We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just being realistic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel Rotorua
Cairns, Queensland, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Just being realistic”
Reviewed 8 September 2013

I went to this Hotel in December 2010 with my girlfriend on a short holiday break. I booked over the Internet because the pictures on the website was beautiful sunny room. For the price paid you expect better than a hostel or backpacker. The room was really really faraway from the entrance, looks like we were left with the spiders web. The cleanliness was not too bad, but very poor. I paid also for breakfast that was the good point for this Hotel. After several years I sill remember the experience I had but I did not know about TripAdvisor before, that's why I did not made a review before but after all I really want to share this experience for the future guests.

Room Tip: Well I won't return to this hotel anymore.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rodrigo_Grana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHotelRotorua, Manager at Grand Hotel Rotorua, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
We apologize that you were not happy with your stay nearly 3 years ago. The premises has several priced tiers of accommodation from Premier to Budget rooms to cater for different budgets. We try to make this clear in all of our advertising and if a guest is not happy with their room allocation our staff are happy to reallocate or upgrade the guest if necessary.

It is important that you immediately communicate any dissatisfaction with the staff so they have the opportunity to resolve any problems and ensure you have an enjoyable stay.

We do provide a complimentary continental breakfast for our guests including tea, coffee, juice, cereal, fruit, toast and spreads in our breakfast room - there is no charge for this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    33
    30
    31
    21
See reviews for
19
54
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

I am glad I didn't take in some of the negative comments about this place. Me and my husband just wanted a break from everything in our hometown. We booked a hotel close to Polynesian Spa. Stayed at the Grand for 3 days in the Premier room 128. Friendly staff, great location, minute walk from everything. We could here the music from the bar down the road, but it wasn't to a point you couldn't get a good night sleep. The room was clean and serviced everyday. Enjoyed our walk everywhere and the security at the hotel was great. Just need a bit of lighting at the front door, as I couldn't see the lock in the dark to unlock the door. Great bar at the back of the hotel. Waking up to a continental breakfast in the morning, which was included in room price was awesome. We will definately be coming back, next time with our kids. Thank you Coyla and staff for ur hospitality and great service.
Auckland couple.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Warisah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

I have given it a rating of two purely because it is right in town and our room was 'fairly' clean and it was cheap however the noise! We stayed in a Premier room which was supposed to be quieter than the standards. The karaoke from the attached bar went on till 3am. We then changed rooms the next night to look over the road but there is also an Irish bar down the road, it was better but if you are in Rotorua for a holiday give yourself and your ears a break and stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: Don't but if you have to, get a premier room facing the road not the carpark
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peekaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rotorua hotels

Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2013

The Grand was the only option for us on a very busy weekend in Rotorua when everything else was booked solid. It is not particularly clean (eg . our shower curtain had stains and mold, carpets were dirty). It is not well maintained and not very comfortable as the beds are low quality. There is also a feeling there that you are not safe while there. There is a bar attached to the hotel that effected our sleep because of loud music (until 3am). To get to our room, there were no elevators so we had to carry luggage up stairs.
However, that all being said, it is only $55 a night so what can you expect? They also provide a continental breakfast free which is decent enough and their location is right in town and the staff was friendly. Parking was free. SO, this is not the best place to stay but works in a pinch if there is nowhere else but I certainly would never choose to stay there if other options existed.
This is really just a glorified backpackers hotel without the glory.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelWren7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porirua City
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2013

My friend and I stayed here for a RaggaMuffin weekend, when we checked in the South African guy working was very nice and friendly and the older lady the next morning very friendly as well, we just booked a economy room as on a budget and once checked in walked to the front of the building and up some stairs (glad we didn't have allot of luggage :)
up the hallway and over a bridge like hallway.

Room was very basic with x1 double bed and x1 single, there was a fan lucky as it did get abit hot and a old telly and wardrobe that was swashed beside the double bed, there were not many power outlets as most been covered up for some reason. The bathroom slide door was to small as when closed you could see who ever was on the toilet so not very private.

Rooms reminded us of backpackers not hotel or motel, great it did include breakfast which was a bonus. Where breakfast was served the roof looked abit dangerous as black marks and wholes with wires hanging out, overall it is in a good location very central.

Not sure if we would come back again, maybe if it was a super cheap deal but we paid more then normal rate as guessing because raggaz weekend.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jazz_loves_Hawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 February 2013

We were after basic accommodation for our short holiday and found a reasonable deal online.

The room was cheap and had free contential breakfast. The name really should be changed however, it is very misleading. We got a 'premier, recently remodelled' room. It was very basic. Some light bulbs didnt work, bathroom door lock didnt work. Not many items in the room - ie no wine glasses. Our room was about a block of shops, so our windows opened to the road. But we got what we paid for.

The laundry looked to scary to use, and apparently the dryer was out of order, so we gave up on that. And the breakfast was in a sad wee echoed room past a restaurant/bar with all its lights off.

We did however find it clean and the bed was good. It had almost everything that we needed (except a laundry) Staff however were very friendly, when we mentioned what we were visiting, we got a 10% voucher off to that attraction.

Room Tip: We had a premier room, which was clean but basic, with our windows opening out to the road. No idea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bex107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Molton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2013

The hotel is in a central location in Rotarua and is a cheap base. I have read some of the other reviews on here and it is right that the it is pretty much on top of a loud irish bar (which is not part of the hotel), but we didn't find that it was too bad - we have stayed in worse places noise-wise (try any of the Base hostels!!!). I think it is the economy rooms that are located near the loud bar - one of which we had. The hotel is anything but "grand" and is quite shabby, but for the price we paid we certainly cannot complain.

The owners were incredibly helpful and gave us a lot of good tips about things to see and do in Rotorua. Breakfast was also good - cereal, toast, juice and coffee. For what we paid this was incrediby good value.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Swansea_Girl_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.1 mi away
Astray Motel
Astray Motel
#14 of 58 in Rotorua
203 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blarneys Rock Backpackers & Internet Cafe
0.2 mi away
Cactus Jacks Backpackers
Cactus Jacks Backpackers
#50 of 58 in Rotorua
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Rotorua Planet Backpackers
Rotorua Planet Backpackers
#25 of 58 in Rotorua
26 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crash Palace
Crash Palace
#3 of 58 in Rotorua
371 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rotorua Downtown Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Rotorua

Property: Grand Hotel Rotorua
Address: 1130 Pukuatua Street | Rotorua CBD, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 58 Speciality Lodging in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Rotorua 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Rotorua is an older style property located in the heart of Rotorua CBD. There are 38 rooms in total which can be divided into 3 categories (or room standards). There are 12 BUDGET Rooms or backpacker style rooms with private bathrooms which cater for those travellers wishing for some privacy and security in preference to a dormitory and on a limited budget. There are 7 ECONOMY Rooms which have the basics such as ensuite, TV, fridge, tea and coffee. They are clean and comfortable and ideal for short stays. We offer a complimentary continental breakfast in our breakfast room between 8.00am and 10.00amThere are 19 PREMIER Rooms which were renovated to a good standard and come complete with ensuite, TV, fridge, tea & coffee, phone, internet, hair dryer, iron & ironing board etc. We offer a complimentary continental breakfast in our breakfast room between 8.00am and 10.00am ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing