We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Idyllic, Spotless & Friendly Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Blue Lake TOP 10 Holiday Park & Motel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We arrived at Blue Lake Top 10 on the 2nd June, first impressions were great, view of the lake from the reception are bliss. We were greeted with a smile and conversation by the manager. I have stayed and worked at Top 10's throughout NZ and this one comes top. Facilities are spotless, showers are free (may sound trivial but a lot are coin operated). The lady on reception was thoughtful of putting us in a quiet, sunny camping spot nearby facilities. Grounds are as immaculate as the facilities. We haven't struggled with wifi coverage like we have in other Top 10's. It's close to the city centre (though I've a feeling you'd be happy spending your days amongst the chirping birds and greenery of the camp with the lake out front) and other activities such as the Redwood Forest.

In short, you won't be disappointed staying here and it's worth every dollar.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Carl J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheryl M, Manager at Blue Lake TOP 10 Holiday Park & Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2017

Kia Ora Carl! Thanks for the great review, we're glad to hear our park is at the top of you TOP 10 list!
We hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (291)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

181 - 187 of 291 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2014

This is a wonderful spot to camp or even book one of the rooms if you need more comfort. The facilities are not just clean they are spotless. There are plenty of onsite kitchen, BBQ areas and showers to use...there is even an awesome and very soothing hot tub to hire at the cost of less than a bag of chips : ) bonus. The owners are super friendly and also hire out extra activities equipment such as Kayaks’ and trikes etc.. the price to camp out here is very reasonable and Its the only place I book out a couple of times each year when i make my visits.... I’ve been coming here for 4 years now and will continue to do so : ) The views and surrounding are stunning, and its a stone throw away from the majestic, and very crystal clear blue lake situated about 20 meters from the campsite reception desk...what more could you want?

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheryl M, Manager at Blue Lake TOP 10 Holiday Park & Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2017

What a fantastic review Adam thanks very much! :) 4 years, you're definitely a regular now!
We're glad you enjoy the park and look forward to seeing you again next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed in an unpowered camp site for one night. The location is stunning with the lake right out the front. The perfect place for a quiet get away. Great facilities and the staff were incredibly helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Littleprobie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheryl M, Manager at Blue Lake TOP 10 Holiday Park & Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2017

We're so lucky to be right on the edge of the lake in such a quiet peaceful place! We're glad you enjoyed your stay, hope to see you again soon :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Just 10 minutes drive from Rotorua (joyfully away from the pungent odour) this, well laid out, campground, set on the beautiful blue lake, was a little slice of heaven. We arrived mid afternoon in Spring and even though there was a school party on the site erecting their multitude of tents it was relatively peaceful due to the size of the park. We parked our trusty motorhome (there is plenty of tent space as well as basic accommodations available) on our well appointed site and strolled 2 minutes to the shingle beach next to the lake. The scenery is beautiful, which I know is not unusual in NZ but still noteworthy, as the lake is hugged on all sides by hilly forest.
The staff are incredibly helpful & arranged a few pickups for us for some Rotorua sightseeing (I recommend an evening at Te Puia for a great insight into Maori culture) and there are plenty of walks and watersport activities as well as great mountain bike tracks. They do hold events on the lake so I imagine it gets very busy at these times.
There is only a small shop on site so best to stock up before you arrive.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1MichelleRZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheryl M, Owner at Blue Lake TOP 10 Holiday Park & Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our Holiday Park. Our schools really enjoy coming to Blue Lake so I am pleased they didn't impact on your stay. You are right the lake can be very busy with events but it very rarely closes to swimming.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

The campground is about 10 min drive out of Rotorua beside the Blue lake. Setting is magnificent and the camp fits in without overpwering the surroundings. There are no fast foods/shops in vicinity just a small camp store. We had a basic cabin for 1 night and it was very good value for money. Clean, modern, comfortable with fridge, kettle and bottom sheets on the beds. As experienced motorhome campers we were very impressed with the well laid out pitches.

Room Tip: There are some older cabins at the front of camp with wonderful views of the lake but would be noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiwisnowbirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheryl M, Owner at Blue Lake TOP 10 Holiday Park & Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our Holiday Park. This is our first summer here and we have been unsure as to what to offer for sale in our Park Store especially as we are only 10 minutes from the city centre. The new redwood centre down the bottom on our hill offers about 3 different fast food shops.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We stayed here in the early Spring, so I don't know if it stays so peaceful through the summer, but the location and service were fantastic. The facilities were clean and easy to use, and the atmosphere was quiet and peaceful. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheryl M, Manager at Blue Lake TOP 10 Holiday Park & Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2017

Kia Ora Melissa, thanks for the great review! We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Spent a few days with my husband here between Christmas and New Years. Very busy but well spaced out to give you privacy. Particularly good if you have children. We really liked the spot by the lake but you're still only 15 minutes from downtown Rotorua.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Kiwicossie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheryl M, Manager at Blue Lake TOP 10 Holiday Park & Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2017

We're so lucky to be tucked away in nature but still close enough to town that everything is within a convenient distance! Thank you for the great review, look forward to seeing you again soon :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
5.6 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
721 reviews
5.7 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
219 reviews
4.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#19 of 92 in Rotorua
868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Rotorua Top 10 Holiday Park
5.0 mi away
All Seasons Holiday Park Rotorua
6.4 mi away
Cosy Cottage Thermal Holiday Park Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Lake TOP 10 Holiday Park & Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Lake TOP 10 Holiday Park & Motel

Address: 723 Tarawera Road, Rotorua 3076, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 58 Speciality Lodging in Rotorua
Price Range: £46 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Blue Lake TOP 10 Holiday Park & Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue Lake TOP 10 Holiday Park enjoys a picturesque setting in the renowned lakes region of the Blue and Green Lakes of Rotorua. The Park is located only 8 kms from the centre of town and provides a full range of accommodation including Qualmark rated 4 star Motels, ensuite units, cabins and Motorhome sites. Camping is available. Enjoy a TOP 10 experience in a TOP location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Blue Lake TOP 10 Holiday Park & Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing