We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funky digs in the heart of Rotorua”
Review of Regent of Rotorua

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Regent of Rotorua
Ranked #9 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 October 2010

Really loved our 2 night stay at the Regent. The staff are absolutely amazing with not just the usual hello/goodbye standard conversation you'll get at other places - these guys actually have a real conversation and a laugh with you !! You could not want for anything as it is no trouble for them to provide it if in fact you do need something. Make sure you let them know what you plan on doing in Rotorua as they've probably got a discount voucher for where you want to go. The rooms are absolutely amazing and they haven't spared any expense in the upgrade of this place to maked you feel comfortable.

Although we didn't use the outdoor pool we did take advantage of the thermal bath which was definitley required after a long day of sightseeing. The location of the Regent is also very central so you can walk to the centre of town and the lake within 5 minutes.

Thanks again guys.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisMPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,512)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,335 - 1,341 of 1,512 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2010

We love going to Rotorua to visit the hot pools but have never been overly amazed by the motels and hotels we have previously stayed in. Thank goodness for good old trip advisor pointing me in the direction of the Regent! From the moment we arrived (driving down from Auckland on a Friday night and not arriving until after 9pm) we were totally looked after by the staff - I have stayed in 5 star hotels and this service really is just as good. I absolutely love the way the owners have kept the exisiting 50s motel and developed this into a fantastically stylish retreat - Rotorua is full of souless new hotels (Ibis etc) and its just great that the Regent is a complete breath of fresh air - its got personality in bucketloads BUT also all the luxury and finesse you would expect of a 5 star hotel. We thought we would go out for dinner on the sat night but after walking aimlessly around central Rotorua which was a bit uninspiring, we ended up back at the hotel - the in-house restaurant was buzzing, the cocktails were flowing - and the food was great - we then realised that there was really no point leaving the hotel! The thermal pool is wonderful - didnt go in the outdoor pool but it looked great (especially like the vegas style cocktail by the pool look!) - and the rooms are just amazing - you can just imagine the owners shopping around for the perfect lampshade, the perfect wallpaper - everything just looked like it was chosen with passion - definitely no boring formulaic hotel here - this place definitely fits the bill of a real "boutique" hotel. In summary - couldnt recommend this place highly enough - perfect for a rejeveunating long weekend from Auckland, and definitely recommend the place to overseas guests wanting to treat themselves to something more memorable than either yet another generic chain hotel or a "seen better days" motel. DO believe the other reviews on trip advisor - this place really is great - I hope for the sake of the owners who have obviously spent a great deal of money, time and effort here, that the word gets around about just how good this place is - mind you, maybe not too much as I want to be able to get a booking next time im in town!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foodfascist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2010

My partner and I really enjoyed our recent stay at The Regent. At first I didn't think the ultra modern black and white would appeal, but I actually grew to quite like the effect. There is a lot of detail in this place, and it shows.

The day I tried their hot pool the water was tepid, at best. Also, we ate in the restaurant one night and I have to say - avoid the beetroot and goat cheese appetizer. It really didn't quite measure up to the rest of the meal. Also, the restaurant is quite pricey for what you get.

Still, we would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Douginnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2010

I booked this hotel after reading the great comments on tripadvisor and it didn't disapoint. The hotel is so white and so clean. The owners are delightful. You can tell that they enjoy running this hotel by the way they interect with their customers. Straight away, we were personally shown into our room and given heaps of interesting brochures to arm ourselves with all the fun to-do activiites in the area. The room smelt very nice and the bathroom was very clean and roomy with a nice, big soaker bath. This is a great little place. My only regret was that we were unable to use the pool (which was very very inviting) due to time constraints.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shamrits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2010

Wow, well from the moment we drove up in our campervan in our ragged state having toured all around NZ to the next day when we left we were treated to a 5 star experience.
Our hosts Brett and Darryn were divine, the decor was thoughtful, understated luxury. The beds, well go try it you wont have a better nights sleep. Only regret was that we didnt have dinner there as the breakfast was the best we have had for many a year and we travel al over the world. I would compare Regent of Rotorua favourably to Hotel Du Vin in UK except its much lower in price which is an added bonus. If you are passing through make sure you stay andat the very least eat there. Its a wonderful place, I could have happily moved in!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank almshousegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2010

We stayed 3 nights for our wedding anniversary and couldn't have been happier. Darryn, Brett and Gretchen were wonderful, friendly hosts and really made our stay. You felt very welcome and taken care of - better sincere service than we've experienced in most 5 star American hotels. Rooms were lovely, restaurant is excellent, great location. We felt like we saw most of what we wanted in Rotorua but would consider coming back just to stay at the Regent.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank allswag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2010

Speak with Gretchen about wine and food pairings. Asks Darryn to manage your itinerary for pools, spas, meals. Must eat at the hotel restaurant. A French trained Michelin star Japanese chef, a kiwi and Barcelona trained souz chef, and a local boy make good specializing in Kiwi influences....

Stayed: August 2010
Thank Onepinoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.3 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
747 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
0.5 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#18 of 92 in Rotorua
894 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
256 reviews
0.2 mi away
Princes Gate Hotel
Princes Gate Hotel
#25 of 92 in Rotorua
832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regent of Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regent of Rotorua

Address: 1191 Pukaki Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#4 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#7 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#8 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range: £118 - £212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Regent of Rotorua 4.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Regent of Rotorua Boutique Hotel redefines modern hospitality with a visionary blend of classic design, luxurious facilities and bespoke service. Our philosophy is to marry personalized, intuitive service with divine rooms and suites, stunning surroundings and a smart, relaxed atmosphere. Perfectly located in the heart of Rotorua within walking distance of the eating & shopping precinct, the lakefront, government gardens and the convention centres. The Hotel offers 35 guest rooms, restaurant & bar, outdoor heated pool, natural mineral pool, mini gym, spa services, meeting rooms, unlimited free WiFi & laundry services. Our award winning restaurant can cater for up to 70 guests banquet style and meetings can be held in a choice of 3 rooms from 21sqm up to 200sqm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Regent of Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Of Rotorua Hotel Rotorua
Regent Rotorua
Rotorua Regent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing