We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favourite café in this part of NZ”
Review of Capers Epicurean

Capers Epicurean
Ranked #11 of 224 Restaurants in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$25
Cuisines: Healthy, Cafe, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Capers has a passion to provide our valued customers with food that is both good for your body, soul and for the planet. With our free-trade coffee beans and organic deli products, sustainability is at the top of our priorities. For over a decade, the Capers team have been making and serving wholesome foods and a great coffee and edgy T2 teas. Whether it's a catch up with friends, weekend brunch, business breakfasts, family outing, food on the go, or a dinner date - we have got you covered.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
75 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“My favourite café in this part of NZ”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

This cafe has been a favourite since my first visit nearly 10 years ago. Great service, but an even more outstanding selection of counter and menu food. Lots of variety and really tasty. I look forward to coming here every time I pass through Rotorua.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank MaryMargaretNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    385
    230
    52
    26
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Money at all costs”
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Appalling service. Not only did we wait 45 mins to be served after not being advised of any wait, we were asked on three occasions if we were waiting on food - and once asked if we wanted any more coffee (paid for of course). Not one word of, "I'll find out what's happening" and when food eventually arrived, there was no simple apology or even acknowledgement of the unacceptable delay. Someone needs to manage the kitchen to advise of delays and train wait staff on customer service

Helpful?
4 Thank WillGnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Always delicious”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

This is a busy and popular Rotorua cafe. Every time I go here with friends or family (and this has been numerous times) I have enjoyed the food and drinks I have chosen. It is a little expensive to eat from the dinner menu, but the food is yummy, and if you are eating out for a treat go ahead and enjoy. Personally I like to chose food from the chilled cabinet which is inexpensive and the choices change regularly these are then reheated. The salads at Capers are the best in town and are a favourite lunch choice. The cakes and slices, oh they are really the best, the hardest part is trying to decide which one to choose.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DonmickNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good variety”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Great place to rest and relax after a busy day exploring Rotorua. Food options include coffee, cakes, sandwiches and salads.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Angela L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotorua
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Best in Rotorua”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This is our local in Rotorua. The staff are wonderful ad Liz & Caroline deserve a special mention for their unwavering cheerfulness & organisation
The food is great esp the cabinet food which changes often. Coffee is excellent too and the range of magazines also a drawcard. We suggest all our overseas guests come here
Cheers Liz & Mike, Lake Tarawera.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lizsims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Capers Epicurean also viewed

Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Capers Epicurean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing