We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nicara Lakeside Lodge
Nearby Hotels
US$180
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$174
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$191
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$159
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Arista of Rotorua(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$138
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Prince's Gate Hotel(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$148
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$558
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$471
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Rotorua(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$143
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$123
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Braeside Rotorua(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$118
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$140
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$136
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$138
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$120
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cedarwood Lakeside(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$118
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (122)
Filter reviews
122 results
Traveller rating
112
7
2
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
112
7
2
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnew zealandtheir beautiful homekiwi juiceafternoon winehomemade yogurtmushroom crepetravel agentloved staying heregreat suggestionsbed and breakfastview over the lakeevery morningbreakfast was excellentvisiting rotoruaa wonderful staysulfur smellheather
Filter
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 122 reviews
Reviewed 4 November 2013

My husband and I stayed at Nicara lodge over the long weekend, and thoroughly enjoyed our time there though it was short. We stayed in one of the guest rooms called 'Parson's Glory' with a beautiful view of the lake and jetty from one of our windows. Heather and Mike were enthusiastic and very informative, so if you had no set activities coming to Rotorua, no worries - they'll help you out with an itinerary. Best thing was the location as it was close to a lot of the main attractions.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pleo023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarola, Owner at Nicara Lakeside Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Thank you for choosing Nicara Lodge for your Rotorua stay. I do hope next time you will stay longer so you can fully enjoy the lodge experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Just amazing, beautiful house, beautiful views and most importantly beautiful people. Extremely welcoming, went out of their way to help us. We have stayed at many different places all over the world, this rates tops for us! The breakfast was another wonderful experience, all homemade just exceptional. Thank you for sharing your home with us, we thoroughly enjoyed our time with you both and will be recommending to all our friends and family.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TonyandKim2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarola, Owner at Nicara Lakeside Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Thanks Kim, although short, we really enjoyed meeting you both. Would love to see you again if you are in need of a break, or bring your family for a holiday in our lakeside Cottage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

On a Recent convention trip to Rotarua we had the great good fortune to stop with Heather and Mike at their lakeside luxury lodge. These are hosts who are seriously dedicated to ensuring you have a wonderful stay with them and moreover get the absolute most out of your stay in Rotarua, Their knowledge and enthusiasm for local attractions is evident in the time they spend with you selecting and booking your itinerary. The rooms were first class spacious and comfortable with "to die for" views over the lake. Breakfast was no less of a disappointment Heather's culinary expertise on show at every taste. I would thoroughly recommend Nicara to anyone going this way and if your not going this way I would suggest you change your travel plans.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiwipolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Heather and Mike are awesome hosts providing accommodation which is second to none right on the shores of Lake Rotorua.

From the warm welcome to the fond farewell, we received as much or as little attention we required. We enjoyed well presented and tasty breakfasts, especially Heather's home made muesli.

Mike and Heather offered lots of useful advice in relation to local attractions and were more than happy to make reservations if we wanted.

The room we had was spacious and well appointed, with excellent water pressure in the shower. Our room also had a fridge, tea and coffee making facilities, biscuits and sweets.

Nicara Lodge is a lovely place to stay when your are not exploring Rotorua's attractions.

We shall return.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Jim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarola, Owner at Nicara Lakeside Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2013

Thanks Jim, Glad you enjoyed your stay and no doubt interaction with our other guests. Hope to see you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Thank you for your wonderful hospitality. I should have stayed longer... Perfect place to relax & unwind. Watched the full moon set & the sun come up - magical! The breakfast you provided was perfect. Loved the home-made muesli & freshly baked croissants.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CharlotteCanterbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarola, Owner at Nicara Lakeside Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2013

Thank you for your lovely comments. We all had a great time with great people. Hope you enjoy the museli recipe. See you again soon. Heather

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews