We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Family stay in Rotorua”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
East West Studio Apartments
Upper Hutt, New Zealand
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A Family stay in Rotorua”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

We booked a two room apartment which came with everything you could ever need. Toko street is a very short walk to the shops and restaurants. The owner was very helpful and friendly. If I go back to Rotorua again I will book East west Apartments again.

Room Tip: Rotorua can be very cold in the winter so if your into sun go in the New Zealand summer. The apartme...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GaryM4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KSeastwest, Manager at East West Studio Apartments, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
We very much appreciate your taking the time to comment and pleased our 2 x bedroom accommodation option & its location suited your family's needs nicely. We look forward to your staying with us again in the future.

Kristin & Stuart
East West Apartments Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    19
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
28
28
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

We decided to stay here by chance after a spur of the moment decision to visit Rotorua for an extended long weekend. What a hidden gem! We had a very comfortable 2 nights stay at their East Wing B and B suite. After being asked for any specific dietary requirements, and time for breakfast, each morning we were brought a hearty breakfast to our room. Plus the plunger coffee and green tea brewing in a tea pot was a very nice touch. (basic tea and coffee facilities are available in the room, along with toaster) It was almost like having breakfast in bed! What a delightful treat! It was great not having to think about where we were going for breakfast, and excellent value for money as part of the room tariff.
The location is excellent in terms of within walking distance to major supermarkets. Also very close to a petrol station and Briscoes. It's a short drive to the CBD for restaurants and shopping.
Our suite was clean and tastefully furnished and had very comfortable beds. Felt very much like home away from home.
Our hosts were very friendly and down to earth and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We have no hesitation in recommending the hospitality of East West Apartments, and especially the East suite, which we stayed in.

Room Tip: Best to check their website for type of accommodation to suit your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KSeastwest, Manager at East West Studio Apartments, responded to this review, 16 June 2013
Thank you for your enlightening comments, very much appreciated. We are pleased that you enjoyed a relaxing break in our B&B suite as we do strive to ensure our in house guests feel completely at home. We look forward to hosting you again in the future.

Kristin & Stuart
East West Apartments Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ipoh
Level Contributor
133 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

If you are have high expectations, then forget it. We arrived to a not very warm welcome and were provided with a set of quite specific rules that we have to duly follow. The location itself is in the suburb of rotorua which basically has the sulfur odor all around.

The cottage itself was quite rustic as compared to the pictures on agoda. Most of the electrical equipment and furnishing in the cottage itself is quite dated but functional at least. There is nothing much else to say about it except that there are better places with better value than this.

After the second day, we left and there were no thanks nor goodbye which seems to be quite rude after the inspection of the cottage.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeremy0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KSeastwest, Manager at East West Studio Apartments, responded to this review, 5 June 2013
We acknowledge the issues raised however bear in mind this guest booked into a privately owned holiday house vacation rental, operating basic safeguard house policies similar to any like establishment.

As specified in all communications office closure is 6.00 pm unless prior arranged for late key pick up. There is no problem if management is contacted prior of pending late arrival, a common courtesy we welcome; however management retains the right to reassess access to un-notified & disruptive late arrivals. As we operate a generous refund policy, no guests are obligated to stay if the accommodation does not meet expectations on arrival.

The larger cottages are depicted as functional older style independent family friendly properties and are presented as such.

Rotorua is renowned for its location on a scenic volcanic plateau therefore affected by variant natural sulphur activity levels.

As no concerns were raised at the time, East West Management takes no responsibility over belated unreported issues.

East West Apartments Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manakau, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

Travelled to Rotorua for work. Guests were my husband and myself with two teenage sons and another adult (work colleague). The cottage was very spacious and offered all the amenities we required.
Booking was easy and Kris & Stu also allowed an early check in - much appreciated as work commitments meant it would be difficult to check in later.
The rooms were well equipped and extra towels were provided for use in the spa.
Kris was great helping us with restaurant recommendations (highly recommend her suggestion of Gengys Mongolian BBQ - all you can eat).
We would love to stay at the East West again - probably in a smaller unit though as it isn't likely we will bring the work colleague with us on a family trip!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KSeastwest, Manager at East West Studio Apartments, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
Your comments are very much valued and welcome thank you! We are pleased all went well during your stay enjoying our facilities especially some good advice for your family dinner event! We look forward to hosting you in the near future. Our best wishes to you all.

Kristin & Stuart
East West Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013

I was travelling with my parents and my brother through NZ and had booked the North apartments at East West in Rotorua. The booking process was super easy and simple. After a few days after the booking was confirmed the owner of the place Kristin called and said that she would be giving us an upgrade and will put us up in the Garden Kiwi Cottage with our own private spa. That was a real surprise and a very nice gesture. When we arrived in Rotorua at east west we had a warm welcome and were shown around the place and our apartment and were also give internet access for free. The hosts are just amazing and super nice. Our stay in Rotorua was amazing and we thoroughly enjoyed staying at East West apartments. The Apartments were very clean and tidy and had all the amenities that you would need while travelling through NZ. Thank you once again for your hospitality Kristin. You were too kind :)

Room Tip: The Garden Kiwi Cottage was really good for a family of 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SheldonRodrigues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KSeastwest, Manager at East West Studio Apartments, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
Thank you for your refreshing review Sheldon, we are very pleased that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. Your high rating of our property and service is very welcome, and much appreciated thank you, We look forward to hosting you again in the future.

Kristin & Stuart Campbell Smith
East West Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2013 via mobile

We had one of the larger units while it was OK we wouldn't say it was outstanding - the furniture was basic just felt like a cheap caravan type vibe.

For the money paid over £115 a night then I'd expect posher stuff inside but it was more travel lodge than the Hilton. This was our most expensive stay and while it was tidy it was lacking that wow factor!

While the hosts get the guests to sign in - we had a look and yes it looks ok but what we're saying is the luxury was lacking for what is charged. They do state if not happy to go elsewhere well we've booked and others were booked out so we stayed.

Too many rules about cleaning but there was a fair bit of dust noticeable when you're living there. We cleaned it ourselves as we like privacy not cleaners coming in to do a job they didn't do in the first place !

Rules about the refuge and unregistered guests must leave before a set time. No kids under 12. No pets even guide dogs!!!!

Wifi is 10$ per day. You get charged a nights rate if you check in before 12 ouch not very welcoming with all the rules. Office for check in only open 6 hours arriving after this you may lose your room ouch!!

Better places to stay where you'll feel more welcome and get more dollar for your pounds

Quiet location in Rotorua - Lots for tourists to do but again some are dear for what they offer - do your research!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelGhirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KSeastwest, Manager at East West Studio Apartments, responded to this review, 2 June 2013
We acknowledge your comment that the unit you occupied was OK, thank you, on the other hand unfortunately; you have made a number of contradictory and inaccurate observations.

Firstly our family friendly holiday houses are not advertised as “luxury” or intended to portray a “wow factor.” We operate a generous refund policy & if dissatisfied, you were welcomed to move on as Rotorua offers numerous options even in the high season.

We do not accept pets however there is no policy referring to the exclusion of “guide dogs” as you incorrectly claim.

Our check in/out policy is similar to other Holiday House vacation rentals. As we are not on site at all times we require prior arrangement for early check in and later check out. Extra costs are duly imposed only by mutual arrangement.

The policy regarding unregistered guests is standard due to resource consent licencing, public liability risk and unwanted noise factors.

From April 2013 our two bedroom duplex holiday houses are no longer available for families with children under 12 years. As you were here in January (five months ago) this policy was not relevant at that time therefore you had no justifiable reason to raise it.

A wifi voucher is complimentary on arrival, however any further usage required is charged.

Regarding your “dust” issue, the unit is fully sanitised prior to your arrival, however as you have noted this problem only “while living there,” bear in mind that Rotorua is located on a volcanic & forestry plateau therefore control of sulphur and pollen particles is virtually impossible.

Finally as per our registration policy, as no issues were reported on check in inspection, during, or on departure, East West Apartments takes no responsibility of unreported issues.

East West Apartments Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2013

We stayed in the North Apartment for 5 nights and enjoyed our stay.

After a long day out it was nice to come home to a cosy apartment that has everything that you need. We cooked 2 meals in while staying and everything that we needed to cook was available, even down to baking paper! Pool towels were made available in our apartment as well and we were given a whole stack more towels in case we needed them.

The only comments to make would that it could be handy to have air conditioning in the main living areas to combat the Geothermal Smell that is classically Rotorua (cannot be controlled by the owners). The smell can get very bad at times and can get very overwhelming for those that are not accustomed to it. Closing the doors is the only option which closes off all ventilation.
The speakers in the main living room tv also vibrated quite loudly when you turn up the volume, just above low which made it difficult to hear the tv, but pretty minor really.

Everything was very clean on check in and the owners take pride in their accommodation and were very welcoming. Also try a swim in the pool, is it lovely and so are the sun beds.

We would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ange B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KSeastwest, General Manager at East West Studio Apartments, responded to this review, 4 March 2013
Your constructive feedback is very much appreciated & thank you for taking the time. You are correct about the problem with the downstairs TV, & the TV hire company has been alerted for an immediate replacement. A shame this annoyance was not mentioned during your stay as easily be fixed by a phone call. Regards the sulphur issue, Rotorua has widely known variances in seismic & sulphuric levels beyond anyone's control, noticed by some but not all visitors. As all our larger apartments & cottages are currently on the market, a designated air conditioning system has been incorporated in the plans of our new 3 x bedroom designer townhouse project due for completion mid 2013. This high grade property will be suited for guests and children over the age of 12 years only. We are pleased that overall your stay at East West was enjoyable.

Kristin & Stuart
East West Apartments Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.3 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 93 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
0.7 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
0.5 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#14 of 93 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Jet Park Hotel Rotorua
Jet Park Hotel Rotorua
#33 of 93 in Rotorua
3.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
0.6 mi away
Arista of Rotorua
Arista of Rotorua
#3 of 93 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
0.1 mi away
RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East West Studio Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East West Studio Apartments

Property: East West Studio Apartments
Address: 6 Toko Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 55 Speciality Lodging in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — East West Studio Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
UNIQUE accommodation - CENTRAL location in the HEART of Rotorua City, family owned & operated premium in house SELF CONTAINED & SERVICED studios, private bathroom, kitchenette, 2 x adult guests maximum occupancy, heated pool, off street parking, located within metres of Rotorua Central Mall, cafes, & spas & thermal wonders, and adventure activities close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your East West Studio Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing