We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second time stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Golden Glow Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Golden Glow Motel
Ranked #37 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Second time stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

This is a great complex with very friendly hosts. The spas are a little noisy but very relaxing. Bottle store and supermarket across the road. Award winning takeaway's very close by.
Not the cheapest in town but I believe very good value for money.
The rooms are a good size and the beds very comfortable with a range of pillows.
There is no need to search for hours on the net; if they have a room available, book it you will not regret it.

Room Tip: All rooms are great, the lower have spas in an outdoor courtyard the upper level have a spa room eac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    46
    5
    7
    5
See reviews for
51
47
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Levin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

Wow where to start. These are folk that go beyond the norm to make one comfortable. Thank you so much for a wonderful couple of days. Would return any time to your clean and pleasant Motel. It was a joy to spend time with you, God Bless and stay well.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank murray b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

Very friendly people. Lovely rooms with everything u need . highly recommended.free wifi.close to bottle store supermarket and best takeaways shop called oppies.great motel.....................................

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 638angelaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

The Golden Glow offers great service, great location, walking distance to town. Our room was spacious, clean, comfortable and warm. The private spa pool was very enjoyable. Lance and Yvonne are excellent hosts, we would definitely be staying with them again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

Booked in for 2 nights we were so impressed with Rotorua and the Golden Glow we stayed for 4 nights. The owners were very friendly, with lots of great local advice. Our room was clean and comfortable with a private spa out the back. Very good value for the money we paid. Everything is handy supermarkets, restautants, takeaways. The town center is only a short walk away. There is so much to see and do in Rotorua for all ages, so far it is my favourite place in NZ.

Room Tip: the cheapest rooms are small, pay a wee bit extra for the larger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simcart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
matamata
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013

i was treated to a night away just to spoil me and found this lovely little motel. the owner was super friendly and allowed us to check in early which gave us the chance to thoroughly check out the spacious clean room complete with kitchen and enjoy a lovely spa in the big outdoor pool on our private deck. the location is so close to town and the shops its well worth staying at for more than 1 night. extremely great value for money and is a place we definately will be recommending to friends and will visit again. thanks so much for the pleasant experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anna t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013

Golden Glow is indeed a perfectly situated motel, a easy stroll to shops, restaurants, supermarket and the lake at a very reasonable price. Clean rooms, lovely huge private spa in its own enclosed deck area. A great couple of nights sleep on a lovely soft bed ! The real gems here are the owners with their local knowledge and advice - tell them what kind of experience you are after and they will share their experiences of the attractions. Worked out perfect, thanks guys.

Room Tip: I had a room furthest from the street so no noise issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aphelion111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.5 mi away
Brylin Motel
Brylin Motel
#46 of 93 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
0.2 mi away
Six on Union
Six on Union
#50 of 93 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lake Rotorua Hotel
Lake Rotorua Hotel
#49 of 93 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua
0.1 mi away
Fernleaf Motel
Fernleaf Motel
#30 of 93 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
1.4 mi away
Cleveland Thermal Motel
Cleveland Thermal Motel
#12 of 93 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Glow Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Glow Motel

Property: Golden Glow Motel
Address: 253 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#31 Family Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Glow Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering spacious studios and family apartments with a private spa pool, Golden Glow Motel is a 5-minute walk from Rotorua Town where various shops and restaurants can be found. It offers free parking, free WiFi daily and a free shuttle from the bus station. Heated guest rooms have a kitchenette with a microwave, hot plates and a toaster. Each has a flat-screen TV with over 50 satellite channels. The en suite bathroom comes with toiletries and shower. A self-service guest laundry service is available and luggage storage is provided. Motel Golden Glow is a 10-minute walk from the Polynesian Spa and Lake Rotorua. It is a 15-minute drive from the Rotorua Regional Airport, and a 20-minute drive from Wai-O-Tapu Thermal Wonderland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Golden Glow Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Glow Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing