We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely gorgeous boutique hotel”
Review of Regent of Rotorua

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Regent of Rotorua
Ranked #8 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 November 2010

The Regent is a real gem in a town that has a distinct lack of boutique hotels. I couldn't fault the Regent. The staff bent over backwards to make my stay wonderful and I had a fabulous night. There was easy parking, my room was superb with a bed to die for, rainfall shower and the little touches that you expect from a top quality boutique hotel, all for a very reasonable price, probably half what you would pay in Europe. I ate at the hotel - the salmon was really good and the starter (some sort of seafood fishcake) was gorgeous. But the thing that really made it for me were the 2 guys who run this place. They welcomed me like an old friend and really made my stay lovely. I was on a whistlestop tour of the north island and just needed a nice place to rest for the night and it was like a little haven on the road. Great location too. Only about 5 mins walk from the lake. Like one of the other reviews said this is the ONLY place to stay in Rotorua. Please ignore the review that says this is more like a motel. I have stayed in top quality boutique hotels all over the world and this one deserves to be up there with them.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HonorX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,477)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,289 - 1,295 of 1,477 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2010

A great option for a stay in Rotorua.

The rooms are very stylish with black, white and green theme. I walked in and thought WOW this is great! Restaurant/bar area great decor.

Staff are fantastic, supber friendly and helpful.

Great stay.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GLB75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2010

You only need to check the photos really. It's not only stunning, quirky (its shell is a typical 60s roadside motel), comfy, trendy... see, I could go on! I must reaffirm the shoutouts to Darryn, who is probably one of the most helpful hotel staff I have ever come across. To be adressed by your name when you've only checked in the night before warmed my little heart.

The room itself was small enough, but contained a lot of helpful facilities in the space - safe, iron and ironing board, microwave, cutlery, crockery, fridge, desk, ipod dock/alarm clock, flat screen tv, the most luxurious bathrobes ever. The shower had both the handheld/normal head but also one of those rainshower ones directly ahead. I had great fun trying both of them out. One small problem was that the windows (louvres) weren't completely sealed, so if you happen to leave the bathroom light on, you might find it home to a large family of insects the next time you check! Make sure you turn off the lights at nighttime.

The hotel itself had its own mineral pool (great place to relax after a hard day's walking), heated pool and lounge area (you can order drinks etc by the pool too), a small gym, free parking, free wi-fi (bless!), and the most amazing restaurant/cocktail bar.

I can't recommend this place highly enough.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2010

Check in, welcome & parking: Staff/owner were very friendly, smooth check in, convenient parking area "just next to your room"
Room: small sleeping room, small living room and nice bathroom, separate toilet, mattresses were not good, nice interior design, but cheap in quality
Location: good, in the city center, near the Lake Rotorua
Concierge service: very friendly & competent

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mitzideluxe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2010

Great place to stay, very helpful staff, central location, comfortable bed!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaz41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2010

I stayed at the Regent for 2 nights. I was upgraded from a studio to a 1 bedroom suite. What can I say about Darren and Brett that have not already been said. They are brilliant. Nothing was never too much I have food allergies and that was ot a problem. The thermal spa was divine, the room was tastefully decorated .
The hotel was centrally located and within easy reach of shops and restaurants.
I will back in 2 years with daughter.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank funlovingtraveller46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2010

I endorse most of the comments made in other reviews. Darryn was most helpful and friendly. The room was outstanding - comfortable, clean, quiet and spacious. The restaurant was worth visiting in its own right - the food was excellent (I had the salmon both nights of my stay), the wine list carefully balanced and with wines also available by the (generous) glass and the service friendly and attentive. Overall, and at the price, this represented outstanding value.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.3 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
721 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
0.2 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#18 of 92 in Rotorua
868 reviews
0.2 mi away
Princes Gate Hotel
Princes Gate Hotel
#25 of 92 in Rotorua
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regent of Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regent of Rotorua

Address: 1191 Pukaki Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#4 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#7 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#7 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range: £140 - £252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Regent of Rotorua 4.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Regent of Rotorua Boutique Hotel redefines modern hospitality with a visionary blend of classic design, luxurious facilities and bespoke service. Our philosophy is to marry personalized, intuitive service with divine rooms and suites, stunning surroundings and a smart, relaxed atmosphere. Perfectly located in the heart of Rotorua within walking distance of the eating & shopping precinct, the lakefront, government gardens and the convention centres. The Hotel offers 35 guest rooms, restaurant & bar, outdoor heated pool, natural mineral pool, mini gym, spa services, meeting rooms, unlimited free WiFi & laundry services. Our award winning restaurant can cater for up to 70 guests banquet style and meetings can be held in a choice of 3 rooms from 21sqm up to 200sqm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Regent of Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Of Rotorua Hotel Rotorua
Regent Rotorua
Rotorua Regent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing