We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just ok”
Review of Apex on Fenton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Apex on Fenton
Ranked #10 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Campbell River, . B.C.
Level Contributor
102 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Just ok”
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Booked online, looked ok. Checked in, room looked ok, Bed was fine, sheets clean. Room was clean, but dated. The bathroom is another story. Really needs t be updated, mold on walls and crevices. Toilet seat cleaned, but stained from being so old. They need ti gut the bathroom and redo it. The price was cheap, so if you want a clean bed and good sleep, then ok,. Woulld I stay again..., no.

Room Tip: This review is only for the room we stayed in, I did not see the other rooms. This is close to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ria3896
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    90
    24
    12
    5
See reviews for
112
112
11
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We ended up in Rotorua late at night after not being able to find anywhere to stay in Taupo, so just pulled into the first ok looking motel with a vacancy sign and were offered a room with a spa at a very reasonable rate. At first glance the room was a bit old & dingy, and smelt musty although very spacious, however the bed was comfy and made up with decent sheets (the first thing I checked) and the bathroom, in stark contrast to the rest of the place, was modern and clean. My husband loved the separate private spa room, and there were lots of towels provided. Would we stay there again? Probably not but it was ok.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annabel1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

The motel looked nice on the web site, but it was old and needs a complete refurbish. The owners did not have much of an idea about local attractions, so I had to find info for myself.
The room looked okay, but there was a bad leak in the ceiling vent in the toilet. When it rained I had to keep wiping it up. There was a broken powerpoint, which didn't turn off - very dangerous.
The fittings were all very old. The heater was broken, so the owners had put in a small column heater in front of it, not very adequate.
Having said that, the bed was very comfortable.
When I mentioned all of this to the owner all she said was ' very sorry'.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

I stayed here for three nights, the owner was nice enough to give me a discounted rate. The beds were clean, the spa was warm and the towels were changed daily. I didn't know where the supermarket was so the staff walked me there.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spar335
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

The room is big but not really clean, everything is old in the room. Water leaking from the ceiling in the toilet. The bedding is really old and dirty. I caught a flea on the bench in the bathroom. They changed the towels daily and also made the bed daily, so that's good. Parking just right in front of our room. Just need to clean the wall of the room cos they were all dirty and disguisting, The bedding was too old and looked very dirty, they need to be changed. The leaking roof need to be fixed. With the price we paid $120 a night, we expected something better than this in Rotorua. We stayed in somewhere cheaper than that, only $65 a night in Rotorua about a year ago, was far better and cleaner than this motel.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GraceLH123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Sure its dated the decor and it definently doesnt look 5 star however it is a reasonable price and the owners were pretty friendly.
We had fresh towels for shower ans spa and soaps and shampoo on arrival and they came and made the bed and changed the towels soaps each day. The cleaners were quiet.
The buildings could use a bit of maintance however.
I dont really believe it deserves the one stars.
If you arnt high maintance and are chilled out then this really ant that bad, if you plan to get out and about in Rotorua and not sit around at your accomodation this is fine.
The spa ok, 70s style but all good. I suggest they change the water in the spa more often though, it wasnt dirty just not clean.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JudiNZ-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

I booked for 3 nights, female owner with limited english took my details. I rung 4days prior to confirm booking and everything was ok. Turned up after a 6 hour drive with husband and 3 kids to find out they had given our unit to someone else! Luckily we found somewhere to stay for all 5 of us and on a public holiday weekend!
Absolutely terrible, families save yourself the stress and stay away!

Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank makos666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.1 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
1.1 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
0.2 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#16 of 92 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Arista of Rotorua
Arista of Rotorua
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
0.2 mi away
Arista Capri Motel
Arista Capri Motel
#6 of 92 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
0.7 mi away
RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex on Fenton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex on Fenton

Property: Apex on Fenton
Address: 325 Fenton Street | Glenholme, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex on Fenton 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apex on Fenton is central to all of Rotorua's attractions and offers comfortable, spacious accommodation for the discerning traveller. We cater for families, business travellers, SENIOR GOLD CARD DISCOUNTS AND DEALS and tourists and will be happy to assist you with any local excursions to the many attractions you may want to enjoy during your stay in Rotorua. We have plenty of Discount Vouchers to many of the attractions. FREE WIFI IS AVAILABLE IN ALL UNITS. Apex on Fenton has a selection of 14 sunny, private units, 4x Large studios "Vintage Cottages" which can sleep up to 4, 6x One Bedroom Spa Suites sleeping up to 4 and 2x Two Bedroom Spa Apartments which can sleep up to 8 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Apex on Fenton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing