We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stone Grill! Cook to your own order!”
Review of Triple 1 Five Restaurant - CLOSED

Triple 1 Five Restaurant
Price range: US$7 - US$35
Cuisines: Steakhouse, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Clemson, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
70 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Stone Grill! Cook to your own order!”
Reviewed 28 July 2013

I visited and had the mixed stonegrill which consisted of chicken, lamb, beef, and venison for $32 New Zealand dollars. The meat is brought to you on a heated stone and you cook it to your liking. This was one of the best meals in Rotorua that I had.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ClemsunTiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    46
    8
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
“Value for money and friendly staff”
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Tried their Stone-grilled Steak and was throughly pleased with it. It was $20 and very appetising. Definitely will go back again if I visit Rotorua again. Very worth it!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank 00Louis00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food, average service”
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Had an early booking at 1115 and when we arrived there were only 3 or 4 other tables occupied. There were a good number of staff on duty.

Were seated by closed window, and with fire blazing cafe was warm and cosy. Were given our menu but were not asked if we wanted drinks which we found strange. We made our choices and then waited for service. Another couple had come in after us (cafe was still no where near to full capacity though) and called out to ask us if we had ordered yet as time wad ticking by and no one had come near us. Then a man appeared at their table to take their order. I was grateful that they directed him to us as we had been waiting longer, but it shouldn't have been needed if wait staff had been on to it. He yelled out across the room to get another person to take their order. I had to ask if we could get drinks, again they weren't offered which I find astonishing and a little annoying.

Meal arrived in good time and we can't fault the quality of it. Mussel chowders and fish mains. Lovely and good portions.

It is a shame that the table sevice was so casual. I even noticed that one of the waitresses was wearing a T shirt with a big hole in the back.

The food and the service did not match up to each other.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrsGoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Landau in der Pfalz, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Stonegrill - good quality and price”
Reviewed 17 July 2013

By the recommendation of our B&B guesthouse we went to Triple 1 Five for dinner.
We both had stonegrill items : one mixed grill (chicken, lamb, beef, verizon) 32 $ and one 250g sirloin steak 32 $.
These are served raw on a hot stone, to be cooked at the table on our own. Both were joined by a potato and a salad.
Quality of all food was very good, I would go for the same again, price is justified in my eyes.
Also the service that we got was ok. and friendly.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank UlliN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“What a little gem”
Reviewed 3 July 2013

My husband and I visited Rotorua yesterday, when we came across Triple 1 Five Restaurant.
It was a very cold day and the place seemed very inviting for lunch. Really warm, lots of tables,
and the place was humming. My special of the day Chicken Teriyiaka was just beautiful. One
of the best I have had. Hubby had the Chowder and loved it. The staff were really nice and
friendly and happy to talk to us, as were the other customers. Everyone was having a great
time. I fully recommend this Restaurant, and the wonderful coffee and crepes were a perfect
finish. Thanks a lot

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jan255114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Triple 1 Five Restaurant also viewed

Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing