We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous place to stay”
Review of Regent of Rotorua

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Regent of Rotorua
Ranked #9 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2014

What a friendly welcome we received from Darryn, the co-owner/designer of this fabulous new hotel when we stopped here one evening in March, looking for one night's accommodation. Although room rates were slightly more than we were planning to spend, once we had a look at what was on offer, we couldn't resist staying. Unlike other hoteliers, Darryn immediately offered us advice about things going on in the town without which we wouldn't have known in time about the fantastic evening street market full local arts and crafts, jewellery etc and plenty of great food.

The place was taken on and refurbished fairly recently by Darryn and his partner, Brent. Using their own design skills they have produced a simply brilliant result. The rooms, situated around an internal courtyard with heated pool, have all sorts of interesting, clever and very useful refinements, providing everything you could want for a very comfortable stay. So much so that we even changed our travel plans to stay another night. Although we didn't have a meal in the restaurant, the food looks very appetizing and the atmosphere is just so friendly; the desserts we chose to have in our room whilst watching a DVD on a player borrowed from Reception were superb. On the second morning we had breakfast there which was excellent. Can't fault this hotel - very pleased to have happened upon it!

Rotorua itself is well worth a visit - there is loads to see and we will have to make a return trip to see everything we couldn't fit in. We already know where we'll be staying.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,512)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

745 - 751 of 1,512 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2014

I emailed them direct and got a instant reply which was a great start (good price offered) and we had a fantastic 2 bedroom unit which was very special and exactly what we needed on our road trip through New Zealand. My 2 young kids loved the heated pool and i enjoyed a relax in the thermal pool. They have done great renovations and the attention to detail is what caught my eye. I knew from their website what it was going to be like and the boutique nature and the professional staff were fantastic.
We were swimming and the staff saw us and bought us out more towels and the time given by the front reception for directions etc was special. Even though you may pay a little more than some of the other hotels / motels this place does the little things right and its perfectly located. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: we had a really good 2 bedroom room and the beds were awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GeoffRESORT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Really liked this hotel - has been done up beautifully by the two guys who run it - excellent décor and the hospitality is second to none. Agree the food was not quite as good as I expected but it was still very good. Will definitely be back :)

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maddie1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We had a great stay at the Regent. It is a very chic hotel but also very, very comfortable. Although very stylish this is not at the expense of substance. The mineral pool was a great way to relax at the end of the day. The beds were incredibly comfortable. Darryn was very helpful and friendly and made us feel very welcome- thank you.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sian789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We drove up to the hotel and I thought "oh no" it looks so very dated. But our rooms were so trendy we loved them. Lovely furnishings and a seperate bedroom. And a bath!Very spacious. The staff were very helpful. Very easy walk to a huge choice of restaurants.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pumpkin20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Pictures looked good but we have been misguided before, our expectations were exceeded. Service is lovely, rooms are fabulous. Food was not as good as expected, but they have won local awards, Well done guys....I would come back for the rooms and service by the pool. Closest I have felt to LA in NZ.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank AngelaFaye74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

This boutique hotel is superb, a very comfortable bed and great bedding.
The cooked breakfast was outstanding, and our evening meal was also top notch.
The staff were very helpful with suggestions of local attractions to visit.
One of the best locations I stayed in on my visit to New Zeasland

Stayed: May 2014
1  Thank Plumly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.3 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
747 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
0.5 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#18 of 92 in Rotorua
894 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
256 reviews
0.2 mi away
Princes Gate Hotel
Princes Gate Hotel
#25 of 92 in Rotorua
832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regent of Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regent of Rotorua

Address: 1191 Pukaki Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#4 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#7 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#8 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range: £118 - £212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Regent of Rotorua 4.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Regent of Rotorua Boutique Hotel redefines modern hospitality with a visionary blend of classic design, luxurious facilities and bespoke service. Our philosophy is to marry personalized, intuitive service with divine rooms and suites, stunning surroundings and a smart, relaxed atmosphere. Perfectly located in the heart of Rotorua within walking distance of the eating & shopping precinct, the lakefront, government gardens and the convention centres. The Hotel offers 35 guest rooms, restaurant & bar, outdoor heated pool, natural mineral pool, mini gym, spa services, meeting rooms, unlimited free WiFi & laundry services. Our award winning restaurant can cater for up to 70 guests banquet style and meetings can be held in a choice of 3 rooms from 21sqm up to 200sqm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Regent of Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Of Rotorua Hotel Rotorua
Regent Rotorua
Rotorua Regent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing