We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simple yet indulgent, definitely a repeat stayer”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Regent of Rotorua

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Regent of Rotorua
Ranked #8 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Simple yet indulgent, definitely a repeat stayer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2010

The service is what gets me every time, Daryn and his staff are exceptionally helpful and they always go the extra mile for every customer. Its an beautifully modern and unique hotel that is in a class of its own. I walk away feeling like a queen every time! And I will keep on going back.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ErikaH29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,343 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,006
    267
    56
    12
    2
See reviews for
249
762
50
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2010

Thanks to all of the other glowing reviews on Trip Advisor, my partner and I chose The Regent of Rotorua as our accommodation for a weekend of mountain biking and indulgence……. and couldn’t have been more delighted with the experience!

Darryn and Brent were the ‘hosts with the most’ – attentive, charming, knowledgeable and always on hand whatever the request.

The rooms were tastefully decorated, super comfortable (the bed was beautiful – loved the crisp cotton sheets and fluffy feather duvet) and well appointed.

And then there was the bar/restaurant – they must’ve wondered if they were going to get rid of us, we seemed to be permanently affixed to the place! Our plan had been originally been to get out and about to experience a range of Rotorua’s wining and dining establishments, but why go elsewhere when you would appear to have the BEST of everything without leaving the premises?!

Friday night we pulled up a pew at the bar, and grazed our way through a number of very good tapas dishes, accompanied by a couple of bottles of Pinot from their excellent wine list. Saturday night saw us back again, this time for delicious dinner (pork belly for me, lamb cutlets for my partner….. mmmmm)….. and more Pinot. And then the following morning we had beautiful Sunday brunch while reading the newspaper, before reluctantly tearing ourselves away for the trip back up to Auckland.

These two are onto a winning combination – beautiful, clean accommodation with everything you could wish for right at your fingertips….. and then there’s THAT service. The Regent of Rotorua is well deserving of it’s 5 out of 5 rating, we will be back!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank go_travel_2323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2010

What an experience! We went to Rotorua for one night, and just by chance passed by and asked for a room. Thought it was out of our price range, but it was well worth it! We couldn't of got better! Very well priced for what you get. Primo location. Immaculate room, warm, king bed, excellent shower, spacious, kettle (and tea/coffee/milk), fridge, mircrowave, flat screen, ipod player, free internet, friendly and helpful staff. Had a swim in the nice warm pool, and a had a hot spa. (Saved us paying the $21 for the Polynesian Spa!). Ate a yummy breakfast (included) and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Thanks! :)

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HipPip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale
Level Contributor
63 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2010

We spent two nights and wished we could have stayed longer. The rooms were beautiful and very clean. The restaurant was under construction while we were there but enjoyed all the restaurants and bars just steps away. The owners were very friendly and took very good care of us and their recommendations for things to do and restaurants were perfect.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goldfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga
Level Contributor
87 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2010

We have just returned from a fab weekend getaway to the Regent in Rotorua. We were not disappointed. The Regent delivered big-time! Gorgeous rooms, a real "one-stop-shop" including great service with a smile, groovy cocktail bar & restaurant, yummy food, lovely heated outdoor pool, and private thermal plunge pool. Only thing we didn't get to sample was the "Steam" spa treatments which weren't available when we stayed. Located in the middle of town, with cafes and restaurants just around the corner, but absolutely no need to leave the complex if you don't want to, as its all on offer at the Regent.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MCJ66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2010

We had a fabulous time at the Regent from the moment we checked in with Darren to late breakfast in the restaurant the next day. The hotel has been renovated so well, the interior decorating is impeccable, and everything we needed for a comfortable and relaxing holiday was at our fingertips. I unhesitatingly recommend this hotel and will definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roylaroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmedabad
Level Contributor
88 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2010

This hotel is by far THE BEST what Rotorua can offer. Everything is brand new, chic and ultra modern with a touch of green (class)!!! Darryn is an amazing host and welcomes each and every guest with warmth. I remember I was in panic when my white island tour was un-decided because of the bad weather and how these guys kept an eye on the weather and made sure I am updated about my tour at night and in the morning. The breakfast is one of the best I had in New Zealand. The hotel is very central to almost everything and for those Indians who love their Indian food-hurray-the indian restaurants are right at the footsteps of this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greattravellerindia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.3 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 93 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
1.3 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
0.1 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
0.2 mi away
Princes Gate Hotel
Princes Gate Hotel
#39 of 93 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
1.5 mi away
Regal Palms 5 Star City Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regent of Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regent of Rotorua

Property: Regent of Rotorua
Address: 1191 Pukaki Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#4 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#6 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#7 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Regent of Rotorua 4.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Regent of Rotorua Boutique Hotel redefines modern hospitality with a visionary blend of classic design, luxurious facilities and bespoke service. Our philosophy is to marry personalized, intuitive service with divine rooms and suites, stunning surroundings and a smart, relaxed atmosphere. Perfectly located in the heart of Rotorua within walking distance of the eating & shopping precinct, the lakefront, government gardens and the convention centres. The Hotel offers 35 guest rooms, restaurant & bar, outdoor heated pool, natural mineral pool, mini gym, spa services, meeting rooms, unlimited free WiFi & laundry services. Our award winning restaurant can cater for up to 70 guests banquet style and meetings can be held in a choice of 3 rooms from 21sqm up to 200sqm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Regent of Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Of Rotorua Hotel Rotorua
Regent Rotorua
Rotorua Regent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing