We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“small touches make all the difference...”
Review of Regent of Rotorua

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Regent of Rotorua
Ranked #8 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“small touches make all the difference...”
Reviewed 24 March 2010

i was a bit disconcerted when i was on my way to rotorua bcos the tour bus driver (who drives a bus from auckland to rotorua, via waitomo) had no idea where this hotel was - but it turned out to be a hidden gem. a new-ish hotel, right in the heart of rotorua, i had a lovely room w little touches like plug converters in the room, yummy toiletries, a radio w an ipod attachment. a table and chair will be put right outside your room on the veranda, so that u can sit out there and enjoy the sunshine and some tea. the staff was really helpful and sweet, and had some wonderful suggestions for places to visit, attractions etc, which they also helped me book. one suggestion: a fan in the rooms would be nice.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joeybeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,431 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,060
    296
    60
    13
    2
See reviews for
276
801
54
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2010

Iam the worlds biggest cynic but trust me STAY HERE.Darreen and Brent are perfect hosts and the rooms are to die for so,so much better than anywhere els we stayed during our 1 month trip to N.Z.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gollane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2010

Selected this hotel after reading other reviews. It certainly lived up to its billing. Although building work was still taking place when we arrived we had a great stay. The owners took the trouble to e-mail us before our departure from the UK to tell us that building work was overrunning and would not be completed as scheduled. Our reception was very good and the room was equipped to the highest standard. The location was excellent for the main restaurant area of the town, some two minutes walk away. One of the best beds in a 7 week touring holiday and no noise in the morning. It will be a great venue when the new facilties are completed.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobgGloucester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2010

We were on a 15 day holiday in NZ and stayed at the Regent of Rotorua for 2 nights on 4 and 5 March 2010.

This was one hotel where I had really high expectations due to the rave reviews it has been getting on TripAdvisor. And the hotel did not disappoint me at all.

The Hotel rooms are as new as they can get and are beautifully made up in black and white and the green stole on the bed was a nice touch. Bathrooms were probably the best I have seen in my stay in NZ and I especially liked the fixtures used there. LCD screens were set up in both the front room and the bed room. May be the rooms were a touch small than what I saw at other places, but that does not really matter.

The Hotel is very close to the strEAT which makes it really nice to roam around in the evenings.

Darren and Brent, the hosts, are extremely helpful and really completed a wonderful experience at the Regent of Rotorua. They helped me with planning a couple of visits around town and also were more than helpful with directions and guidance.

Once the business centre, the swimming pool and the other rooms are ready to use, I think the Regent of Rotorua will be the most sought after hotel in Rotorua.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Parag0510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 March 2010

Thanks Darren for making our stay in Rotorua such a wonderful experience!
The level of service was exceptional, the staff noticed that we were honeymooners and surprised us with a bottle of champaigne!
The location is top notch, with restaurants round the corner.
When this place is done with the renovations, it'll be hard to find a better place to stay in Rotorua!
: )

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JC_Melb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2010

My girlfriend and I booked the Regent as part of our NZ touring holiday. On arrival we were a little disappointed to see the building works were still going on, however when we checked in, without even asking, Darryn the host offered us an upgrade or a discount to compensate us. Naturally we took the larger room! The works didn't affect our stay at all and we were pleased with the larger room with a big bath and more comfy lounge etc.

Darryn was a fantastic host! He told us about all of the great things and not so great things to see and do in Rotorua and offered to book them any for us under the backpacker hotel name to get us a discount, awesome stuff. We found out about heaps of activities to do which we otherwise would not have done if it wasn't for his friendly service. He also told us about all of the places to eat, where to get good value etc. We were so thankful! Not to mention the hotel is right in the centre of town.

The room was brand new, fresh from renovations, perfectly clean with a nice interior. The pictures on their website are actually accurate, which is a nice change compared to many hotels. Lovely new linnen.

This was our favorite hotel in the whole of NZ mainly due to the staff helpfulness and the clean brand new room. Highly reccomend it.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skramit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 25 February 2010

Glamorous suitesand beautiful bath & body products.
Bed was ssooooo comfy and robes to die for. I really enjoyed my stay, the staff were helpful and lovely.

Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Viviena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.3 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
707 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
1.3 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
0.2 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
185 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#18 of 92 in Rotorua
847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regent of Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regent of Rotorua

Property: Regent of Rotorua
Address: 1191 Pukaki Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#4 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#7 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#7 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Regent of Rotorua 4.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Regent of Rotorua Boutique Hotel redefines modern hospitality with a visionary blend of classic design, luxurious facilities and bespoke service. Our philosophy is to marry personalized, intuitive service with divine rooms and suites, stunning surroundings and a smart, relaxed atmosphere. Perfectly located in the heart of Rotorua within walking distance of the eating & shopping precinct, the lakefront, government gardens and the convention centres. The Hotel offers 35 guest rooms, restaurant & bar, outdoor heated pool, natural mineral pool, mini gym, spa services, meeting rooms, unlimited free WiFi & laundry services. Our award winning restaurant can cater for up to 70 guests banquet style and meetings can be held in a choice of 3 rooms from 21sqm up to 200sqm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Regent of Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Of Rotorua Hotel Rotorua
Regent Rotorua
Rotorua Regent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing