We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service in a tired setting!”

Aorangi Peak Restaurant
Ranked #166 of 229 Restaurants in Rotorua
Price range: US$22 - US$44
Cuisines: European, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, View
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: There is no other view like the one you'll experience from Aorangi Peak, the site is situated over 2,000 feet high, which is exactly 3 times higher than Sky City tower showcasing a splendid panorama of Rotorua, the spiritual home of New Zealand culture. Aorangi Peak High Land Retreat is just a 15-minute scenic drive from central Rotorua and boasts the highest viewpoint in the district. As a historical iconic location, we offer wide range of facilities for customers such as accommodation, restaurant, shops and deer park. This place will highlight your entire journey and the memories will last forever. We sincerely advise you to bring your camera along to take Rotorua home. This is where you can discover the real beauty of New Zealand has to offer in a setting beyond your imagination.
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good service in a tired setting!”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Despite the first two negative reviews, we decided to give it a go. When we arrived a courteous waiter promptly seated us. First, we noticed the magnificent view from the mountaintop which we had never seen before. It was lovely, but the mist soon started to appear.

My husband struggled reading his menu, as the menu was so old and the writing has already been rubbed off. There was only a limited selection on the menu. I noticed their wine list had many deletions. I wondered why they couldn’t be bothered to renew their list.

The quality of food was reasonable, as well as the presentation. We thought it could have been better considering the price. One thing is for sure, we won’t be going back until the place is upgraded. We went on a winter evening and it was dark. On a summery evening the view would be very special. All in all, an interesting night out with good service in a rather tired setting.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 13jul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    46
    34
    20
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury Region, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Appalling attitude!!”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We turned up with no reservation and asked if we can have a table, the guy on reception told us he would have to ask the chef as they normally only take reservations (we could clearly see 7 tables empty, and the whole time we were there only 3 tables were used!)
The man who greeted us was incredibly rude and had no personality. We turned up wearing pretty average clothes (we weren't dressed up to the nines) and we felt extremely looked down upon and out of place. To the man in the tuxedo who greeted us - you don't have to be wearing a suit and tie and a $300 handbag to have money and be able to enjoy a nice meal!!! Clearly this man should not be in front of customers!
we had garlic bread for an entree which contained barely any taste of garlic whatsoever, luckily it came with some tasty chutney! We both had fish of the day which was pan fried salmon and it was perfectly cooked and tasted great. We didn't have to wait long to get our food which was good.
Overall the man in the tuxedo greeting guests made this not a pleasant experience at all. Beautiful views of Rotorua, but I will not be back or recommending this place to anybody.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Trish M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Food was great, but....”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

The location provides a wonderful view of Lake Rotorua and at night, this is just spectacular. The restaurant itself looks like it was designed and built in the 1970’s to a faux medieval style. Upon arriving we were greeted and shown to our table right by the window, which provided a great view. However, we had to check our own coats and jackets. Interesting start. The service was prompt and reasonably courteous. We were shown the menu was brief, but covered all the main requirements. The entrees were simply delish and our choice of wine, was good. We ordered a glass, because I was driving us home and I would not recommend driving down that hill after more than two glasses of alcohol. Pretty soon after we had finished the entrée our mains came, probably a bit too soon. But, we were not complaining. The food was equally delish. The baby sitter was on the clock and we needed to get home. Soon after our mains arrived, the atmosphere changed dramatically. A bus load of Asian tourist arrived that looked like they had just got off the farm. Some of the children were in their pyjamas. They appeared not to have a reservation and made a big fuss when they could not sit wherever they wanted. We were soon provided some light entertainment by one of the children, who played the Restaurants piano. While I am no Mozart, it would be fair to say this child had the piano skills of our cat. While this was highly entertaining for the tour group, we weren’t particularly impressed. I am pretty sure our children would not just go up to a piano that did not belong to them and play it uninvited. Even though they can play, they would have never have been allowed.
We wanted to try to continue to enjoy the evening and ordered deserts. However, the slurping and chewing sounds of the guests at the other table, made this a less than enjoyable experience. Fortunately, the child from the same table had been told to stop playing piano (not without a fuss).
We finished our deserts as quickly as we could, although it would have been nice to have been offered coffee, we were good to go.
In summary, the food was delish. However, I would suggest that you go there expecting to be joined by a group of Asian tourists. If this is your thing, then just go to Chopsticks and save yourself the money. If this is not your thing, then I would recommend you go elsewhere…

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Allan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pual H, Owner at Aorangi Peak Restaurant, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
To whom it may concern

Good Day.
From the review we understand that the guest was happy with our food and service. Unfortunately that evening we had some other difficult guests. And it seems to be the person who reviewed was not happy with the other guests that we had that evening. So we feel it is unfair to the restaurant that to publish a review like this.
Could you kindly remove this review?

Best wishes
Paul He
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
336 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Good food clean tidy”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Good food clean and tidy abit noisy when full of children in hoildays in the day . The view was great on a clear day . Don't know what it is like at night but I bet the lights would be great

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Good food....great views!”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We were down for a conference in Rotorua and decided to ask around for a restaurant recommendation. Local Shell station pump attendant was most helpful!

The food was flavoursome, well presented and the waiting service was very good. Some people may have thought the sauce on the entree of garlic prawns might have been too much. But it was very tasty and well cooked.

It was a very cold night so keep in mind this is an older establishment with portable gas heaters so maybe dress with a few more layers in winter.

Main - eye fillet - well presented and a great flavour and quality of the meat.

The prices are higher end and comparable to Auckland higher end prices such as Antoines. So it was an enjoyable meal but there were probably cheaper options elsewhere. The view is great still. Day or night.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank OsteoG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Aorangi Peak Restaurant also viewed

 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Aorangi Peak Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing