is soothing. We had drinks on the patio by the pool but did not eat at the hotel. The fitness room is quite small and ill-equipped but not oversold. The staff are exceptionally friendly and helpful with excellent recommendations for meals and activities in the area.

Well done!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CVHBH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,458)
There are newer reviews for Regent of Rotorua
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

826 - 832 of 1,458 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2013

This motel lives up to all the photos and does not disappoint. The rooms were spacious, clean and modern, even with 3 ladies in one room. The bar was a nice touch after driving all day, breakfast was good, location perfect. Only complaint was somewhat spotty wifi, but it was that way everywhere in NZ.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

We only spent a night here and were in quite late and out again early. Lovely welcome on arrival and reception area was lovely.
Not sure what type of room we had as I booked online and on arrival it sounded like there was no room left like what I'd paid for so we were to be upgraded. Not sure I figured out what the upgrade was though to be honest as it seemed to be what I expected - However it was an extra large unit (perhaps that?) with a seperate bedroom and ensuite and there were two extra toilets(unused by us and a little out of place I thought). Everything was immaculately clean and the beds were beautifully comfy so no complaints there. Only downside for me was it lacked an outlook. Felt quite closed in and slightly isolated
There were no large windows to see out of. Had to stand to look out of windows if you wanted to look down on street. However still a lovely place I would recommend - just one night was enough for me.

Stayed: October 2013
Thank nails1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Externally this Hotel looks like many others but the rooms are so much more than average. Our room was beautifully decorated in predominantly white with splashes of colour and was spotlessly clean. The bathroom was large and modern. The staff were very friendly and had no problem arranging a late booking for a Maori cultural evening. There is an indoor mineral spa and a heated external pool. We tried, and recommend, both.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Jennifer F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

The hotel appears to be a converted motel at first glance, but it has left those origins far behind. Beautifully decorated and maintained, great food, good location close to the lake and "eat street". Will recommend to anyone going to Rotorua.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Pudding24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

From the moment we walked in the door, Darryn and his team wow'd us with their kindness and VIP service. We didn't know much about Rotorua when we arrived - just a few things that our travel agent had booked for us. Within moments, Darryn had other great ideas for us and even a recommendation for revising our schedule so we could do more. The result was a far better time than we could have ever imagined...we did more, saw more and enjoyed more all thanks to his taking a few minutes to find out a little bit more about us and our trip. The hotel is also a real treat - beautifully decorated and comfortable. And, the food was fantastic. Our only disappointment is that we weren't able to stay longer. But, we'll be back!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anniegbalto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

We checked in and were almost over welmed just how friendly and informative the Concierge/Check-in were!! We were given the best advice about the many activities that Rotorua has & leaflets galore!! Wer were lucky to stay in the new wing (only 3 weeks old) and the room was excellent, top notch for the location and price!!! Will be back...

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank nigelbrown2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.3 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
717 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
0.2 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
1.3 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#17 of 92 in Rotorua
859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regent of Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regent of Rotorua

Address: 1191 Pukaki Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#4 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#7 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#7 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range: £107 - £227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Regent of Rotorua 4.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Regent of Rotorua Boutique Hotel redefines modern hospitality with a visionary blend of classic design, luxurious facilities and bespoke service. Our philosophy is to marry personalized, intuitive service with divine rooms and suites, stunning surroundings and a smart, relaxed atmosphere. Perfectly located in the heart of Rotorua within walking distance of the eating & shopping precinct, the lakefront, government gardens and the convention centres. The Hotel offers 35 guest rooms, restaurant & bar, outdoor heated pool, natural mineral pool, mini gym, spa services, meeting rooms, unlimited free WiFi & laundry services. Our award winning restaurant can cater for up to 70 guests banquet style and meetings can be held in a choice of 3 rooms from 21sqm up to 200sqm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Regent of Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Of Rotorua Hotel Rotorua
Regent Rotorua
Rotorua Regent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing