We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well named”

Amazing Thai Restaurant
Ranked #39 of 269 Restaurants in Rotorua
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Reviewed 9 September 2016

We found this restaurant on our first night in Rotorua, with the help of Trip Advisor. On first entering we were a little concerned, as it was not very busy and it was a bit dated. First impressions are sometimes wrong! Service was quick and friendly. Tom Yum soup is always one of my favourites, however theirs with loads of seafood, was one the best that I have tasted, even in Thailand. For my main course I had the salmon with ginger and spices, which wass equally delicious. My wife had a beef muss man curry, which she loved. All washed down with a decent white wine and bottles of Singha. If this was local to us, we would be going there on a regular basis.

Date of visit: March 2016
Thank PATRICKDON
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (407)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

167 - 171 of 407 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2016

Went here for a quiet Sunday night dinner, and was very pleasantly surprised. Curry puffs, grilled pork and a seafood combo - all of which were excellent. Best of all was the option to have dishes spicy, and that they certainly were! Highly recommended.

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 71davew
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 August 2016

Went here with a group on a Monday night. Had the Hoy Jaw appetizer (crab meat with minced pork), very tasty. Followed with the mandarin duck. One of the best duck dishes ever tasted. Plenty of succulent duck breast meat, extremely tasty and highly recommended. Others in the group thoroughly enjoyed their meals. Excellent service by staff. Will definitely go again when back in Rotorua.

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 August 2016

Beautiful food. The service was excellent. We had the deep fried fish and also the duck with ginger and garlic. Absolutely gorgeous and loads of it.
We also had the mixed entree which was yummy.

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Louise E
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 July 2016

Having been to Thailand many times, I have high expectations about what great and real Thai food is. This visit was very disappointing. We had spring rolls and satay chicken for starters, (pretty standard food really) and it wasn't good. They were quite tasteless. For mains we had the green curry and pork and basil. The green curry tasted like something I could make from a ready made paste, but the pork and basil was nice. Overall, overpriced and over stated.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LiveLifedotcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Amazing Thai Restaurant also viewed

Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Amazing Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.