We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“How do you give it a half?”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Capers Epicurean

Capers Epicurean
Ranked #11 of 220 Restaurants in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$23
Cuisines: Cafe, Soups, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Capers has a passion to provide our valued customers with food that is both good for your body, soul and for the planet. With our free-trade coffee beans and organic deli products, sustainability is at the top of our priorities. For over a decade, the Capers team have been making and serving wholesome foods and a great coffee and edgy T2 teas. Whether it's a catch up with friends, weekend brunch, business breakfasts, family outing, food on the go, or a dinner date - we have got you covered.
Rotorua District, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“How do you give it a half?”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Honestly I dont know why this place is so popular, the food was horrible the bill was ridiculous (over $200 and my children are all under 12 and we had no alcohol) the service is ridiculous and the food, the food was so bad we stopped at maccas on the way home

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kirsty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    367
    223
    49
    26
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Great place for a breakfast and coffee enjoyed the vibe , clean and modern.
Eggs benedict a great choice perfectly cooked
coffee great
enjoy
would be good to see the toilet repairs completed.
toilet was blocked when I was there.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank trev w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Almost fine dining!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

I went to Capers with my family last night, and we were all highly impressed by the service provided, as well as the food. I'm not sure what our waiter's name was, but he was very attentive from the moment we walked in. We ordered the steak, Indonesian chicken, lamb rack, and macaroni cheese for my younger brother. All were superb! Definitely the best meal we've had in Rotorua, and we are already recommending others come here! We finished with cakes from the cabinet which were also good. Almost fine dining, but family friendly, and at a fantastic price!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BrittanyLane14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome for families”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

Wow, what a surprise find. Perfectly set up for adults and kids alike. A kids room with DVD and a cool fun pack for each kid. Great food for mum and dad and awesome service.

Helpful?
1 Thank Justin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotorua
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“One of my favourites”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Fresh, ever changing food, healthy. good array. beautiful taste, staff always amazingly friendly, nice decor, can feel at ease going by self, good magazines, nice fresh water, yummy salads, know quite number of discerning locals who eat there, great soy lattes, good, quick reliable service.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank janetkeenartist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Capers Epicurean also viewed

Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Capers Epicurean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing