We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb acommodation and very welcoming hosts.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
East West Studio Apartments
Reviewed 3 April 2012

We stayed for two nights in the studio acomodation overlooking the pool. It was very spacious and beautifully appointed and furnished. A good central location within easy walking distance of the town and local attractions. Our hosts were more than happy to advise on things to do and see. Our complementary breakfast, which was supposed only to be for one morning, was more than enough for two! It was lovely to end a busy day in the thermal pool with a glass of wine! Thank you Kristin and Stuart.

Room Tip: There were other types of acommodation but the studio that we had would sleep three and was very spa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tednsandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RustyPukehina, Owner at East West Studio Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2012

We do appreciate your travelling all this way across the world to take part in true Kiwi hospitality. You have made to the most of your journey with a wonderful positive attitude, and we are very honoured to have provided a small contribution to your overall experience.

East West Apartments Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (68)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 68 reviews

Reviewed 17 January 2012

Our family of 4 (2 adults and 2 teens) stayed for three nights in January in the self contained cottage. Firstly this cottage offered us the space to spread out with each of our daughters able to have their own room and the flexibility to cook or barbecue dinner ourselves. We appreciated the fully equipped kitchen with enough plates, glasses and cutlery that I did not have to put the dishwasher on after every meal. Also handy to have little things like rolls of glad wrap.
Look, we didn't spend a lot of time sitting around, we were fairly busy, but we did enjoy the cable TV channels. My daughters managed to cram a years worth of Kardashian viewing into a few days. My husband also rented one of the mountain bikes and found Stuart (one of the owners) to be extremely helpful. We used the hot tub once.
Yes, there were a lot of rules written in a folder, but mostly they just seemed common sense and didn't affect us at all.
I have 3 small quibbles. Because there were no window coverings in the kitchen, it felt like there was a lack of privacy in our cottage as it is overlooked by the guesthouse/residence next door. Secondly I also found the bed uncomfortable, but that could just be me. My husband slept soundly all 3 nights. Lastly the hot tub motor was quite loud at night and sounded like it was right outside our bedroom window.
Otherwise we had a great time and this is the perfect base from which to explore Rotorua. It's a fascinating area. Highlights for us were a mud bath at Hells Gates and a jet boat tour called "The Squeeze" which was amazing. The luge is also not to be missed!
A big shout out to the tourist information centre. They are over the top helpful, booked our accommodation and attractions for us with such good grace and humor over the extremely busy new year period.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank em_be53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RustyPukehina, Manager at East West Studio Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2012

Thank you for your comments and feedback. The good news is our brand new kitchens had actually just been installed prior to your arrival in the highest peak of the season, with the planned new blinds being installed soon after your departure. Regards the spa, its a shame we were not advised of this at the time, the timer could have easily been changed to suit. Overall we are really pleased to hear you all enjoyed your Rotorua experience.

Kristin & Stuart - East West Apartments Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2012

We stayed in the 2 storey self contained apartment and found it in perfect condition with comfortable furniture and great extras like the washing machine. We spent most days walking into Rotorua to enjoy the town and most evenings in the beautiful thermal heated pool and spa. The hopitality from the hosts Kristin and stuart were second to none. We enjoyed the experience that much that we will booked to stay in the Studio apartment above the pool on our homebound journey. The studio room was perfect for relaxing in the lounge chairs and winding down from a busy holiday and again the hospitality was faultless.
Thankyou Kristin and Stuart
We definately will be back!!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mel w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RustyPukehina, Manager at East West Studio Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2012

Thank you for your comments, very much appreciated, especially with you both returning to stay with us within a couple of weeks! A wonderful commendation for our product and services in two of the 4 different types of accommodation we offer. We do recall you having a really relaxing time here, especially the lovely heated swimming pool!

Kristin & Stuart - East West Apartments Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

As a family of three adults we stayed for three nights in the South Apartment. It was excellent, with a living area downstairs and the bedrooms and had its own laundry.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RustyPukehina, Manager at East West Studio Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2012

We are very appreciative to hear that you found our facilities well meeting your standards. We work very hard in ensuring that everything is in place to the best of our ability. We do look forward to you or your friends visiting us again.

Kristin & Stuart - East West Apartments Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2011

Spent 7 nights in a 2 bedroom apartment and had a lovely time,
Kids enjoyed the pool, which was lovely and warm. Great sized apartment for staying with 2 kids.
Having the washing machine was great, particularly with the lousy weather.
Only hiccup was that at times the spa was not as warm as we would have liked. Central heating did not warm the upstairs as much as we would have preferred, but it was not uncomfortable.

Otherwise it was a great place to stay in Rotorua.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ToowoombaBilby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RustyPukehina, Manager at East West Studio Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2012

Thank you for your comments. We appreciate honest feedback and that you found our accommodation suitably up to standard for your family as a small part of contributing to your overall Rotorua holiday experience. We look forward to you or your friends visiting us in the future.

Kristin & Stuart - East West Apartments management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2011

We stayed in the Garden Cottage which looked and sounded amazing on the website. It stated it had been completely renovated.
In reality the decor looked tired and dated. The furniture was all old. In general the accommodation was clean although many walls were marked.
We did not find the beds to be particularly comfortable and the sheets, although clean were unironed so did not look fresh or inviting.
The rule book for the accommodation was huge and made us feel that we were in boarding school rather than on holiday.
The accommodation was equipped with everything you would expect from this standard of accommodation however it did not have the same feel that all other accommodation with a similar rating has had. It lacked quality.
The worst thing about this accommodation was the smell. It is difficult to escape from the hydrogen sulphide in Rotorua but the fact that there was a heating outlet from the geothermal heating right behind the accommodation meant that the smell here in particular suffocating at times. We made a point of staying out of the accommodation for as much of our time there as possible.
On a positive note, the location of the accommodation is good (if you could get rid of the smell) as it is close to the centre of Rotorua for shops, restaurants and attractions.
The host is helpful on arrival and available if you need help.
It is adequately equipped.
I think this accommodation would be very acceptable if it were rated 2 or 3 star but does not match up to 4 star quality

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Turaga_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RustyPukehina, Manager at East West Studio Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2011

East West Apartments operates HOLIDAY HOMES, fully independent self catering longer term stay accommodation. Inspection is required on arrival and signed off as acceptable by all guests on registration. Our house policy & local information compendium is the same format as any other accommodation facility to ensure the safety, comfort and health of guests. No guest is under any obligation to accept the booking if not satisfied on arrival. Should any issue arise during the stay, guests are openly invited to advise management for immediate rectifying. Management has no record of the reporting of any issues during this guest’s stay, as any valid issues would have been duly managed.

Rotorua is located in a natural geothermal zone resulting in varying levels of sulphurous fumes & activity. East West cannot held be responsible for monitored thermal outlets operating on neighbouring properties or the Rotorua area.

East West Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2011

This place was nice and suited our young family well. However the owners, while welcoming, talked to us for 30+mins on arrival and were very rules orientated. The property is covered in labels and rules which can make you feel a little like 'school camp' plus the CCTV in our private yard was intrusive. Overall this property was overpriced in comparison to other 4 star self contained accommodation we stayed in.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AustFam5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RustyPukehina, Owner at East West Studio Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2011

We respect accurate feedback however in this case we are concerned that the guests have alleged that CCTV is in their "private yard". This is an incorrect statement as our CCTV operates only over the reception entry, and swimming pool.

We operate HOLIDAY HOMES which unlike motels and hotels are completely independant and self catering. We are obliged to ensure our guests in our HOLIDAY HOME accommodation are fully aware of the workings of the houses they have rented. For the overall protection of our guests against noise, health and safety issues minimal notices are in evidence.

We are pleased to note overall that they have confirmed that the place was nice and suited their young family well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.4 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 91 in Rotorua
794 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#16 of 91 in Rotorua
940 reviews
0.7 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Cosy Cottage Thermal Holiday Park Rotorua
0.6 mi away
Sport of Kings Motel
Sport of Kings Motel
#2 of 91 in Rotorua
1,292 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cleveland Thermal Motel
Cleveland Thermal Motel
#12 of 91 in Rotorua
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East West Studio Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East West Studio Apartments

Address: 6 Toko Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 59 Speciality Lodging in Rotorua
Price Range: £84 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — East West Studio Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
UNIQUE accommodation - CENTRAL location in the HEART of Rotorua City, family owned & operated premium in house SELF CONTAINED & SERVICED studios, private bathroom, kitchenette, 2 x adult guests maximum occupancy, heated pool, off street parking, located within metres of Rotorua Central Mall, cafes, & spas & thermal wonders, and adventure activities close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your East West Studio Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing