We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful and a great experience”
Review of Regent of Rotorua

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Regent of Rotorua
Ranked #7 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Wonderful and a great experience”
Reviewed 4 October 2010

I booked this hotel after reading the great comments on tripadvisor and it didn't disapoint. The hotel is so white and so clean. The owners are delightful. You can tell that they enjoy running this hotel by the way they interect with their customers. Straight away, we were personally shown into our room and given heaps of interesting brochures to arm ourselves with all the fun to-do activiites in the area. The room smelt very nice and the bathroom was very clean and roomy with a nice, big soaker bath. This is a great little place. My only regret was that we were unable to use the pool (which was very very inviting) due to time constraints.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shamrits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,362 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,016
    275
    57
    12
    2
See reviews for
251
771
50
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2010

Wow, well from the moment we drove up in our campervan in our ragged state having toured all around NZ to the next day when we left we were treated to a 5 star experience.
Our hosts Brett and Darryn were divine, the decor was thoughtful, understated luxury. The beds, well go try it you wont have a better nights sleep. Only regret was that we didnt have dinner there as the breakfast was the best we have had for many a year and we travel al over the world. I would compare Regent of Rotorua favourably to Hotel Du Vin in UK except its much lower in price which is an added bonus. If you are passing through make sure you stay andat the very least eat there. Its a wonderful place, I could have happily moved in!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank almshousegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2010

We stayed 3 nights for our wedding anniversary and couldn't have been happier. Darryn, Brett and Gretchen were wonderful, friendly hosts and really made our stay. You felt very welcome and taken care of - better sincere service than we've experienced in most 5 star American hotels. Rooms were lovely, restaurant is excellent, great location. We felt like we saw most of what we wanted in Rotorua but would consider coming back just to stay at the Regent.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allswag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2010

Speak with Gretchen about wine and food pairings. Asks Darryn to manage your itinerary for pools, spas, meals. Must eat at the hotel restaurant. A French trained Michelin star Japanese chef, a kiwi and Barcelona trained souz chef, and a local boy make good specializing in Kiwi influences....

Stayed August 2010
Helpful?
Thank Onepinoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wanganui
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 August 2010

Spent 3 nights at this fantastic hotel in a great location in Rotorua. Darryn & Brent were the perfect hosts of such a tastefully decorated boutique hotel. The rooms were well appointed, lovely and warm with a wonderfully comfortable bed. A beautiful restaurant serving equally beautiful food meant there was no need to dine elsewhere. Great service by all concerned. Dont be put off by the starkness of the exterior, the inside is so glamorous you forget what theoutside looks like. Thanks everyone for an awesome weekend.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WanganuiWeekenders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 23 August 2010

From the moment we arrived from Auckland on a wet Friday night, until we left on Sunday (still raining) we just loved the experience. Everything about it is gorgeous, from the decor in the bar/restaurant, the food, the cocktails, the rooms, to the professional and friendly staff. The wet weather faded into oblivion as we enjoyed a fabulous and relaxing weekend. The bathrooms are stunning, the mini bar is the best we have ever seen and the beds are very comfortable. Gretchen, who runs the restaurant, is a treasure. The owners are very welcoming, helpful and congenial. We would recommend a stay there without reservation. Don't bother going anywhere else.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharleenweenink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2010

After recommendations from many locals, I tried lunching at the Regent and immediately decided to move my accommodation to stay! This place is truly a gorgeous gem - nothing else compares in Rotorua. Three aspects particularly stand out: the beautifully done rooms where attention to detail is evident and the quality is superb; the restaurant which consistently serves sensational food; and the friendly and accommodating staff, particularly owners Brent and Darryn who go out of their way to make you feel at home, and lovely bar manager Gretchen who brings together friendliness and a high degree of professionalism. After thoroughly enjoying my time at the Regent, I have two main recommendations: first, don't even bother looking anywhere else, this is the only hotel you will need to know about in Rotorua; and second, do yourself a favour and DON'T go out for dinner, you won't find better food in most restaurants in New Zealand, let alone Rotorua, than the 5 star in-house restaurant at the Regent.
The rooms are comfortable and stylish (with fabulous bathrooms), and the rooms and lounge are all gorgeously decorated with the black/white/green theme and the little bits of bling. The lounge lights up like a jewel in the evening, perfect for cocktail hour!
I travel regularly around the world and have rarely felt this comfortable and happy in a hotel, nor had such amazing meals. And the location is brilliant - right in the centre of town, yet the rooms are quiet.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swissmiss00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.3 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
1.3 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
0.1 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
0.2 mi away
Princes Gate Hotel
Princes Gate Hotel
#37 of 92 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 757 reviews
1.5 mi away
Regal Palms 5 Star City Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regent of Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regent of Rotorua

Property: Regent of Rotorua
Address: 1191 Pukaki Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#4 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#6 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#6 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Regent of Rotorua 4.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Regent of Rotorua Boutique Hotel redefines modern hospitality with a visionary blend of classic design, luxurious facilities and bespoke service. Our philosophy is to marry personalized, intuitive service with divine rooms and suites, stunning surroundings and a smart, relaxed atmosphere. Perfectly located in the heart of Rotorua within walking distance of the eating & shopping precinct, the lakefront, government gardens and the convention centres. The Hotel offers 35 guest rooms, restaurant & bar, outdoor heated pool, natural mineral pool, mini gym, spa services, meeting rooms, unlimited free WiFi & laundry services. Our award winning restaurant can cater for up to 70 guests banquet style and meetings can be held in a choice of 3 rooms from 21sqm up to 200sqm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Regent of Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Of Rotorua Hotel Rotorua
Regent Rotorua
Rotorua Regent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing