We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Black & White bliss”
Review of Regent of Rotorua

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Regent of Rotorua
Ranked #9 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 August 2014

On our travels around NZ we had a 2 night break in Rotorua where we stayed in the Regent of Rotorua boutique hotel in downtown Rotorua. On arrival we were greeted by very welcoming staff who were very informative about things to do and see in the area providing us with numerous leaflets and advice. The room was very well finished and decorated in the overall theme of the hotel which was black and white. Unfortunately we didn't get the opportunity to eat at the hotel but if we were to go by the number of people using the hotel as an eatery it appeared to provide excellent and popular food.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank saditch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,496)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

689 - 695 of 1,496 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2014

Absolutely loved it! What a team - friendly, helpful, fun - they absolutely made our stay in Rotarua and our entire trip to NZ. Couldn't recommend this cool, boutique hotel highly enough. Uber cool decor throughout, fabulous restaurant and bar, natural spa, parking, wifi, and a teddy for our 9 year old. We worked out with Darryn how to make the most of our time and he booked and scheduled all our activities which included: Zorbing, Zipwiring, Luging, Squeezing and a Maori night, not to mention the fabulous Wai-O-Tapu. We were gutted to leave and hope to return again…this hotel certainly set the benchmark.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank NathalieBAltrincham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

This is the best hotel to stay in in Rotorua. It's a tad expensive, but you get what you pay for. Service was 10 out of 10. The guy who served us was so helpful when we checked in, explaining everything to do in Rotorua, and recommended places to visit around the Norther Island. The rooms were well set up, and comfortable. Free wi-fi is a huge plus. The in-house restaurant at the hotel was absolutely fantastic - expensive, but again, you get what you pay for. The pool and geothermal spa was also great. The hotel is also placed in a perfect central spot in Rotorua, and it isn't in the area where you smell the 'Rotorua scent'!

Make sure you get all the brochures and guide books from reception, because you'll find they contain 10% discount vouchers for EVERY attraction in Rotorua - don't pay full price for anything in Rotorua unless you look through the guide books for vouchers.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Dayeian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

My wife and I recently stayed at the Regent for two nights as part of our honeymoon in New Zealand. This was definitely one of the highlights. The hotel was immaculate - clean, well located and with luxurious rooms and with a restaurant which served top quality food. All in a town which is one of the most beguiling, lively and beautiful parts of New Zealand (even with the distinctive smell!). But the real highlight was the customer service here - the staff were absolutely first class. We found Darryn and the team friendly, great fun and extremely helpful in assisting us make the most of our time in Rotorua. Our only regret was that we weren't able to stay an extra night or two here. HIghly recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

This is a great hotel, fantastic hot pools - inside(hot) and out (warm) very well appointed spotlessly clean rooms, comfortable beds, very friendly staff, convenient restaurant with great menu for dinner and breakfast, conveniently located close to the center of town and the lake. good value

Room Tip: All seem good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

After booking my flights to Rotorua, I looked for a hotel which was well located and had a great reputation - The Regent. I stayed for 3 nights and was thoroughly impressed with the way the staff conducted themselves. I was greeted with a warm smile and was given a room immediately even though I arrived early. The rooms were beautifully presented and very well maintained. The staff were also incredibly helpful in advising me on places to visit and ensuring tours I had booked would pick me up from the hotel. If you're traveling alone and need a little guidance (as I was) I can not recommend this hotel enough. I was very well looked after. Thank you for a superb couple of days Regent, staying with you will be a highlight of my holiday!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TommyP1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Great little hotel located in the heart of Rotorua. My wife and I enjoyed the cozy room with free wifi . The bathroom was huge and the shower was fantastic. I would highly recommend this room if you are traveling as a couple and want to stay in downtown Rotorua. The staff went above and beyond and we felt they really rolled out the red carpet for us and it is hard to put a price on that sort of service.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.3 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
736 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
0.5 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#18 of 92 in Rotorua
886 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
246 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hamurana Lodge
Hamurana Lodge
#17 of 92 in Rotorua
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regent of Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regent of Rotorua

Address: 1191 Pukaki Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#4 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#7 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#8 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range: £122 - £247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Regent of Rotorua 4.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Regent of Rotorua Boutique Hotel redefines modern hospitality with a visionary blend of classic design, luxurious facilities and bespoke service. Our philosophy is to marry personalized, intuitive service with divine rooms and suites, stunning surroundings and a smart, relaxed atmosphere. Perfectly located in the heart of Rotorua within walking distance of the eating & shopping precinct, the lakefront, government gardens and the convention centres. The Hotel offers 35 guest rooms, restaurant & bar, outdoor heated pool, natural mineral pool, mini gym, spa services, meeting rooms, unlimited free WiFi & laundry services. Our award winning restaurant can cater for up to 70 guests banquet style and meetings can be held in a choice of 3 rooms from 21sqm up to 200sqm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Regent of Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Of Rotorua Hotel Rotorua
Regent Rotorua
Rotorua Regent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing