We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funky place in brilliant location”
Review of Regent of Rotorua

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Regent of Rotorua
Ranked #8 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 November 2010

A great option for a stay in Rotorua.

The rooms are very stylish with black, white and green theme. I walked in and thought WOW this is great! Restaurant/bar area great decor.

Staff are fantastic, supber friendly and helpful.

Great stay.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GLB75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,458)
There are newer reviews for Regent of Rotorua
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,272 - 1,278 of 1,458 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2010

You only need to check the photos really. It's not only stunning, quirky (its shell is a typical 60s roadside motel), comfy, trendy... see, I could go on! I must reaffirm the shoutouts to Darryn, who is probably one of the most helpful hotel staff I have ever come across. To be adressed by your name when you've only checked in the night before warmed my little heart.

The room itself was small enough, but contained a lot of helpful facilities in the space - safe, iron and ironing board, microwave, cutlery, crockery, fridge, desk, ipod dock/alarm clock, flat screen tv, the most luxurious bathrobes ever. The shower had both the handheld/normal head but also one of those rainshower ones directly ahead. I had great fun trying both of them out. One small problem was that the windows (louvres) weren't completely sealed, so if you happen to leave the bathroom light on, you might find it home to a large family of insects the next time you check! Make sure you turn off the lights at nighttime.

The hotel itself had its own mineral pool (great place to relax after a hard day's walking), heated pool and lounge area (you can order drinks etc by the pool too), a small gym, free parking, free wi-fi (bless!), and the most amazing restaurant/cocktail bar.

I can't recommend this place highly enough.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2010

Check in, welcome & parking: Staff/owner were very friendly, smooth check in, convenient parking area "just next to your room"
Room: small sleeping room, small living room and nice bathroom, separate toilet, mattresses were not good, nice interior design, but cheap in quality
Location: good, in the city center, near the Lake Rotorua
Concierge service: very friendly & competent

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mitzideluxe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2010

Great place to stay, very helpful staff, central location, comfortable bed!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaz41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2010

I stayed at the Regent for 2 nights. I was upgraded from a studio to a 1 bedroom suite. What can I say about Darren and Brett that have not already been said. They are brilliant. Nothing was never too much I have food allergies and that was ot a problem. The thermal spa was divine, the room was tastefully decorated .
The hotel was centrally located and within easy reach of shops and restaurants.
I will back in 2 years with daughter.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank funlovingtraveller46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2010

I endorse most of the comments made in other reviews. Darryn was most helpful and friendly. The room was outstanding - comfortable, clean, quiet and spacious. The restaurant was worth visiting in its own right - the food was excellent (I had the salmon both nights of my stay), the wine list carefully balanced and with wines also available by the (generous) glass and the service friendly and attentive. Overall, and at the price, this represented outstanding value.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2010

In October I went to Rotorua for the first time in about 15 years to take my wife to see the famed geysers and mudpools. My previous experience with Rotorua was the rows of tacky and touristy motels that line Fenton Street. I couldn't face them and wasn't keen on the cookie cutter Novotel or Rydges experience so was delighted to discover a new boutique hotel had opened right in the heart of town and next to all the restaurants.

The Regent of Rotorua has only been open a few months and is already the most highly rated hotel in Rotorua on TripAdvisor and with good reason. Darryn and Brent are the perfect hosts and treat each guest with a personal touch. Genuine warmth and customer service in a hotel...who'd have thought!

The hotel has been stylishly designed and the rooms are beautiful with all the amenities you would expect and then a few more. They surround an elegant courtyard, which acts as a sun-trap, and a heated swimming pool. A perfect location to relax with a beer/wine/cocktail and the hotel's sharing plate of breads and dips.

Speaking of the food, the hotel boasts a fantastic restaurant. Our only regret was that we only ate dinner here once, opting (foolishly) to try one of the nearby restaurants on our other night instead...which was marginally cheaper but vastly inferior.

The Regent's menu is simple but the chef is outstanding. The fusion dishes they provide are outstanding and exceptional value from entree through to dessert. Locals have cottoned on to this gem of a restaurant and frequent it as much, if not more, than the hotel guests.

And if we had any doubts that their breakfast menu would meet the lofty expectations set by their dinner menu, they were quickly dispersed as we enjoyed some fantastic sweetcorn fritters (and making the hard decision not to have the buttermilk pancakes).

We thoroughly enjoyed our time there and cannot rate the hotel or its owners highly enough. I'll have to find reason to visit Rotorua again soon although I'm not sure I'll venture far from the hotel next time around.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WiseMouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.3 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
717 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
0.2 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
1.3 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#17 of 92 in Rotorua
857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regent of Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regent of Rotorua

Address: 1191 Pukaki Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#4 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#7 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#7 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range: £107 - £226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Regent of Rotorua 4.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Regent of Rotorua Boutique Hotel redefines modern hospitality with a visionary blend of classic design, luxurious facilities and bespoke service. Our philosophy is to marry personalized, intuitive service with divine rooms and suites, stunning surroundings and a smart, relaxed atmosphere. Perfectly located in the heart of Rotorua within walking distance of the eating & shopping precinct, the lakefront, government gardens and the convention centres. The Hotel offers 35 guest rooms, restaurant & bar, outdoor heated pool, natural mineral pool, mini gym, spa services, meeting rooms, unlimited free WiFi & laundry services. Our award winning restaurant can cater for up to 70 guests banquet style and meetings can be held in a choice of 3 rooms from 21sqm up to 200sqm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Regent of Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Of Rotorua Hotel Rotorua
Regent Rotorua
Rotorua Regent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing