We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Possibly #1 B&B - Simply Impressive”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rotorua
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sandi's Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #18 of 52 Rotorua B&B and Inns
Reviewed 19 December 2013 via mobile

From the almost immediate response upon making reservations to setting foot and staying in Sandi's Bed & Breakfast, I was 100% impressed!

Sandi is the perfect host that any traveller would wish for. Her easygoing manner, friendliness and efficient, thoughtful service leaves no room for complaints.

Located 5-7 minutes drive from the city center, Sandi is near enough to visit all attractions while being quiet enough for rest. The room was beautiful and the bed so comfortable!

Well-equipped with all modern facilities and amenities, my friend and I were pampered senseless! What we loved most are the homecooked breakfasts by Sandi in her beautiful garden! We understand from Sandi that the beautiful home, rooms and garden were all built/created by her and her husband.

Dear Sandi, thank you for taking us on your beautiful "garden tour" and we would definitely return some day soon!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
Thank KaZsingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (102)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 102 reviews

Reviewed 5 December 2013

Sandi was so sweet and thoughtful. She allowed us to use a portacot, brought us amazing mixed fruit bowls as part of a large breakfast at whatever time we were ready, and offered advice on nearby attractions. Our cottage with bed & bath had a nice deck for enjoying breakfast, fast internet, a refrigerator, and a heater to keep the room cozy. The only downsides for us were having the pool closed and having a device emit bug spray into the room.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank traveling_smiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2013

We very much enjoyed staying at "Sandie's Place." She is so cordial and friendly, we were overwhelmed. Even after arriving fairly late in the evening, we were given our choice of rooms. Then when we asked about doing laundry, Sandie insisted that she take care of it for us! And the breakfasts were awesome!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jcrystal0412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2013

Service and feeling welcome are the main points of staying with Sandy. Just returned from staying at her place on two separate weeks to mountain bike the Redwood forest and hike in the area. Fantastic location and easy to find. Lots of good restaurants in the area. Was able to do my wash and leave luggage with Sandy. Comes highly recommended. Free WIFI with good speed.

Room Tip: Room by the Pool at back of house has good WIFI
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SierraPilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Eccentrically decorated outside, the rooms were just fine on the inside. Sandi was a delight and willing to help in any way she could with directions and suggestions for seeing Rotorua. She brought breakfast every morning to the room where a toaster, fridge, and hot pot were provided. There was cereal, a lovely fresh fruit salad, yogurt, whole meal bread, jelly, butter, and coffee.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Larkette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2013

This was the friendliest and most welcoming B&B we have ever been to. The hosts were so genuine in their friendliness. We were offered an entire house instead of a room and when our daughter turned up with her boyfriend, both soaking wet after a long walk, Sandy asked them in and offered them shelter. She is the most generous host we have ever met.
Breakfast is served in the room (house) and is more than delicious, including fresh fruit, really fresh.
Sandy gave us some good pieces of advice as far as restaurants were concerned.
We could not have wisheid ourselves a better place.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alfonske
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2013

Located on the main drag approaching Rotorua from the north. you might not picture Sandi's as a high class place, based on the jungle of plants surrounding a dwelling under construction. You might be mistaken. Sandi greeted us and instantly evaporated our fears when she led us into a delightful standalone bedroom-and-bath unit out back, beside a small, pretty, heated saltwater pool. There was plenty of room, a comfortable bed, fresh pears falling from the tree outside onto the porch, excellent wi-fi, a mini-fridge, coffee maker, and air-conditioning (although the latter would hardly ever be needed). And we never heard any highway noise; all those plants, it turns out, serve a useful purpose!

And there was Sandi--full of energy and valuable information and recommendations, volunteering to wash and dry clothes that by now had seen a week of traveling, and making reservations wherever we wanted to go. We had a great experience here, visiting a wonderful museum full of information about the Maori culture, attending a really good Maori performance and meal, and taking in a first rate culture center and thermal area, where we were so impressed, we bought a fairly expensive carving which had been don on site.

We can certainly recommend Sandi herself to you; she is a jewel. The accommodations were just icing on her cake.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
6.8 mi away
Lakeview Heights Farm Stay
Lakeview Heights Farm Stay
#13 of 52 in Rotorua
92 reviews
3.8 mi away
Mokoia Downs Estate B&B
Mokoia Downs Estate B&B
#1 of 52 in Rotorua
408 reviews
4.3 mi away
Doolan's Country Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Victoria Lodge
Victoria Lodge
#15 of 52 in Rotorua
247 reviews
2.1 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
765 reviews
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#17 of 92 in Rotorua
916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandi's Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandi's Bed & Breakfast

Address: 103 Fairy Springs Road, Rotorua 3015, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Rotorua
Price Range: £45 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing