We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not fancy but homey and comfortable.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
East West Studio Apartments
Downers Grove, IL
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Not fancy but homey and comfortable.”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We stayed at East West for three nights in March, 2014 in a two bedroom cottage although there were only the two of us. I rated East West as very good not because it was luxurious but rather because we felt so comfortable there. The owner made us feel welcome from the minute we arrived and as he showed us around it was evident how proud he was of offering a clean, well maintained and well equipped property. He gave us great tips for dining and the attractions in the area and was very courteous and immediately helpful when we made the mistake of locking our things in the safe but not knowing the combination. East West in located in a residential area so it's quiet but also it's a short walk to a shopping center with a large grocery and anything else you need. The restaurants and shopping on Tutanekai St are a nice 1/2 K walk away and offer any kind of cuisine you're looking for. Our unit had a washing machine which was very nice after 10 days of travelling and the wireless Internet was very, very good with enough bandwidth that we were able to use our iPad to Skype with our daughter back in the states.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Walter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KSeastwest, Manager at East West Studio Apartments, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Thank you Walter in taking the time for making comment. We are very pleased you found your accommodation homey rather than "fancy" as practicality while travelling is a premium. Great to hear you enjoyed your Rotorua stay with us while travelling so far across the world and you found our hospitality meeting expectations, specially rectifying the safe problem!

Best wishes
Kristin & Stuart
East West Apartments Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    19
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
28
28
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

We stayed in East West Apartments for two nights in Jan 2014 whilst on our honeymoon. We opted for a studio which was based upstairs in the main house. It was so spacious, clean, bright and comfortable and just what we were after. The studio kitchen was well equipped with modern appliances and crockery, and fridge stocked with a complimentary breakfast pack which we weren't expecting! The shower room was equally clean and bright, with a range of complimentary toiletries. The bed was just so comfortable - definitely the best of our month-long trip! Towels were provided for the shower room and additional spa towels for the outdoor, geothermally-heated swimming pool (this was also another trip highlight!). East West Apartments are conveniently located near a service station, Pak 'n' Save and Countdown supermarkets, and are only a 10 minute walk to the centre of the city, Polynesian Spa, Museum and Government Gardens. On top of this, Kristin and Stuart were the perfect hosts with so much local knowledge! We would definitely recommend East West Apartments to anyone passing through Rotorua.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fatflops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KSeastwest, Manager at East West Studio Apartments, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Thank you so much for coming all this way from across the world to experience Rotorua and New Zealand! We are very pleased that you found your accommodation choice at East West right up to expectations, and we very much enjoyed having you as our guests. Best of luck for your happy future together.

Best wishes
Kristin & Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the apartments. They were very comfortable and had everything we needed. The pool was a great temperature and we had lots of swims. We loved that there were so many sky tv channels too. A few rules were relayed on check in, but other than that we had a great time. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xoxo102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KSeastwest, Manager at East West Studio Apartments, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Thank you wholeheartedly for taking the time to comment on our property. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found our accommodation choice worked well for you. Please come again!

Warm regards
Kristin & Stuart
East West Apartments Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We stayed at East West for two days a few days ago on our way down through the North Island. We were pleasantly upgraded to a gorgeous little cottage, complete with a full kitchen, washing machine, dishwasher and even a complimentary breakfast pack. We loved the seating areas outside and the private use of the jacuzzi. There is off street parking and free Wifi. Hosts Kristin and Stuart were exceptionally friendly and helpful, especially in helping find other accommodations for our trip. We would definitely recommend staying here to anyone going to Rotorua, it's walking distance to everything and fantastic value for money. There is also a swimming pool and their lovely dog Rusty! We would stay there again without a doubt!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NinaDes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KSeastwest, Manager at East West Studio Apartments, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Hi and thank you both so much for your fabulous response. We are really happy that you enjoyed our Kiwi Cottage facilities and your stay in Rotorua especially your effort in coming all that way to visit from the other side of the world! Rusty sure misses you both too! Stuart and I do make every effort to provide accommodation to suit best particularly when we are heavily booked and an upgrade is possible. Thanks for being such great guests.

Best wishes
Kristin & Stuart
East West Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upper Hutt, New Zealand
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We booked a two room apartment which came with everything you could ever need. Toko street is a very short walk to the shops and restaurants. The owner was very helpful and friendly. If I go back to Rotorua again I will book East west Apartments again.

Room Tip: Rotorua can be very cold in the winter so if your into sun go in the New Zealand summer. The apartme...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GaryM4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KSeastwest, Manager at East West Studio Apartments, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
We very much appreciate your taking the time to comment and pleased our 2 x bedroom accommodation option & its location suited your family's needs nicely. We look forward to your staying with us again in the future.

Kristin & Stuart
East West Apartments Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

We decided to stay here by chance after a spur of the moment decision to visit Rotorua for an extended long weekend. What a hidden gem! We had a very comfortable 2 nights stay at their East Wing B and B suite. After being asked for any specific dietary requirements, and time for breakfast, each morning we were brought a hearty breakfast to our room. Plus the plunger coffee and green tea brewing in a tea pot was a very nice touch. (basic tea and coffee facilities are available in the room, along with toaster) It was almost like having breakfast in bed! What a delightful treat! It was great not having to think about where we were going for breakfast, and excellent value for money as part of the room tariff.
The location is excellent in terms of within walking distance to major supermarkets. Also very close to a petrol station and Briscoes. It's a short drive to the CBD for restaurants and shopping.
Our suite was clean and tastefully furnished and had very comfortable beds. Felt very much like home away from home.
Our hosts were very friendly and down to earth and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We have no hesitation in recommending the hospitality of East West Apartments, and especially the East suite, which we stayed in.

Room Tip: Best to check their website for type of accommodation to suit your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KSeastwest, Manager at East West Studio Apartments, responded to this review, 16 June 2013
Thank you for your enlightening comments, very much appreciated. We are pleased that you enjoyed a relaxing break in our B&B suite as we do strive to ensure our in house guests feel completely at home. We look forward to hosting you again in the future.

Kristin & Stuart
East West Apartments Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ipoh
Level Contributor
133 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

If you are have high expectations, then forget it. We arrived to a not very warm welcome and were provided with a set of quite specific rules that we have to duly follow. The location itself is in the suburb of rotorua which basically has the sulfur odor all around.

The cottage itself was quite rustic as compared to the pictures on agoda. Most of the electrical equipment and furnishing in the cottage itself is quite dated but functional at least. There is nothing much else to say about it except that there are better places with better value than this.

After the second day, we left and there were no thanks nor goodbye which seems to be quite rude after the inspection of the cottage.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeremy0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KSeastwest, Manager at East West Studio Apartments, responded to this review, 5 June 2013
We acknowledge the issues raised however bear in mind this guest booked into a privately owned holiday house vacation rental, operating basic safeguard house policies similar to any like establishment.

As specified in all communications office closure is 6.00 pm unless prior arranged for late key pick up. There is no problem if management is contacted prior of pending late arrival, a common courtesy we welcome; however management retains the right to reassess access to un-notified & disruptive late arrivals. As we operate a generous refund policy, no guests are obligated to stay if the accommodation does not meet expectations on arrival.

The larger cottages are depicted as functional older style independent family friendly properties and are presented as such.

Rotorua is renowned for its location on a scenic volcanic plateau therefore affected by variant natural sulphur activity levels.

As no concerns were raised at the time, East West Management takes no responsibility over belated unreported issues.

East West Apartments Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.3 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
0.7 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
0.5 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#15 of 92 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Jet Park Hotel Rotorua
Jet Park Hotel Rotorua
#30 of 92 in Rotorua
3.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
0.6 mi away
Arista of Rotorua
Arista of Rotorua
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
0.1 mi away
RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East West Studio Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East West Studio Apartments

Property: East West Studio Apartments
Address: 6 Toko Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 57 Speciality Lodging in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — East West Studio Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
UNIQUE accommodation - CENTRAL location in the HEART of Rotorua City, family owned & operated premium in house SELF CONTAINED & SERVICED studios, private bathroom, kitchenette, 2 x adult guests maximum occupancy, heated pool, off street parking, located within metres of Rotorua Central Mall, cafes, & spas & thermal wonders, and adventure activities close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your East West Studio Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing