We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing evening”
Review of Te Puia

Te Puia
Book In Advance
More Info
US$39.10*
and up
Te Puia Maori Arts and Crafts Institute with Optional Cultural Performance
More Info
US$74.45*
and up
Te Puia Maori Cultural Tour and Steambox Lunch
More Info
US$86.48*
and up
Rotorua Cultural Eco Small Group Afternoon Tour
Ranked #6 of 112 things to do in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Te Puia spans 70 hectares within the historic Te Whakarewarewa Valley, on the edge of town. We are home to the world famous Pohutu geyser, to mud pools, hot springs, to silica formations to the Kiwi bird and the national schools of wood carving, weaving, stone and bone carving. We have shared these treasures with manuhiri (visitors) for 170 years and proudly continue that legacy today.
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

We attended the show and hangi dinner.
Milly our hostess was fantastic!
The show was absolutely amazing! Traditional welcome, dancing, singing, and audience involvement.
Hangi dinner was lovely, and on a very cold night was greatly appreciated. Plenty of variety and all cooked beautifully.
Definately recommend to anyone visiting the area.

Thank Sprat72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TePuia, Manager at Te Puia, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Tena Koe,

We are so appreciative to have great visitors like you through our amazing establishment.

We'll be sure to pass on your lovely words to Milly and our Food and Beverage team for the great dinner.

Hope to see you back again one day

Nga mihi nui Te Puia Whanau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,789)
There are newer reviews for Te Puia
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,379 - 2,383 of 3,790 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2014

This is a must-see attraction in Rotorua. We went to the evening show and dinner and found the experience excellent from start to finish. Very well-organized, great staff (particularly "Guy" our primary host) with a lot of attention to detail and customer experience. The fact that the geyser was hot and spouting when we went for our end of day viewing made it even better. The meal was fantastic. Guy and all of the other staff/performers have terrific vocal talent. Audience is gently encouraged to participate in the Maori show - a lot of fun!

Thank alreiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TePuia, Manager at Te Puia, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Kia Ora! as Guy would say,

Thanks so much for your incredible feedback, we're stoked to hear how much you enjoyed your TE PO Evening experience,

We wish you the happiest travels until we meet again

Nga mihi nui Te Puia Whanau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Really interesting site, learnt alot about Maori culture. The park was very impressive. The guide was very informative. I really enjoyed seeing the kiwis in the kiwi house.

Thank LadyV92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TePuia, Manager at Te Puia, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Hi there!

We appreciate you taking the time to let us know how great your visit was and we wish you all the best for future travels!

Nga mihi nui
Te Puia Whanau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

i learned a lot about the maori culture and surprisingly my teenage daughter did too. the lessons she learned about family and your own part in the whole have made an impact on her. thank you to our guides shane and guy. you lovely fellows were a delight to meet. the geysers were pretty awe inspiring, but it is the people who make te puia a "must do" experience.

Thank helenpotter28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TePuia, Manager at Te Puia, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Tena Koe Helen

Wow, that's awesome. Thanks for coming to visit with your beautiful family and we'll make sure your guide Shane is informed of your great time.

Wish you all the best!

Nga mihi nui
Te Puia Whanau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

This is absolutely a must do! The culture, the wildlife and the springs/mud, just wonderful. Definitely see the show, especially if you have kids with you, it's great. Very friendly and helpful staff, take a full day at least.

Thank rodgerskay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TePuia, Manager at Te Puia, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Kia Ora Rodger!

Lovely to hear from you, thanks for the incredible feedback and we sure are thankful you took the time to come and visit us.

Hope to see you and many more of your friends and family coming through Te Puia in the future

Nga mihi nui
Te Puia Whanau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Te Puia also viewed

 

Been to Te Puia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing