We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite superb”
Review of Regent of Rotorua

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Regent of Rotorua
Ranked #8 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 March 2014

This was by far the best hotel we have stayed in on our long trip through New Zealand. They got everything right that the other hotels seemed to miss out on. All staff friendly, helpful and courteous without being overbearing. Room beautifully decorated and clean. All the little things you wanted were there. Excellent breakfast and evening meals. Our visit here was unfortunately too short.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,477)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

761 - 767 of 1,477 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

Loved this hotel. Stayed several nights over a period of 2 weeks and it was nicer each time I came back. Staff are so friendly and welcoming. Rooms so comfortable.
Location good so that access to restaurants, shops etc is easy. No own car is required.
Food in the restaurant at the hotel is very tasty too if you don't wish to go out.

I would recommend this hotel very highly.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
Thank Critic58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We were a little taken aback when we arrived from the airport at what appeared to be a motel. Not exactly what we were expecting but were pleasantly surprised by what we found ! Darryn and Brent are charming hosts who were very helpful in every way, including making restaurant recommendations when requested. The rooms are nicely furnished and very comfortable. The location is excellent, right next to Eat Street. We only had breakfast in the restaurant and one morning the service was extremely slow.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank topfuziel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

The owners of this hotel have nailed service and decor. The staff was always friendly, helpful and attentive! The room was excellently appointed and clean. The made to order breakfasts were a delicious start to each morning we spent there. Lastly, the location was central to everything in town which made dining extremely easy.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StaAnd8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

The hotel was lovely. The owners are charming and very helpful. Our room was decorated tastefully and the bed was super comfortable.
We had a day tour with the company "Nature Connections" and it was educational, interesting and lots of fun. Our guide was very personable and easy to connect with. We spent many hours together and the time went so quickly.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rhtnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Very well located, very pleasant room well decorated. Very pleasant staff, willing to give advice about what to do in the area. Illimited wi fi. Lot of parking space.
Did not try the restaurant, whose menu looked good but may be a bit pricy, especially considering that there is a street full of restaurants five minutes' walk from there. Breakfast is not the standard buffet. You have to order everything.
Very good place to stay at anyway.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kualafrench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

As so many have already said, the service at this small hotel is truly exceptional - a PERFECT combination of efficiency, helpfulness and affability. These guys should teach a class on how to run a hotel (Sofitel Auckland staff could certainly use their help - doh!).
The rooms are large and lovely with lots of little touches of design and homeyness. The only room complaint was that noise seems to travel pretty well through the hotel - we heard a lot of doors etc. I think it would be a tough place for napping, if that's your thing.
Meals were delicious and reasonably priced (esp the wines). I would have enjoyed my steak a lot more without all the sauce on top, but that's just me. It was still quite tasty.
I'm not sure we'd go back to Rotorua again as the thermal odors kind of bothered us (no offense!), but if we did, we'd absolutely stay at the Regent again. Service is simply the best. Well done, guys.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eh555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.3 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
721 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
0.2 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#19 of 92 in Rotorua
868 reviews
0.2 mi away
Princes Gate Hotel
Princes Gate Hotel
#26 of 92 in Rotorua
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regent of Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regent of Rotorua

Address: 1191 Pukaki Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#4 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#7 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#7 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range: £139 - £252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Regent of Rotorua 4.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Regent of Rotorua Boutique Hotel redefines modern hospitality with a visionary blend of classic design, luxurious facilities and bespoke service. Our philosophy is to marry personalized, intuitive service with divine rooms and suites, stunning surroundings and a smart, relaxed atmosphere. Perfectly located in the heart of Rotorua within walking distance of the eating & shopping precinct, the lakefront, government gardens and the convention centres. The Hotel offers 35 guest rooms, restaurant & bar, outdoor heated pool, natural mineral pool, mini gym, spa services, meeting rooms, unlimited free WiFi & laundry services. Our award winning restaurant can cater for up to 70 guests banquet style and meetings can be held in a choice of 3 rooms from 21sqm up to 200sqm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Regent of Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Of Rotorua Hotel Rotorua
Regent Rotorua
Rotorua Regent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing