We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay with kiwi owners”
Review of Golden Glow Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Golden Glow Motel
Ranked #31 of 91 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 June 2012

Our one night stay to attend an exhibition was a pleasurable experience.Very clean, newly renovated, quiet, roomy and the extra $10 for a spa room is value for money.
helpful owners made a booking and supplied local knowledge willingly and accurately.
We will return.Thanks

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jayelcee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (141)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

113 - 119 of 141 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2012

We stayed here a couple of nights and went over to the racing in Taupo. After a long and hot day at the races the kids enjoyed a good hour in the spa and once we got the kids to bed we had a hot relaxing soak. Just fantastic to have a private spa in the room. They have all 3 of the Sky Sport Chanel's so I got to see some of the F1 on Skysport 3 too.

The motel has been tastefully renovated with new paint throughout and the rooms are spotless. If you're looking for a reasonably priced motel in Rotorua that is close to just about everything then you can't go past it. They also have loads of brochures on the tourist attractions around Rotorua and will do the bookings for you too.

A great stay.

Stayed: March 2012
1  Thank PJBR04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

This was our third stay at the Golden Glow, and four and a half years since we last reviewed it. Not much has changed! The unit had been very freshly decorated, and was clean, spacious and very comfortable.
What we like about it is its location - you can walk downtown if you wish - but with none of the noise associated with city stays. The private, freshly filled spa pool is heaven. There is no noise from other units, and the management are pleasant and efficient. The fresh fish and chips from the takeaway on the corner were superb. It was an excellent base for our visit, and we will definitely come back.
Our only niggle - and it is a minor one that we meant to mention to the management but forgot - is a lack of towel rails in the bathroom - and perhaps a shelf for toilet bags, rather than having to put them on the floor.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2011

This motel is just a few minutes walk from everything i needed. its newly renovated to a high standard. I found the staff very helpfull and friendly. If your looking for a five star motel at a bargan price then i would recomend you stay at the Golden Glow Motel Rotoua.

Room Tip: Check out which spar suits your needs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank russInvercargill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2011

We have stayed at Golden Glow before and after five marathons. It's not far from the marathon start but is also just over the road from two supermarkets and there's an award-winning take-away very close. However, there's nothing like having an individual spa bath in each unit to help those aching limbs after 42 kms of running. The hosts can't do enough to help and its a pleasure to return.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marian024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2011

A lovely motel, with very friendly, helpful owners. The unit was warm, very clean, extremely comfortable and the spa pool was a great hit especially with the kids - beds are really comfy too. We would definately come again

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2011

I am a regular visitor to Rotorua on business, I always stay here and love it. The hosts are friendly and helpful. It is well located, just a short walk to the city, and just across the road from the supermarket. Older style buildings, but they are clean, well furnished, and very comfortable. On my previous visit in March I stayed with four professional colleagues, and they all loved the friendly, homely atmosphere. Good value for money, convenient, comfortable and friendly, helpful hosts.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bdra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.4 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#9 of 91 in Rotorua
481 reviews
0 mi away
RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua
0.5 mi away
Arista Capri Motel
Arista Capri Motel
#6 of 91 in Rotorua
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sport of Kings Motel
Sport of Kings Motel
#3 of 91 in Rotorua
1,284 reviews
0.1 mi away
BK's Rotorua Motor Lodge
BK's Rotorua Motor Lodge
#14 of 91 in Rotorua
434 reviews
1.4 mi away
Cosy Cottage Thermal Holiday Park Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Glow Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Glow Motel

Address: 253 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#27 Family Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range: £64 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Glow Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering spacious studios and family apartments with a private spa pool, Golden Glow Motel is a 5-minute walk from Rotorua Town where various shops and restaurants can be found. It offers free parking, free fast speed WiFi and a free shuttle from the bus station. Heated guest rooms have a kitchenette with a microwave, hot plates and a toaster. Each has a flat-screen TV with over 50 satellite channels. The en suite bathroom comes with toiletries and shower. A self-service guest laundry service is available and luggage storage is provided. Motel Golden Glow is a 10-minute walk from the Polynesian Spa and Lake Rotorua. It is a 15-minute drive from the Rotorua Regional Airport and a 20-minute drive from Wai-O-Tapu Thermal Wonderland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Golden Glow Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Glow Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing