We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Golden Glow Motel
Nearby Hotels
US$168
US$136
Novotel
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$117
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$120
US$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
PURE Motel & Guest House(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$79
US$74
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$155
US$150
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$1,119
US$1,084
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Prince's Gate Hotel(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$170
US$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$66
US$62
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Braeside Rotorua(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$112
US$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$146
US$142
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (147)
Filter reviews
147 results
Traveller rating
75
52
6
9
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
75
52
6
9
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate spalarge family roomcleanest roomcheck in was smoothample spacecomfy roomclose to shopsbubble bathwell equipped kitchenwithin easy walking distancea great place to stayspent two nightsone bedroom unitnew ownersshort stayeasy accessstayed for one night
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
114 - 119 of 147 reviews
Reviewed 5 January 2013

We booked for two nights and ended up staying for three. The motel is very clean and comfortable and the owners were very friendly and had fantastic advice about local attractions. Our children were very happy with the space in the room, and we made use of the wonderful drying room to catch up on our washing. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the motel as it was reasonably priced, close to town and gave us invaluable advice about what would suit us during our visit to Rotorua.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2012

We had 3 nights at Golden Glow. Reasonably priced and about right for the unit we had. Very clean. Rooms were attended daily but I noticed coffee, tea etc wasn't restocked daily. The bedroom is very small with just room to walk around bed, didnt worry us as we were out most of the time. I did wonder why there was a curtain on window in bedroom and not on door that opens out to spa, light comes through the door early without a curtain. Bathroom very clean, good shower, cheap loo paper which is my pet hate ! All in all there is good effort to provide clean comfortable, friendly service at a reasonable price.

Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
Thank Barb M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2012

It had been 17 years since we last stayed here so we were interested to see how this motel was looking since then - especially as we had read about their 2010 refurbishments!

The motel is clean and comfortable, and the refurbishments have kept it looking fresh and reasonably modern.

As a family we were happy to have room to move around and we enjoyed the fact that the kids had a separate bedroom too!

The location is perfect for those who want to walk to nearby shops and restaurants.

The downside was that our unit was directly underneath the other units and we could hear the upstairs guests moving around and going to the toilet when they woke up in the morning!!!! This isn't the best way to wake up and we were pleased that they got up at a respectable hour of 8am - so we weren't woken too early! I don't know what can be done about making the soundproofing better, but it was rather disconcerting to say the least.

None the less, I would still recommend it as somewhere to stay in Rotorua!

Room Tip: Ask for a room which doesn't have other rooms above it!
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chynna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2012

Our one night stay to attend an exhibition was a pleasurable experience.Very clean, newly renovated, quiet, roomy and the extra $10 for a spa room is value for money.
helpful owners made a booking and supplied local knowledge willingly and accurately.
We will return.Thanks

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jayelcee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2012

We stayed here a couple of nights and went over to the racing in Taupo. After a long and hot day at the races the kids enjoyed a good hour in the spa and once we got the kids to bed we had a hot relaxing soak. Just fantastic to have a private spa in the room. They have all 3 of the Sky Sport Chanel's so I got to see some of the F1 on Skysport 3 too.

The motel has been tastefully renovated with new paint throughout and the rooms are spotless. If you're looking for a reasonably priced motel in Rotorua that is close to just about everything then you can't go past it. They also have loads of brochures on the tourist attractions around Rotorua and will do the bookings for you too.

A great stay.

Stayed: March 2012
1  Thank PJBR04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews