We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and Handy”
Review of Golden Glow Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Golden Glow Motel
Ranked #33 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Comfortable and Handy”
Reviewed 14 November 2012 via mobile

We had 3 nights at Golden Glow. Reasonably priced and about right for the unit we had. Very clean. Rooms were attended daily but I noticed coffee, tea etc wasn't restocked daily. The bedroom is very small with just room to walk around bed, didnt worry us as we were out most of the time. I did wonder why there was a curtain on window in bedroom and not on door that opens out to spa, light comes through the door early without a curtain. Bathroom very clean, good shower, cheap loo paper which is my pet hate ! All in all there is good effort to provide clean comfortable, friendly service at a reasonable price.

Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Barb M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    46
    5
    7
    5
See reviews for
53
47
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2012

It had been 17 years since we last stayed here so we were interested to see how this motel was looking since then - especially as we had read about their 2010 refurbishments!

The motel is clean and comfortable, and the refurbishments have kept it looking fresh and reasonably modern.

As a family we were happy to have room to move around and we enjoyed the fact that the kids had a separate bedroom too!

The location is perfect for those who want to walk to nearby shops and restaurants.

The downside was that our unit was directly underneath the other units and we could hear the upstairs guests moving around and going to the toilet when they woke up in the morning!!!! This isn't the best way to wake up and we were pleased that they got up at a respectable hour of 8am - so we weren't woken too early! I don't know what can be done about making the soundproofing better, but it was rather disconcerting to say the least.

None the less, I would still recommend it as somewhere to stay in Rotorua!

Room Tip: Ask for a room which doesn't have other rooms above it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chynna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

Our one night stay to attend an exhibition was a pleasurable experience.Very clean, newly renovated, quiet, roomy and the extra $10 for a spa room is value for money.
helpful owners made a booking and supplied local knowledge willingly and accurately.
We will return.Thanks

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jayelcee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012 via mobile

We stayed here a couple of nights and went over to the racing in Taupo. After a long and hot day at the races the kids enjoyed a good hour in the spa and once we got the kids to bed we had a hot relaxing soak. Just fantastic to have a private spa in the room. They have all 3 of the Sky Sport Chanel's so I got to see some of the F1 on Skysport 3 too.

The motel has been tastefully renovated with new paint throughout and the rooms are spotless. If you're looking for a reasonably priced motel in Rotorua that is close to just about everything then you can't go past it. They also have loads of brochures on the tourist attractions around Rotorua and will do the bookings for you too.

A great stay.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank PJBR04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

This was our third stay at the Golden Glow, and four and a half years since we last reviewed it. Not much has changed! The unit had been very freshly decorated, and was clean, spacious and very comfortable.
What we like about it is its location - you can walk downtown if you wish - but with none of the noise associated with city stays. The private, freshly filled spa pool is heaven. There is no noise from other units, and the management are pleasant and efficient. The fresh fish and chips from the takeaway on the corner were superb. It was an excellent base for our visit, and we will definitely come back.
Our only niggle - and it is a minor one that we meant to mention to the management but forgot - is a lack of towel rails in the bathroom - and perhaps a shelf for toilet bags, rather than having to put them on the floor.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
invercargill
1 review
Reviewed 25 June 2011

This motel is just a few minutes walk from everything i needed. its newly renovated to a high standard. I found the staff very helpfull and friendly. If your looking for a five star motel at a bargan price then i would recomend you stay at the Golden Glow Motel Rotoua.

Room Tip: Check out which spar suits your needs
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank russInvercargill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmerston North, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 May 2011

We have stayed at Golden Glow before and after five marathons. It's not far from the marathon start but is also just over the road from two supermarkets and there's an award-winning take-away very close. However, there's nothing like having an individual spa bath in each unit to help those aching limbs after 42 kms of running. The hosts can't do enough to help and its a pleasure to return.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marian024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
1.4 mi away
Lake Rotorua Hotel
Lake Rotorua Hotel
#47 of 92 in Rotorua
244 reviews
0.0 mi away
RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua
0.6 mi away
Apex on Fenton
Apex on Fenton
#10 of 92 in Rotorua
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
New Castle Motor Lodge
New Castle Motor Lodge
#41 of 92 in Rotorua
194 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fernleaf Motel
Fernleaf Motel
#29 of 92 in Rotorua
99 reviews
0.1 mi away
BK's Rotorua Motor Lodge
BK's Rotorua Motor Lodge
#12 of 92 in Rotorua
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Glow Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Glow Motel

Property: Golden Glow Motel
Address: 253 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#31 Family Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Glow Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering spacious studios and family apartments with a private spa pool, Golden Glow Motel is a 5-minute walk from Rotorua Town where various shops and restaurants can be found. It offers free parking, free fast speed WiFi and a free shuttle from the bus station. Heated guest rooms have a kitchenette with a microwave, hot plates and a toaster. Each has a flat-screen TV with over 50 satellite channels. The en suite bathroom comes with toiletries and shower. A self-service guest laundry service is available and luggage storage is provided. Motel Golden Glow is a 10-minute walk from the Polynesian Spa and Lake Rotorua. It is a 15-minute drive from the Rotorua Regional Airport and a 20-minute drive from Wai-O-Tapu Thermal Wonderland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Golden Glow Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Glow Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing