We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good 2nd or 3rd option...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel Rotorua
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“A good 2nd or 3rd option...”
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for New Year's Eve and we pleasantly surprised by the location and proximity to town amenities.
Close to everything and in the heart of the town, however not a lot of parking when things get busy.
The room was clean, not spotless but ok, and looked like they had had a renovation in the last couple of years making it look more modern and user friendly.
No air conditioning in our room, however that's not to say all rooms were the same, and I cannot comment on the other rooms. In the middle of summer it is cooking so make sure you ask when you book.
While you are checking on the AC make sure you ask for a room away from the road as it's does get noisy at night and the loud cars make sleep a bit tough.
TV reception is very patchy with our tv just refusing to work.
Other than these points it seems like a budget priced well optioned motel close to everything.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank KiwiKirkNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHotelRotorua, Manager at Grand Hotel Rotorua, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Thank you for your review.

Our location is very convenient and generally we have ample parking for all of our guests. The Christmas/New Years period is always busy and we apologise if you had difficulty finding a park during this time, this is "rarely" a problem but can happen.

As with any central CBD location we are not immune from street noise and festive activities surrounding us when numerous visitors come to town for New Year. The Police Station is approximately 200 meters away which generally deters this sort of behaviour.

In December we upgraded many of the Premier rooms with 32 inch smart TV's which were all checked and working perfectly at the time so it's difficult to determine what the problem may have been. When we become aware of any problems we attempt to address them immediately and do carry a supply of cables and spare TV's if the need arises. It is important to inform the reception staff as soon as possible so we have time to resolve any problems and ensure you have an enjoyable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    34
    30
    31
    21
See reviews for
19
54
13
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 29 October 2013

From the moment we rang for a quote until we left, we had fantastic service for a group of 30 staying at Labour Weekend, nothing was too much trouble. Rooms were clean, showers were great, breakfast was unlimited and of cause the price was right. We are looking forward to booking again next Labour Weekend. Nga mihi Coyla, the BROXIII Canterbury Maori Rugby League Team.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barb F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHotelRotorua, Manager at Grand Hotel Rotorua, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
We are glad you had a wonderful and successful stay in Rotorua and look forward to hosting you again next year.

Your management of such a large group was exceptional.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Queensland, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

I went to this Hotel in December 2010 with my girlfriend on a short holiday break. I booked over the Internet because the pictures on the website was beautiful sunny room. For the price paid you expect better than a hostel or backpacker. The room was really really faraway from the entrance, looks like we were left with the spiders web. The cleanliness was not too bad, but very poor. I paid also for breakfast that was the good point for this Hotel. After several years I sill remember the experience I had but I did not know about TripAdvisor before, that's why I did not made a review before but after all I really want to share this experience for the future guests.

Room Tip: Well I won't return to this hotel anymore.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rodrigo_Grana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHotelRotorua, Manager at Grand Hotel Rotorua, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
We apologize that you were not happy with your stay nearly 3 years ago. The premises has several priced tiers of accommodation from Premier to Budget rooms to cater for different budgets. We try to make this clear in all of our advertising and if a guest is not happy with their room allocation our staff are happy to reallocate or upgrade the guest if necessary.

It is important that you immediately communicate any dissatisfaction with the staff so they have the opportunity to resolve any problems and ensure you have an enjoyable stay.

We do provide a complimentary continental breakfast for our guests including tea, coffee, juice, cereal, fruit, toast and spreads in our breakfast room - there is no charge for this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rotorua hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

I am glad I didn't take in some of the negative comments about this place. Me and my husband just wanted a break from everything in our hometown. We booked a hotel close to Polynesian Spa. Stayed at the Grand for 3 days in the Premier room 128. Friendly staff, great location, minute walk from everything. We could here the music from the bar down the road, but it wasn't to a point you couldn't get a good night sleep. The room was clean and serviced everyday. Enjoyed our walk everywhere and the security at the hotel was great. Just need a bit of lighting at the front door, as I couldn't see the lock in the dark to unlock the door. Great bar at the back of the hotel. Waking up to a continental breakfast in the morning, which was included in room price was awesome. We will definately be coming back, next time with our kids. Thank you Coyla and staff for ur hospitality and great service.
Auckland couple.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Warisah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

I have given it a rating of two purely because it is right in town and our room was 'fairly' clean and it was cheap however the noise! We stayed in a Premier room which was supposed to be quieter than the standards. The karaoke from the attached bar went on till 3am. We then changed rooms the next night to look over the road but there is also an Irish bar down the road, it was better but if you are in Rotorua for a holiday give yourself and your ears a break and stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: Don't but if you have to, get a premier room facing the road not the carpark
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peekaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2013

The Grand was the only option for us on a very busy weekend in Rotorua when everything else was booked solid. It is not particularly clean (eg . our shower curtain had stains and mold, carpets were dirty). It is not well maintained and not very comfortable as the beds are low quality. There is also a feeling there that you are not safe while there. There is a bar attached to the hotel that effected our sleep because of loud music (until 3am). To get to our room, there were no elevators so we had to carry luggage up stairs.
However, that all being said, it is only $55 a night so what can you expect? They also provide a continental breakfast free which is decent enough and their location is right in town and the staff was friendly. Parking was free. SO, this is not the best place to stay but works in a pinch if there is nowhere else but I certainly would never choose to stay there if other options existed.
This is really just a glorified backpackers hotel without the glory.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelWren7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porirua City
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2013

My friend and I stayed here for a RaggaMuffin weekend, when we checked in the South African guy working was very nice and friendly and the older lady the next morning very friendly as well, we just booked a economy room as on a budget and once checked in walked to the front of the building and up some stairs (glad we didn't have allot of luggage :)
up the hallway and over a bridge like hallway.

Room was very basic with x1 double bed and x1 single, there was a fan lucky as it did get abit hot and a old telly and wardrobe that was swashed beside the double bed, there were not many power outlets as most been covered up for some reason. The bathroom slide door was to small as when closed you could see who ever was on the toilet so not very private.

Rooms reminded us of backpackers not hotel or motel, great it did include breakfast which was a bonus. Where breakfast was served the roof looked abit dangerous as black marks and wholes with wires hanging out, overall it is in a good location very central.

Not sure if we would come back again, maybe if it was a super cheap deal but we paid more then normal rate as guessing because raggaz weekend.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jazz_loves_Hawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.4 mi away
Ibis Rotorua
Ibis Rotorua
#37 of 92 in Rotorua
1,148 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crash Palace
Crash Palace
#3 of 58 in Rotorua
375 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rotorua Downtown Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Astray Motel
Astray Motel
#14 of 58 in Rotorua
205 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rock Solid Backpackers
Rock Solid Backpackers
#11 of 58 in Rotorua
26 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ledwich Lodge Motel
Ledwich Lodge Motel
#66 of 92 in Rotorua
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Rotorua

Property: Grand Hotel Rotorua
Address: 1130 Pukuatua Street | Rotorua CBD, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 58 Speciality Lodging in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Rotorua 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Rotorua is an older style property located in the heart of Rotorua CBD. There are 38 rooms in total which can be divided into 3 categories (or room standards). There are 12 BUDGET Rooms or backpacker style rooms with private bathrooms which cater for those travellers wishing for some privacy and security in preference to a dormitory and on a limited budget. There are 7 ECONOMY Rooms which have the basics such as ensuite, TV, fridge, tea and coffee. They are clean and comfortable and ideal for short stays. We offer a complimentary continental breakfast in our breakfast room between 8.00am and 10.00amThere are 19 PREMIER Rooms which were renovated to a good standard and come complete with ensuite, TV, fridge, tea & coffee, phone, internet, hair dryer, iron & ironing board etc. We offer a complimentary continental breakfast in our breakfast room between 8.00am and 10.00am ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and LateRooms so you can book your Grand Hotel Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing