We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
East West Studio Apartments
Nearby Hotels
US$174
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$111
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$186
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Holiday Inn Rotorua(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$199
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$174
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$1,072
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$175
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$154
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$557
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$474
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$138
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$114
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Prince's Gate Hotel(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$165
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Braeside Rotorua(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$118
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$106
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (70)
Filter reviews
70 results
Traveller rating
45
19
3
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
45
19
3
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswithin easy walking distanceheated poolstay there againplaces to visityogurtvisit rotoruaexcellent locationtwo nightskristinsupermarkethostsattractionsfridgefacilitiesinternet
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 70 reviews
Reviewed 8 May 2013 via mobile

We had one of the larger units while it was OK we wouldn't say it was outstanding - the furniture was basic just felt like a cheap caravan type vibe.

For the money paid over £115 a night then I'd expect posher stuff inside but it was more travel lodge than the Hilton. This was our most expensive stay and while it was tidy it was lacking that wow factor!

While the hosts get the guests to sign in - we had a look and yes it looks ok but what we're saying is the luxury was lacking for what is charged. They do state if not happy to go elsewhere well we've booked and others were booked out so we stayed.

Too many rules about cleaning but there was a fair bit of dust noticeable when you're living there. We cleaned it ourselves as we like privacy not cleaners coming in to do a job they didn't do in the first place !

Rules about the refuge and unregistered guests must leave before a set time. No kids under 12. No pets even guide dogs!!!!

Wifi is 10$ per day. You get charged a nights rate if you check in before 12 ouch not very welcoming with all the rules. Office for check in only open 6 hours arriving after this you may lose your room ouch!!

Better places to stay where you'll feel more welcome and get more dollar for your pounds

Quiet location in Rotorua - Lots for tourists to do but again some are dear for what they offer - do your research!!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelGhirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KSeastwest, Manager at East West Studio Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2013

We acknowledge your comment that the unit you occupied was OK, thank you, on the other hand unfortunately; you have made a number of contradictory and inaccurate observations.

Firstly our family friendly holiday houses are not advertised as “luxury” or intended to portray a “wow factor.” We operate a generous refund policy & if dissatisfied, you were welcomed to move on as Rotorua offers numerous options even in the high season.

We do not accept pets however there is no policy referring to the exclusion of “guide dogs” as you incorrectly claim.

Our check in/out policy is similar to other Holiday House vacation rentals. As we are not on site at all times we require prior arrangement for early check in and later check out. Extra costs are duly imposed only by mutual arrangement.

The policy regarding unregistered guests is standard due to resource consent licencing, public liability risk and unwanted noise factors.

From April 2013 our two bedroom duplex holiday houses are no longer available for families with children under 12 years. As you were here in January (five months ago) this policy was not relevant at that time therefore you had no justifiable reason to raise it.

A wifi voucher is complimentary on arrival, however any further usage required is charged.

Regarding your “dust” issue, the unit is fully sanitised prior to your arrival, however as you have noted this problem only “while living there,” bear in mind that Rotorua is located on a volcanic & forestry plateau therefore control of sulphur and pollen particles is virtually impossible.

Finally as per our registration policy, as no issues were reported on check in inspection, during, or on departure, East West Apartments takes no responsibility of unreported issues.

East West Apartments Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

We stayed in the North Apartment for 5 nights and enjoyed our stay.

After a long day out it was nice to come home to a cosy apartment that has everything that you need. We cooked 2 meals in while staying and everything that we needed to cook was available, even down to baking paper! Pool towels were made available in our apartment as well and we were given a whole stack more towels in case we needed them.

The only comments to make would that it could be handy to have air conditioning in the main living areas to combat the Geothermal Smell that is classically Rotorua (cannot be controlled by the owners). The smell can get very bad at times and can get very overwhelming for those that are not accustomed to it. Closing the doors is the only option which closes off all ventilation.
The speakers in the main living room tv also vibrated quite loudly when you turn up the volume, just above low which made it difficult to hear the tv, but pretty minor really.

Everything was very clean on check in and the owners take pride in their accommodation and were very welcoming. Also try a swim in the pool, is it lovely and so are the sun beds.

We would stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ange B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KSeastwest, General Manager at East West Studio Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2013

Your constructive feedback is very much appreciated & thank you for taking the time. You are correct about the problem with the downstairs TV, & the TV hire company has been alerted for an immediate replacement. A shame this annoyance was not mentioned during your stay as easily be fixed by a phone call. Regards the sulphur issue, Rotorua has widely known variances in seismic & sulphuric levels beyond anyone's control, noticed by some but not all visitors. As all our larger apartments & cottages are currently on the market, a designated air conditioning system has been incorporated in the plans of our new 3 x bedroom designer townhouse project due for completion mid 2013. This high grade property will be suited for guests and children over the age of 12 years only. We are pleased that overall your stay at East West was enjoyable.

Kristin & Stuart
East West Apartments Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2013

Stayed here a few weeks ago, 4 adults, 2 children in a 3 bed cottage. It is a little dated but very clean and perfect for larger families, with a full kitchen, separate lounge area and fully enclosed outdoor area with furniture. Location is great, right by a supermarket and only short walk or drive to town.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AB27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KSeastwest, General Manager at East West Studio Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2013

Thank you for taking the trouble to make comment on your stay with us. We are pleased you enjoyed this cottage. Yes, we do advertise these cottages as older style particularly suited for families with young children. All the apartments & cottages do have newly installed kitchens and are currently on the market. Our new planned 3 x bedroom designer townhouse is projected for completion mid 2013 and will be suited to guests and children over 12 years of age.

Kristin & Stuart
East West Apartments Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2013

I was greeted at the front door and was welcomed as a long lost friend. The hosts couldn't do enough for me, booked me on to some tours and even dropped me off at the airport for free!
I stayed in the studio inhouse apartment and it was just like being at home. Clean, comfortable, with everything that I needed.
It was a great location as it's only a 5 minute walk from the shops yet it feels like you're in suburbia.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KSeastwest, General Manager at East West Studio Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2013

We sincerely appreciate your kind comments & great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We do try our best to ensure guests feel right at home while experiencing Rotorua & look forward to welcoming you again at East West.

Kristin & Stuart
East West Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2012

Clean, very spacious & comfortable apartment. Feels like home. Host was very hospitable and helpful with Rotorua attractions. 3 min drive to supermarket, very convenient. Complementary 1 hr WiFi. Highly recomended.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RickFun35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KSeastwest, Manager at East West Studio Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2013

Thank you for your review Ricky, very much appreciated. We are very pleased you and your family enjoyed our facilities and had a great stay in Rotorua and warmly welcome your return in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews