We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love the spa bath”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Golden Glow Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Golden Glow Motel
Ranked #37 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
Taumarunui
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Love the spa bath”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014 via mobile

This is a very good motel. Nothing flash, but clean and very comfortable. Love the out door spa bath that each of the lower rooms has. It comes with bubble bath and fills very quickly considering it's size.

The only down fall would be that it gets very warm in the unit and there is no cooling device in the room. And to that extent we found no heater either for those colder nights, but they may be placed in the rooms during winter.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Mallorhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    46
    5
    7
    5
See reviews for
51
47
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

We've just recently moved to New Zealand and have the great luck (or simply an indication of a familial indiscriminate breeding pattern) of having cousins and aunts and uncles and other relatives all over the country.

That said, they can show us to the good places-- while we serve as an "excuse" for them to do the touristy things they've never done!

We booked two rooms at the Golden Glow Motel. One for the wife and me... the other for my cousin, her husband and little girl. I mention this because I'd initially simply booked it as: 2 rooms, 2 people each.

My thought was we didn't need a rollout bed or anything for the little girl, she could crash on a bedroll.

To our surprise (a nice one), both rooms came with tiny beds in the front room (there is a sort of receiving room [with bed, table, kitchen area] in the front, bedroom, bathroom, and hot tub or "spa" room in back).

The owner (It could have been the help but he was there at close AND open... I think it's his wee place) seems nice enough, doesn't say much other than to tell you not to download anything illegal/weird on his wifi (check!). He walked us to the rooms, which open to the parking lot.

I noticed him checking out our cars, head slightly bobbing as he did and he steeled me with a look: "You've got FIVE. You said four!"

I raised my hands up and apologized, assuring him that a) we were not trying to pull a fast one and b) the little girl wouldn't be downloading anything illegal/weird on his wifi.

He informed me it would cost an extra $15, which I was just fine with. Not a big matter, of course (although something tells me he goes back to that little check-in cottage and has a big wall of pre-made stamps [think WW2 fighter jets, with the "zeros" they shot down stamped along the hull]... and when he returned from his encounter with our fifth-wheel-freeloader, he grabbed a small stamp with a worn out wooden handle, flecks of lacquer peeling off it... pushed it into an ink pad and then satisfyingly pressed it against a blank patch on some long, unseen wall... the stick figure image of yet another heretofore unpaid child, now paid, thanks to his hawk-eyes and diligence (then he sits down and sips his Rusty Nail, humming just slightly to himself)]).

The bed was nice and comfortable and the kitchen was wonderfully clean and stocked with tea and coffee. The bathroom also spotless with towels of a color you might find in the old 60's Willie Wonka movie. But, perfectly lovely.

The spa tub is in its own area, as if it were set up in a small Florida room (or back porch). It's covered and fenced but there's a nice gap at the top to let the steam out.

Overall a delightful stay!

The one very small knock is that it can get rather hot at night and there did not seem to be any fans or ventilation, save opening the windows. This latter would have been fine on most days, I'm sure, but it seems we had the cast of "Deliverance 2" in the neighboring room (not the relatives, they passed out rather quickly).

So, to avoid the stream of "yuk! wha' chu think this does?", we had to close the windows which made it just slightly uncomfortable for sleeping.

However, as stated, our man at the front desk has strict rules. And at 10:30 sharp (I'm not sure if it was exactly 10:30, but I bet it was), the cheerful hayseeds were informed that bubbly bath time is over.

It was then, I could open the window and finally drift off to sleep... with images of our Scooby-Doo villain-style hotelier, closing his little door after talking to our neighbors... and then searching his collection for a particular worn-out stamp, the one cut in the shape of a spa tub.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 42FordPrefect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

We spent 4 nights at the Golden Glow, with no hassles.

Room was very tidy and reasonably modern. Staff were very friendly and helpful, with lots of advice and information on nearby attractions etc.

The spa was great, extremely hot water always on hand for it, so you could soak the days cares away :)

Location wise, couldnt ask for more really - Countdown right across the road along with bottle shop, great takeaways 2 doors up the road, and the main shopping area of Rotorua 5 mins walk away.

They do offer Wifi, however it is only 100MB via Zenbu but we were given more data without charge.

TIP : For more Wifi data, theres a Telecom hot spot outside the takeaways - so if youre a telecom customer get your free data there - if not Telecom user, you can get a 1GB free trial.

Only thing that spoiled our stay a little bit was the manners of the other guests as below :

One had a rotary or similar vehicle and would rev it every time he went out, then scream out of the car park - no care that small children were present.

Our last night, some other guests arrived in the room next to us and were up until 2am talking VERY loudly, then the morning while we were packing to go home, theyre outside the front of their room yelling up to their friends in the room above us.

During packing, my wife happened to look outside to see who was causing a large amount of noise and caught the glance of someone across the car park, who then promptly pulled the finger to my wife and slammed their door shut.

Some people..... but this is not the motels fault, just some bad pennies staying there.


Golden Glow will def be on our list to stay at again :)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank XPDNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raglan, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

Had a great stay. Nice and clean. Loved the spa in our room. Lovely people. Enjoyed the view from the top rooms. Very close walk to town which was great. Supermarkets just across the road. Cheers, Rachel & Trent

Room Tip: We stayed upstairs in room 16
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Rachel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

Very clean and tidy place to stay. Beds and pillows comfortable which is important when staying away from home! Spa was spacious and amazing!! This room had everything we needed for a pleasurable nights stay. Sky TV sports kept him happy, and i was happy soaking in the spa for as long as i liked! Very close to everything, supermarkets, restaurants, liquor store which makes it very convenient. I had a bit of trouble connecting to the wifi, but in the end didn't need it as i was too busy soaking in the spa! If i had needed though, I'm confident the hosts would have helped me out with it. We will be checking again next time we go to Rotorua.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Queenie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Foxton, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

lovely owners very helpful situated on main street close to everything shopping complex pac and save, countdown etc food and takeaways close by.very clean and tidy.spa lovely relaxing after long trip.beds are really comfortable good pillows. clean towels every day.good cooking appliances microwave,toaster, elements, fridge cutlery etc.sky tv free wi-fi.good parking.worth staying here when in Rotorua or passing threw.would recommend it to anyone going up this way

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

I kind of felt the hostess was too friendly, almost to the point of wondering when we were going to get left alone to get on with it, but that's probably just me. The room was clean and tidy, the beds and pillows very comfortable. We didn't use the spa, but using the shower over it was incredibly awkward - the shower head did not come over far enough and I felt like a failed contortionist trying to get my hair washed. The hotel is within walking distance of a lot of shops, which would be helpful to a lot of visitors. The toilet is a very small area, I think a very large person would struggle with getting in and closing the door behind them. It was also very hot and there is no air conditioning. Although I sound very critical, the negatives did not seem major, and it was an acceptable stay with positive features.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G-Hag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.5 mi away
Brylin Motel
Brylin Motel
#46 of 93 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
0.2 mi away
Six on Union
Six on Union
#50 of 93 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lake Rotorua Hotel
Lake Rotorua Hotel
#49 of 93 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua
0.1 mi away
Fernleaf Motel
Fernleaf Motel
#30 of 93 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
1.4 mi away
Cleveland Thermal Motel
Cleveland Thermal Motel
#12 of 93 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Glow Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Glow Motel

Property: Golden Glow Motel
Address: 253 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#31 Family Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Glow Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering spacious studios and family apartments with a private spa pool, Golden Glow Motel is a 5-minute walk from Rotorua Town where various shops and restaurants can be found. It offers free parking, free WiFi daily and a free shuttle from the bus station. Heated guest rooms have a kitchenette with a microwave, hot plates and a toaster. Each has a flat-screen TV with over 50 satellite channels. The en suite bathroom comes with toiletries and shower. A self-service guest laundry service is available and luggage storage is provided. Motel Golden Glow is a 10-minute walk from the Polynesian Spa and Lake Rotorua. It is a 15-minute drive from the Rotorua Regional Airport, and a 20-minute drive from Wai-O-Tapu Thermal Wonderland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Golden Glow Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Glow Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing