We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally as advertised! Visit!”
Review of Regent of Rotorua

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Regent of Rotorua
Ranked #8 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Pictures looked good but we have been misguided before, our expectations were exceeded. Service is lovely, rooms are fabulous. Food was not as good as expected, but they have won local awards, Well done guys....I would come back for the rooms and service by the pool. Closest I have felt to LA in NZ.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank AngelaFaye74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,477)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

716 - 722 of 1,477 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2014

This boutique hotel is superb, a very comfortable bed and great bedding.
The cooked breakfast was outstanding, and our evening meal was also top notch.
The staff were very helpful with suggestions of local attractions to visit.
One of the best locations I stayed in on my visit to New Zeasland

Stayed: May 2014
1  Thank Plumly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

This is my second visit at Regent, only this time with more people! We absolutely love their two bedroom Executive Suite, comfortable and large enough, each room with very own privacy. Great for family with kids!
Food was acceptable good but with room to improve. Dinner is much better than breakfast.
Overall everyone is happy and this place is highly recommended, we will visit back again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phoebe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Although a motel in a former lifetime, the Regent of Rotorua definitely deserves its current designation as a boutique hotel. We spent two very comfortable nights in an executive studio. Our room was somewhat small but was beautifully furnished with a king bed and high quality linens. The tiled bathroom had a large walk-in shower equipped with two shower heads, including a rain shower. We enjoyed both breakfast and a dinner in the hotel dining room and dinner was certainly the best meal we had in town. What really sets the Regent of Rotorua apart, however, is the excellent service. The owners are friendly and gracious and definitely go above and beyond. They kindly provided us with information and recommendations for local attractions and unasked brought an umbrella out to us in the car park as it was raining when we checked in. The Regent of Rotorua is a charming place to stay and we highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2BBandBeyond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I have dined at several restaurants in Rotorua while here on business. This restaurant is outstanding; the waiting staff were friendly, knowledgable about the menu and helpful. The meals were well presented, very tasty and well cooked.
Our first experience was for dinner on Tuesday 13th May 2014; we shared the Regent ciabatta - which was freshly baked. I then had the Confit leg of duck which was lovely and moist and the accompanying vegetables were a fanastic compliment to the duck; and because the meal was so yummy I had desert - Creme Brulee (Chocolate / Berry) again this was lovely.
We were so impressed with dinner we choose to have lunch there again the next day; I had the Crispy fried squid, corriander, mint with palm sugar dressing and a freshly squeezed orange juice. My lunch was fantastic, the squid was nicely cooked (scored / soft) and the dressing was lovely.

To add to the fantastic meal; the service was outstanding. I would / will recommend the restaurant to everyone I know.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Slinkyprincess001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

The hotel itself is very nice; clean, well appointed, with a good location and amenities. Where it really shines is the staff - Every one there went well above and beyond to help make our stay outstanding. Darryn, at the front desk, was amazing.

Due to quirky flight arrival times, we got to Rotorua well before normal check-in time; no problem. Darryn had us sortred and in our room in less than ten minutes.

Not only did he have great suggestions for activities while we were in Rotorua, but he made all the arrangements for us, when necessary, and gave excellent advice and directions for everything else. He was charming and jovial, throughout.

Top marks for this place. Upon leaving, I told Darryn that we were going to kidnap him, so that he could be our concierge everywhere we go.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anarion55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

This hotel will always be my first choice of place to stay, 3rd time we have visited. Very comfy and clean and cannot fault the rooms. Dined in the restaurant this time, for the 2nd time, couldn't fault the food but Regent, please take into consideration if your guests are dining and no one else is in the restaurant, please discourage your staff from clearing all the tables and chairs ready for breakfast...come on!! It was 8pm...not really late for a meal and we were the only people dining at that time... all the linen was piled up on the empty tables, the waitress was dashing about moving tables and chairs around us as we were eating....spoilt our meal completely.....it stopped us from enjoying what turned out to be an expensive disaster. We left whereas we would have loved to have enjoyed a relaxing meal instead we were glad to leave and will reconsider dining there on our next visit. :-(

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zara58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.3 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
721 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
0.2 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#19 of 92 in Rotorua
868 reviews
0.2 mi away
Princes Gate Hotel
Princes Gate Hotel
#26 of 92 in Rotorua
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regent of Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regent of Rotorua

Address: 1191 Pukaki Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#4 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#7 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#7 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range: £139 - £252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Regent of Rotorua 4.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Regent of Rotorua Boutique Hotel redefines modern hospitality with a visionary blend of classic design, luxurious facilities and bespoke service. Our philosophy is to marry personalized, intuitive service with divine rooms and suites, stunning surroundings and a smart, relaxed atmosphere. Perfectly located in the heart of Rotorua within walking distance of the eating & shopping precinct, the lakefront, government gardens and the convention centres. The Hotel offers 35 guest rooms, restaurant & bar, outdoor heated pool, natural mineral pool, mini gym, spa services, meeting rooms, unlimited free WiFi & laundry services. Our award winning restaurant can cater for up to 70 guests banquet style and meetings can be held in a choice of 3 rooms from 21sqm up to 200sqm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Regent of Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Of Rotorua Hotel Rotorua
Regent Rotorua
Rotorua Regent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing