We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“book it! great boutique motel- all facilities and great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Regent of Rotorua

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Regent of Rotorua
Ranked #8 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
203 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“book it! great boutique motel- all facilities and great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2011

I cannot recommend this place highly enough.
Darryn and his partner were exceptionally friendly and efficient, managed to get us into a sold out show and were absolute stars. the rooms are not big but cleverly designed to include a decent sixed tv, mini bar, chairs, spotless and large en suite; all done is black and white with a splash of green. We had breakfast twice- great menu and fantastic presentation. pool area modern and well organised, heated pool was quiet and sunlit.
An absolute gem- the hosts are friendly and very charming to all!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank schemie2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,344 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,006
    268
    56
    12
    2
See reviews for
249
763
50
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2011

My wife and I stayed for 2 nights at the Regent. We were welcomed by Darryn, with his big smile and warm personality. Room was beautifully designed, with classy furnitures. My wife jumped with joy looking at the bathroom with a big bath and a monsoon shower head. Service was great, almost felt as personal house guests at Darryn's big mansion. Hotel is located just off Tutanekai St, where all nice cafes are - perfect for people who just had a long drive. Internet is free too and that was a big plus for us. And, be sure to tell Darryn where you would be visiting, he may pull out some discount vouchers up his sleeve.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelunatik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodstock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2010

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay here (although final touches were still being applied and can only imagine how wonderful the final product must be!). The detailing in the rooms is an interior design dream and we loved both the big bath and the thermal pool downstairs. The owners could not be helpful enough directing to the best local restaurants and activities (including a fabulous plane ride over Mt Tarawera). We would love to return and cannot recommend highly enough

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigRich_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2010

Classy, clean, compact and cosmopolitan. Room was immaculately presented. Staff mostly attentive and helpful. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank psrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2010

For the discerning traveller this hotel is a true find. It has just been fully renovated in beautiful trendy art deco decor and the owners Darreyn and Brent treat you as if you were a guest in their home. This hotel has all the beautiful details of a luxury home...quiet, high quality lines and lush towels, all the necessary amenities in their roomy bathrooms, great restaurant (the best breakfast muffins ever), centrally located in the city and near a lot of good restaurants, and service of a 5 star hotel. They are happy to share all their local knowledge and very willing to help you in any way to have a fantastic stay in Rotorua. My daughter and I came as guests and we left feeling like we had made some new friends...and we will come back. Freddi and Devan

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Freddiw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2010

Great place to stay while visiting Rotorua. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. It's an old motel that's been rehabbed in a black, white, and green motif, with comfortable beds and convenients fridge/coffee/tea stations in the rooms. There was a pool, which we never used because it was cool & wet out. You can easily walk a few blocks to the Government Gardens, the main strip of restaurants and cafes, and the Polynesian spa. Parking was included and easy.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarinaRae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2010

Rotoura is a smelly town but inside the rooms we didn't smell anything.
Perfect place if you want to relax or explore the many things to do in the area. We went rafting and took a spa afternoon at the Polynesian SPA. Darren helped us a lot with things to see and do. Can't be more service minded than him!
The restaurant had a nice pool and also a hot "smelly"pool if you prefer. We ate dinner + breakfast at the Regent at it was delicious. Internet access for free which we really appreciated, ipod/ipone doc and also free parking.
We stayed there for 2 nights and we can really recommend it!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elapela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.3 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 93 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
1.3 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
0.1 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
0.2 mi away
Princes Gate Hotel
Princes Gate Hotel
#39 of 93 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
1.5 mi away
Regal Palms 5 Star City Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regent of Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regent of Rotorua

Property: Regent of Rotorua
Address: 1191 Pukaki Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#4 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#6 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#7 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Regent of Rotorua 4.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Regent of Rotorua Boutique Hotel redefines modern hospitality with a visionary blend of classic design, luxurious facilities and bespoke service. Our philosophy is to marry personalized, intuitive service with divine rooms and suites, stunning surroundings and a smart, relaxed atmosphere. Perfectly located in the heart of Rotorua within walking distance of the eating & shopping precinct, the lakefront, government gardens and the convention centres. The Hotel offers 35 guest rooms, restaurant & bar, outdoor heated pool, natural mineral pool, mini gym, spa services, meeting rooms, unlimited free WiFi & laundry services. Our award winning restaurant can cater for up to 70 guests banquet style and meetings can be held in a choice of 3 rooms from 21sqm up to 200sqm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Regent of Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Of Rotorua Hotel Rotorua
Regent Rotorua
Rotorua Regent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing