We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice, great location”
Review of Regent of Rotorua

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Regent of Rotorua
Ranked #8 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Stayed overnight. Room (2-bed/2-bath) was very comfortable and good value, aircon in each room with individual controls. Even had Sky TV in the main sitting room! Great location for the lakeside and parks, also for local restaurants and bars. If I was in the area again I'd stay here happily.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OldGooner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,475)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

773 - 779 of 1,475 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2014

I was deeply impressed by this place. We arrived after 9.00 pm, tired and hungry after a long drive from Auckland, and were told that the kitchen was still open if we wanted to eat there or they could recommend other restaurants nearby, Having settled into our suite - two bedrooms and two bathrooms, all immaculate and very comfortable - we chose to eat in the hotel and had a really good meal at a very reasonable price. Breakfast the following day was also excellent - when I asked when breakfast finished, the answer was 3.30pm! None of this 10.00 am nonsense. The quality of the service by the staff and the owners was outstanding. Advice and information was pressed upon us with great charm. This little hotel is an object lesson in how to run and deliver superb customer service in a small hotel. Other hoteliers would do well to go there and send their staff there as a training exercise to see how it should be done.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Freeman1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Perfect stay! We stayed at Regent of Rotorua for four nights and and very happy with the stay. The location is perfect, right next to "Eat Streat" (yup, that's how they spell it!) and a block away from the mall and city centre.

The rooms were good, spacious, well arranged, and very functional. The best part about the hotel is quallity of recommendations on what to do and what not to do. The person who runs the place (I am missing his name) knows exactly where one needs to spend time, enenrgy and money on, to have a great trip in Rotorua.

The parking space within the hotel compound is ample and free, which is a plus.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
Thank hwm3579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We booked the Regent late at night from a different hotel with the idea of spending two nights in Rotorua. We arrived to early for check in and were whisked off to their sister hotel the Black Swan. Therefore I can only say that after a fabulous experience at the Swan we spent only one slightly less fabulous night at the regent. Actually, we really enjoyed the Regent and the value for money, style and comfort were all there. Location was great. We were advised well from Daryn and spent and enjoyable afternoon in the Polynesian Spa, and saw the Lady Knox Glacier on the way out of town. We felt the service, friendliness and comfort were top. Thanks guys!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank desertgirl72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We stayed in November 2013 and booked a two bedroom, two bathroom executive suite for two nights. The suite was very modern and had a view over the outdoor pool. Parking was easy and the welcome at reception was warm and informative.

The whole suite was very clean and had plenty of extra touches such as the use of bath robes, a hairdryer, free wifi. The bathrooms were large, well-appointed and had complementary toiletries. The only issue for us was that the twin beds in particular were extremely soft and if felt like you may not be able to get back out once you were in them. Soft mattresses do not suit everyone, however, the bed linen and quilts were all of a very high quality.

The kitchenette in the living room was functional with plenty of cutlery and crockery but there was no toaster so making your own breakfast was a bit restricted.

We didn’t eat in the restaurant and instead went into the town and ate at the Lone Star one night and at Stone Grill the other. Both were very good and reasonably priced.

We would definitely recommend the Regent of Rotorua.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mathew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

This hotel met all the criteria down to the smallest details! We showed up from the airport a bit concerned as a result of a forgotten pick-up but we were quickly pampered into a most wonderful experience that ranked among the top in our Australia-New Zealand 4 week trip where we had booked first class accommodations! Darren quickly greeted us at the front desk and made us feel like we were important to them and quickly engaged us in humor, prompt service and a most helpful demeanor. They continued to do all the right things throughout our stay. Darren and his team quickly oriented us to determine our best options for a wonderful afternoon at the Polynesian Spa. We were checked in to one of the newly renovated rooms which was modern, spotless, romantic and exciting! The lobby was inviting and we were encouraged to sit and enjoy while they took care of all the small details such as coordinating tours, drinks and adding a wonderful sense of humor. This is a small hotel with a big hotel punch like a South Beach (Miami) oasis in the middle of a wonderful tourist destination. If this team focused on the 99%, they would be a great hotel but the small details, the 1% that they focus on makes this a world class destination....bar none! Enjoy!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marc P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We booked this at last minute and rank this the big find of the holiday- Great staff- lots of fun, immaculately clean- BEST EGGS BENEDICT - and altogether soo good we came back for another night on the return journey.
Its very well located and even has a mineral hot tub of its own- the rooms are very generously proportioned completely clean and well equipped.
All the staff we met had the same positive and cheerful demeanour which really makes a difference and speaks volumes for the hotels owners and standards
This is Boutique hotel at its boutique best
Highly recommended

Room Tip: We had a suite on the way there adn a room on the way back- both were fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stevebrenman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.3 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
721 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
0.2 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#19 of 92 in Rotorua
868 reviews
0.2 mi away
Princes Gate Hotel
Princes Gate Hotel
#26 of 92 in Rotorua
806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regent of Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regent of Rotorua

Address: 1191 Pukaki Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#4 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#7 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#7 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range: £139 - £249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Regent of Rotorua 4.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Regent of Rotorua Boutique Hotel redefines modern hospitality with a visionary blend of classic design, luxurious facilities and bespoke service. Our philosophy is to marry personalized, intuitive service with divine rooms and suites, stunning surroundings and a smart, relaxed atmosphere. Perfectly located in the heart of Rotorua within walking distance of the eating & shopping precinct, the lakefront, government gardens and the convention centres. The Hotel offers 35 guest rooms, restaurant & bar, outdoor heated pool, natural mineral pool, mini gym, spa services, meeting rooms, unlimited free WiFi & laundry services. Our award winning restaurant can cater for up to 70 guests banquet style and meetings can be held in a choice of 3 rooms from 21sqm up to 200sqm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Regent of Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Of Rotorua Hotel Rotorua
Regent Rotorua
Rotorua Regent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing