We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Italian”

Ciccio Italian Cafe
Ranked #1 of 5 Dessert in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$22
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Two Generations of the family (La Famiglia) work and run the Cafe, bringing their expertise together for an unforgettable Italian encounter.Ciccio is fully Licensed with a wide range of beverages available including both New Zealand & Italian wines by the glass or bottle. In the winter months you can cosy up on the couch next to the fire....come summertime you choose, basking in the glorious sun alfresco or, escape to air conditioned comfort. Relaxed casual dining, great place to meet friends and family.Ciccio prides itself on serving authentic Italian food at affordable prices in a relaxed & casual environment that caters equally well for Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner, Ciccio is well known for producing magnificent Cakes & goodies so duck in for a delicious treat, or relax with a coffee, beer or glass of wine.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice Italian”
Reviewed 28 October 2011

We had lunch here, would've loved to go for dinner too but ran out of time. The meals were good sizes, very filling, service was average, cafe was very full for a lunch hour, a little expensive but worth it.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Sandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    266
    117
    31
    21
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ancaster, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Good Pizza in Rotorua NZ”
Reviewed 24 October 2011

Enjoyed this restaurant during the Rugby World Cup. Fenton is a main Street and you can park and walk (25 minutes) to Rotorua International Stadium. I had the pizza which was thin crust and quite good. They stayed open later (for lunch) because it was busy but normally close between the lunch and dinner crowd. A good option for downtown Rotorua.

CanadianHolidayGuy

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CanadianHolidayGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
78 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Excellent Lunch - Nice people”
Reviewed 7 October 2011

Went to Ciccio for lunch on a Sunday morning. Arrived at about 11:30 to find the place completely empty but we decided to eat there anyway and glad we did.
Food was very good. I had the mushrooms with bacon on Kumara Rosti cakes which was excellent. Maybe a bit light on the bacon but the muchrooms and Rosti were so flavoursome it didnt really matter.
Good size pots of tea (still teabag though - why can't cafes offer a pot of tea with tealeaves?!).
We'll be going back this coming weekend for dinner so will give you a further update then.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew_NZ120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
67 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
Reviewed 6 October 2011

We were recommended this restaurant,a short walk from our hotel.The decor was exciting, the staff very friendly and attentive.Our meals were delivered promptly , but the waitress had missed one of the orders. She quickly remedied this , with an apology and a chocolate fish. Her meal arrived quite quickly afterwards. The food was delicious, and I am a fussy Auckland foodie.We fully recommend this restaurant and commend them for quickly acknowledge their error so unprofessionally.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank loveroflife40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oztraylya
Level Contributor
263 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
“Good Food but not Italiana autentica”
Reviewed 14 June 2011

My wife and I had dinner at Ciccio tonight. Good food, but the menu did stray form Italiana Autentica.
I think that if you are goint to do that you need to make a note of it.
We had bruschetta and ciabatta with dips for primi and spahetti marinara plus another pasta dish, riggatoni with a venetian sauce for mains, all were great. Ambience was great. Service was great This restaurant has had a lot of effort put into it and we had a good tine.
I gave the young waitres a hard time over her (and her superior's) pronunciation of Bruschetta. It would appear that in New Zealand there is an epedemic. Please forgive me for the following...... Italians have a hard ‘g’ as in get and a hard ‘c’ as in cat. They also have also have a soft ‘g’ as in generally and a soft ‘c’ as in ‘ch’eque. Now for the interesting bit. There are no exceptions to this rule. The ‘c’ or ‘g’ is soft if it is followed by an ‘i’ or an ‘e’ and double ‘c’s don’t matter. So, in Ciccio the word, it is all soft ‘c’s, that is Cheecheeo. In all other cases it is hard. Therefore in ‘bruschetta’ the c is followed by an ‘h’ so it is.....and you must roll your ahrrs..... wait for it.... brrruss-ketta. Spread the word and stop the rot!

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TuckerFiend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ciccio Italian Cafe also viewed

Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Ciccio Italian Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing