We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely experience”
Review of Regent of Rotorua

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Regent of Rotorua
Ranked #8 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Colombia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely experience”
Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights at the Regent. It is a charming place full of details provided to make you feel at home. Extremely clean rooms, free high quality wifi, well located, very nice staff willing to provide everything you need and even more. Would stay there in every visit to Rotorua.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Laura R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,384 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,028
    284
    57
    13
    2
See reviews for
258
781
52
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
133 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

We (couple and 22 yr old daughter) stayed here in Jan 2014. Stayed in remodeled 2br suite. Well decorated, appointed and spotless. Real gem was the restaurant and Darryn at the front desk. He took care of all tours and arrangements. 5 star service. The best.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Kat E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We stayed 2 nights over New Year. From check in, and Darryn's helpful advice on what to do & where to go, to the high quality of the accommodation & evening meal on New Years Eve which was excellent, made our stay extremely enjoyable.
We would recommend the Regent to anyone who wants to use this as base to visit the Rotorua area.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baildonfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights in November 2013. The young man that greeted us was very friendly and helpful. The room we had was lovely and had a separate bedroom and living area. We only had breakfast in the hotel which was very nice. Would recommend.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank baggiebird22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Stayed two nights at the Regent and enjoyed our stay immensely. This property has been totally renovated and the finished product is amazing. Our room was very nicely furnished and we enjoyed quiet nights and a sound sleep. The entire hotel and our rooms in particular, were freshly painted and perfectly clean. Our hosts were extremely friendly and anxious to help out in getting us reservations for local attractions and providing directions to others. We did not eat dinner at the Regent, but we did have breakfast on the two mornings we were there and found nothing to complain about, in fact everything we had was very good and the service was excellent. We highly recommend the Regent and will no doubt stay there again should we return to Rotorua.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kent-Debbie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Our stay at the Regent of Rotorua was nothing short of spectacular. The entire property has been renovated, giving what was once a motel a new, modern feel with a great pool, a fitness area, a mineral spa, and an excellent restaurant. What really makes this place shine, though, are the owners and staff. In our years of traveling, we have never had a more thoughtful, attentive "concierge" as Darryn, who is one of the owners of the property and obviously loves what we he does. Our stay here was spectacular and we wouldn't think of staying anywhere else if we returned to Rotorua.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tsarsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chessington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
514 reviews
208 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

This place has a motel-like appearance outside but couldn't be more different inside. Very friendly welcome from Daryll, including lots of tips on things to do ("Do you like sheep? No, Hobbits? No, Mud?) and we were given room 5 on the first floor overlooking the pool. It was a large room with a separate lounge / kitchenette area, a bathroom running along the back with a large bath, separate shower and separate WC. There was a comfy sofa, two chairs, another desk & chair, microwave etc. All very black & white and all very clean. Fast, free wifi.
We had dinner in the restaurant: the bread starters were delicious, followed by chicken & beef fillet also gorgeous. Service was good.
The hotel is in a quiet location, a short walk from the centre of town and from the lake.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PotterMoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.3 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
689 reviews
1.3 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
0.1 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
0.2 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
148 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#20 of 92 in Rotorua
820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regent of Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regent of Rotorua

Property: Regent of Rotorua
Address: 1191 Pukaki Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#4 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#7 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#7 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Regent of Rotorua 4.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Regent of Rotorua Boutique Hotel redefines modern hospitality with a visionary blend of classic design, luxurious facilities and bespoke service. Our philosophy is to marry personalized, intuitive service with divine rooms and suites, stunning surroundings and a smart, relaxed atmosphere. Perfectly located in the heart of Rotorua within walking distance of the eating & shopping precinct, the lakefront, government gardens and the convention centres. The Hotel offers 35 guest rooms, restaurant & bar, outdoor heated pool, natural mineral pool, mini gym, spa services, meeting rooms, unlimited free WiFi & laundry services. Our award winning restaurant can cater for up to 70 guests banquet style and meetings can be held in a choice of 3 rooms from 21sqm up to 200sqm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Regent of Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Of Rotorua Hotel Rotorua
Regent Rotorua
Rotorua Regent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing