We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely Number 1 in Rotorua”
Review of Regent of Rotorua

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Regent of Rotorua
Ranked #7 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Definitely Number 1 in Rotorua”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

What a great place to stay! The room was beautifully decorated with an extremely modern decor. The lovely Front Desk was always smiling and always there to help! It was also conveniently located to many restaurants in town...We will be back the next time we're in Rotorua!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SQ380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,413 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,049
    290
    59
    13
    2
See reviews for
271
793
52
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We stayed here for three nights and had a wonderful time. Great, easy to locate, with many restaurants and the bathhouse (museum) within walking distance. Plenty of off street parking available.

The management has taken an older motel and completely revamped it into a quirky, unique, luxury place. We had a two bedroom apartment, with a small living room, a twin room and a room with a queen bed and a spacious bathroom. Everything was very new and very clean. There was a small kitchenette with a fridge and microwave I believe, but as I recall no hob. It was perfect for breakfast and pre-dinner cheese and crackers. The restaurant looked really good, but we ate elsewhere. It was warm, and we appreciated that we could use the heat pump as a cooler (don't know if it was AC or evaporative, but it did cool the room nicely). We tend to wilt in the heat, so this was really an important bonus. The decorations are all black and white, and reminded me of 1970 contemporary, but there were bright splashes of green, such as a soft throw on the bed and even a small green teddy bear on the bed.

The concierge/front desk person was really outstanding. Better than most i-site people in helping to plan our day. He found out we had tickets to an evening cultural event and arranged for transportation to and from our hotel. He made many good suggestions for things to do on a rainy day. He was sympathetic when we were tired and just wanted to sleep. He was concerned that the noise from a nearby concert might bother us and asked if we'd like to go. The noise was not loud, and didn't bother us but it was nice of the management to be concerned and solicitous. It also alerted us to the opportunity to see a great fireworks display from the parking lot. I rarely give five star reviews, but Regency earned one.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 32Linda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Really good room however a little on the small side and no facilities to speak of other than a fridge. Very good though and highly recommended. Looked after by Brent and Warren, I think, both really helpful.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trier2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timaru, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Very handy location. Clean and tidy, very friendly and enthusiastic staff. We'll lit car park. My room was downstairs beside the car park and near the road. No problem with the noise and very easy access.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hardon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

From the hotel you can walk to the Lake in 5 minutes and there is a good choice of restaurants just around the corner. The rooms are spotlessly clean and the decor is modern. The pool looked inviting but we didn't have time to try it. But best of all was the warm friendly welcome and help from Darryl and Brent.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clare g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

My wife and I spent 2 nights in Rotorua and stayed at the Regent, mainly based on positive commets on Trip Advisor, we were not disapointed. The hotel and room decoration are beautiful and very clean. The pool area is very nice. The restaurant is vey good. The hotel is very well located in Rotorua. brent and Darryl, the co owners, are extremely helpful. We had a great stay and would return any time.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fam2292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

This boutique hotel is beautiful! I'm sorry we were there only one night. Our room was lovely, nice and quiet! The decor is very classy...lots of black and white, with glitter thrown in! The man at the front desk (can't remember his name, sorry) was very friendly and welcoming. I don't know about the value, as it was part of a package of accommodations.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Betsy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.3 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
696 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
1.3 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
0.2 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
169 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#17 of 92 in Rotorua
839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regent of Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regent of Rotorua

Property: Regent of Rotorua
Address: 1191 Pukaki Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#4 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#6 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#6 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Regent of Rotorua 4.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Regent of Rotorua Boutique Hotel redefines modern hospitality with a visionary blend of classic design, luxurious facilities and bespoke service. Our philosophy is to marry personalized, intuitive service with divine rooms and suites, stunning surroundings and a smart, relaxed atmosphere. Perfectly located in the heart of Rotorua within walking distance of the eating & shopping precinct, the lakefront, government gardens and the convention centres. The Hotel offers 35 guest rooms, restaurant & bar, outdoor heated pool, natural mineral pool, mini gym, spa services, meeting rooms, unlimited free WiFi & laundry services. Our award winning restaurant can cater for up to 70 guests banquet style and meetings can be held in a choice of 3 rooms from 21sqm up to 200sqm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Regent of Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Of Rotorua Hotel Rotorua
Regent Rotorua
Rotorua Regent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing