We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This place is FANTASTIC, you will not be disappointed”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Regent of Rotorua

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Regent of Rotorua
Ranked #7 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Mount Maunganui, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This place is FANTASTIC, you will not be disappointed”
Reviewed 15 August 2010

My girlfriends and I have just returned from a weekend in Rotorua staying at the Regent, wonderful place to stay, Darryn made our stay special, the rooms are beautiful, dinner amazing, great food, great cocktails,you can't go pass the Regent of Rotorua, we will be back very soon :> Roz Mount Maunganui

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roz34b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,336 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,003
    264
    55
    12
    2
See reviews for
248
756
50
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2010

The owners were abroad, but their Mum and Dad did a great job! Restaurant/bar was closed for the first couple of days we were there, so didn't get to try them out, but if the attention to detail was anything like the rest of the hotel then I'm sure they're great too. This place has been done up in a fabulous way with lots of attentiont to detail - we LOVED the decor and the bed was soooo comfy, we had great sleeps. Rooms weren't massive, but loads of clever storage and amenities so you don't feel like you're missing out. 2 mins walk to 'Eat Street', the main eating place in Rotorua and also close to shops, but just enough out of the way to not be noisy. Only thing I'd change would be to have a bin for recyling in the room. I would give it 4.5 stars, but TA doesn't do halves. Recommended for romantic weekend or if you want to treat yourself.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiw1Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westminster, California
Level Contributor
76 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2010

We saw the reviews of this hotel and decided on a last minute one night booking. We wish we had more nights to spend in Rotorua. Darryn was the perfect host, explaining everything we could want to know about the hotel and what to do in the area. In designing this hotel, everything to make the guest comfortable was thought of. The rooms are beautiful, the beds are perfect for a good night's sleep and every need including an ipod dock have been anticipated.

We stayed on a Thursday night which was a real treat because of the weekly street fair. Reasonably priced food, shopping and even some entertainment. A real winner!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rehclass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
1 review
Reviewed 27 July 2010

We booked the Regent of Rotorua on the basis of its website and the glowing reviews on TripAdvisor. The hotel did not disappoint - it is every bit as good as the reviews promised. The reception and restaurant/bar have real wow factor and the bedrooms are wonderful too. Our boys (aged 7-12) loved the pool, the bathrooms and the TV in every room. The staff are excellent and it was an absolute pleasure to stay here.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AWHAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2010

Hi
We just had a weekend at the Regent Rotorua and loved it. We booked the family 2 bedroom but were upgraded to the deluxe 2 bedroom without asking. They knew who we were and called me by first name which is always nice. The whole place is absolutely beautifully decorated from the reception and restaurant/bar area to the pool area and rooms. The colour scheme is all black and white and lime green with white leather couches, black and white stylish wallpaper and lovely chandeliers and loved the black tafetta curtains with diamantes. We had flat screens in every room, ensuite off the master, lovely cuddly robes and a kitchenette. There is a heated swimming pool with lots of tables and chairs around and a private thermal pool. The breakfast was very nice and a good price. The location is perfect right in the heart of the restaurants and you can walk to the lakefront and markets on Saturday am. The staff could not do enough for you and were very professional and friendly. Will definitely recommend it and be back.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emjay67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2010

Thanks to reviews on Trip Advisor booked 2 bedroom executive unit 23 overnight last weekend, my female friends are impressed taking photos here there. Its centrally located to Eat Street but learn maybe next time I should dine at the restaurant instead. thanks Darryn & Brent for making this place a fabulous gem!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aspironz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 8 July 2010

We stayed for 2 nights in an executive 2 bedroom room in the brand new part of the hotel.
We have 2 small children however we still like to stay at nice places and didn't want to stay at one of the larger hotels that Rotorua has to offer. After checking out the reviews on Trip Advisor we booked in at the Regent as it sounded just what we were looking for.
The excellent service began upon arrival, Darryn immediatley made us welcome and filed us in on where to go and what to do. The room was immaculate, very well appointed and clean. The crowning jewel here is the amazing resturant. Darryn and Brent serve spectacular food which is equal to any fine dining resturant you may have visited and the service is warm, friendly and knowledgable. They also welcomed the children, whiped up a suitable meal for them that wasn't on menu. The value for money is extremely good, these guys could easily ask for more. We can't wait to come back and we'll be spreading the word too!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mal63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.3 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 93 in Rotorua
672 reviews
1.3 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
0.1 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
0.2 mi away
Princes Gate Hotel
Princes Gate Hotel
#39 of 93 in Rotorua
743 reviews
1.5 mi away
Regal Palms 5 Star City Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regent of Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regent of Rotorua

Property: Regent of Rotorua
Address: 1191 Pukaki Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#4 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#5 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#7 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Regent of Rotorua 4.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Regent of Rotorua Boutique Hotel redefines modern hospitality with a visionary blend of classic design, luxurious facilities and bespoke service. Our philosophy is to marry personalized, intuitive service with divine rooms and suites, stunning surroundings and a smart, relaxed atmosphere. Perfectly located in the heart of Rotorua within walking distance of the eating & shopping precinct, the lakefront, government gardens and the convention centres. The Hotel offers 35 guest rooms, restaurant & bar, outdoor heated pool, natural mineral pool, mini gym, spa services, meeting rooms, unlimited free WiFi & laundry services. Our award winning restaurant can cater for up to 70 guests banquet style and meetings can be held in a choice of 3 rooms from 21sqm up to 200sqm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Regent of Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Of Rotorua Hotel Rotorua
Regent Rotorua
Rotorua Regent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing