We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only place to stay”
Review of Regent of Rotorua

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Regent of Rotorua
Ranked #10 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 January 2014

The title is somewhat literal for this hotel too as we ended up here by chance. We had to change travel plans and ended up coming back to Rotorua without any accommodation booked. This proved to be more of a problem than we thought it would and we toured round the town looking for a room, only to be told that they were all booked by a selection of sympathetic (very few) or snooty (nearly all) reception staff at the other hotels.

Just as we were about to leave the town, we came across the Regent. First impressions were of an American style motel but don't judge on first impressions. The inside is clean, modern and welcoming. Darryn on the front desk was a breath of fresh air - so welcoming, helpful and probably one of the most friendly members of staff in any hotel I have stayed in. I cannot praise this man enough (he even remembered our names when we came to breakfast the next morning).

We ended up in the last room they had available but it was fantastic. The bed was extremely comfortable, it was clean, well equipped with a kettle and a cafetiere, Sky TV and free Wifi. Exactly what you want from a hotel. We stayed for breakfast the next morning which was very tasty and good value for money. When we come back to Rotorua, we will not be staying anywhere else.

Room Tip: Book early and book in advance!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlasgowEuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,512)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

839 - 845 of 1,512 reviews

Reviewed 15 January 2014

my wife and I stayed for two nights at the regency. Do not let the initial overall structure fool you. Yes it looks like a american roa side two story motel. But the rooms were terrific and very comfortable beds. The staff was very friendly and very helpful with any needs that you may have.
Perhaps the best feature was the restaurant. My wife and I had an outstanding meal there.
If I am ever back in Rotorua ; I will definitly stay here.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mgl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Regent of Rotorua was positioned perfectly right smack in the city, which allowed us to get to all the amazing restaurants just by walking

From the moment we stepped in, we were treated really well by the staff. Darryn and Brent at the front desk showed us exceptional service and upgraded our room when they found out that we were on our honeymoon. They were extremely helpful with pointing out activities to do and places to visit and we even received a 10% discount voucher for the thermal wonderland.

Rooms were very well equipped, clean and spacious - nothing to fault really. Had a lovely and wonderful stay and would definitely come back again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

The Regent was incredibly welcoming. The entire staff - especially Darryn and Brent at the front desk - were helpful, friendly, and always there when you needed them. The decor was very nice, clearly professionally done, and the rooms were comfortable and spacious. The showers had great water pressure, the beds were soft, and the details in the design were lovely. Overall, had a wonderful stay!

Stayed: January 2014
Thank mabelchilterns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

This lovely boutique hotel is located conveniently in town, around the corner from a nice selection of restaurants. I also highly recommend the restaurant at the hotel - menu, food and service were excellent. I am sorry that my family and I only stayed one night. we would definitely return.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaeBee2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

While it bills itself as a boutique hotel, it is really a dressed up motel. We paid for a deluxe room and got two tiny beds. While the building is unimaginative, the service is five-star. Everyone we interacted with was exceptionally helpful. It has a pool and restaurant. It has a spa, but this is just a small hot pool. For the money you could probably do better, but you won’t go wrong staying here.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
Thank KilburnPost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We felt welcomed as soon as we got the Regent. The room was very nice and clean. Bed was very confortable. Quiet hotel in a perfect location. Darryn was always available to give us tips on what to do and where to eat. The restaurant was also very good and staff were very attentive. A perfect 10 for us.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linequiri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.3 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
746 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
0.5 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#17 of 92 in Rotorua
893 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
256 reviews
0.2 mi away
Princes Gate Hotel
Princes Gate Hotel
#25 of 92 in Rotorua
832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regent of Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regent of Rotorua

Address: 1191 Pukaki Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#4 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#7 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#9 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range: £118 - £212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Regent of Rotorua 4.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Regent of Rotorua Boutique Hotel redefines modern hospitality with a visionary blend of classic design, luxurious facilities and bespoke service. Our philosophy is to marry personalized, intuitive service with divine rooms and suites, stunning surroundings and a smart, relaxed atmosphere. Perfectly located in the heart of Rotorua within walking distance of the eating & shopping precinct, the lakefront, government gardens and the convention centres. The Hotel offers 35 guest rooms, restaurant & bar, outdoor heated pool, natural mineral pool, mini gym, spa services, meeting rooms, unlimited free WiFi & laundry services. Our award winning restaurant can cater for up to 70 guests banquet style and meetings can be held in a choice of 3 rooms from 21sqm up to 200sqm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Regent of Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Of Rotorua Hotel Rotorua
Regent Rotorua
Rotorua Regent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing