We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (401)
Filter reviews
401 results
Traveller rating
325
59
12
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
325
59
12
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews free bikes eat street steam box great location local charity hot mineral baths new owners heated pool geothermal heating thanks guys great pool helpful information motor lodge walking distance a great stay great amenities great recommendations
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 401 reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2018

We stayed here based on the good reviews and the geothermal heating options and we were not disappointed! Every staff member we met was so warm and welcoming it honestly made the trip so enjoyable! We felt very comfortable and welcomed immediately.

The rooms were perfect, very clean and comfortable and exactly what we needed. A small kitchenette which was useful and a new bathroom and shower. The only downside was there was no powerpoint in the bathroom but we were able to use one just outside in the kitchen.

The location is fantastic - a walk to eat street, the lake front, lots of cafes and very central to get around without a car but also in the middle to drive everywhere.

The highlight (especially for my mother who I travelled with) was the geothermal heating inside the rooms. She always gets very cold when we visit NZ and we came back to a toasty room everyday. The private mineral pools were great for a soak everyday - no need to pay and use the busy Polynesian Spa pools when we had this so easily accessible. We even used the geothermal steamer to cook a hangi on our last day!

Without a doubt would stay here again and recommend it to everyone!
Thanks to the team at Aura!

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ChelsMM88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AuraAccom, Owner at Aura Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2018

Hi Chelsea,

Thanks for the great review, we are just super stoked you had a great stay with us and were able to enjoy plenty of quality family time.

And that geothermal steamer, it's a real hit!

Thanks again,

Nick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2018

From start to finish, we enjoyed our stay here. They kindly accommodated our late arrival with clear instructions on how to get to our room. Our room was spacious and clean and even had its own hot tub. Lots of fun signage and thoughtful touches, and every staff member I met was friendly and helpful. Plus, the location can't be a beat. Although this is an older property, they've made it into something great!

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank N7394JRcindyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AuraAccom, Owner at Aura Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2018

Hi Cindy,

Thanks for the kind words. It is great to hear your stay went so smoothly from start to finish. I love how you touch on our property being older, absolutely, we don't try to be something we are not. We are a comfortable mid range accommodation option that packs a real punch in providing an awesome guest experience.

Thanks again,

Nick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2018

Aura is in great location for one of Rotorua's enjoyable dining out locations.We have stayed several times firstly for the location but now ensure we return to experience wonderful friendly hospitality. Very rare for a motelier to leave office and greet guests like returning friends and escort to your desiginated room.
Nick's charm and freindly manner to several 7-8 year olds clamoring to ride the pushbikes was good to see as was the smiles on the kids.
Our room was ideal for the family and we will be back.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ratast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AuraAccom, Owner at Aura Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2018

Hi,

Nice to hear you enjoyed Eat Streat - It is pretty handy having the place just 200 metres down the road. If I'm being honest I'm down there probably a little bit too often.

We love nothing more than seeing our return guests again and again, it is what makes our place so special.

Thanks,

Nick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2018 via mobile

Aura is not spanking new but has what you would need for a restful night at a reasonable price. The batteries of our glucose test reader was flat, we inquired where we could buy batteries, not the regular ones but the flat round CR2032 type. Nick recommended some stores and even helped check online when they are closing. When we settled into our room #4, we realized room has a sofa set but no table / chairs for working. We headed out to look for Karen and saw Nick in the garden fixing some stuff. We told Nick and he immediately checked and swap us to room #11 that has a dining table set, at no extra charge. Then we realized there was no power point at the table and again, it was no trouble, Nick brought us a power bar! Room has a wardrobe but was a little dusty so we did not use, has a luggage stand and a wall mount thermal heater, no fan or aircon. Open kitchen has appliances and cutlery so u can cook too. Location is great, just 5 mins walk into town with lots of restaurants and shops. It is also about 5 mins walking distance to the water front. The outdoor heated pool looks great but it was raining when we were there so we did not try. Shower gel is provided but not shampoo. We stayed for 2 nights but choose “no service” to donate the cleaning fees – well, we don’t change our towels & sheets daily at home too. For breakfast, we drove into town to look for breakfast place and ate at Fat Dog. When we were driving back to the motel, we saw Lime Restaurant just round the corner of the motel so on the 2nd day, we walked to Lime for breakfast. A suggestion to the Aura team – recommend breakfast places on the chalk board or better still, do a tie-up with Lime for a discount as it’s the closest. All in, a comfortable place to stay but don’t expect 5* furnishing and fixtures. Book direct for better rates and they allow free cancellation too. Seems like the rooms have different furnishing so make sure u tell them what u need as nothing is too much trouble for them. Nick, please ask the housekeepers to clean the dusty hangers in wardrobe for room #11.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Pipo2968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AuraAccom, Owner at Aura Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2018

Hi,

Thanks for the review and all the practical improvements. We always strive to make our place even better than it was yesterday and a lot of that comes down to the feedback from our guests.

I do love the theme coming through to come and talk to the staff, after all, we are here to make sure you have a fantastic experience at Aura Accommodation.

Safe travels,

Nick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2018

This is an awesome motel. Our room had just what we needed, the main pool is awesome and the kids and I enjoyed a soak in the mineral pools each evening too. We hired the bikes and scooters (for free) and explored all over. The staff are friendly and helpful. Just wish we could have stayed for longer.

Stayed: October 2018
Thank Starlet_Auckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AuraAccom, Owner at Aura Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2018

HI,

Thanks for the kind words. It is always the same problem - If only we could stay longer. We it sounds like you squeezed in plenty while you were in Rotorua, but still left plenty for your return trip.

See you next time,

Nick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews