We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mmmmmm...mmm” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Triple 1 Five Restaurant - CLOSED

Triple 1 Five Restaurant
Price range: US$7 - US$35
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Mediterranean, Barbecue, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
2 reviews
“Mmmmmm...mmm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Just ate the eggs benny...
wasn't fast and yummy. The staff were also friendly , thanks guys keep up the good work :) i'll be back for sure.

Helpful?
Thank Jake L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    46
    8
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Rotorua, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Local Girls”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

Myself newish to Rotorua and my partner having lived here for ten years. When I first moved down she said I will take you to one of my favourite resteraunts. No wonder it is one of her favs!! Service outstanding. Atmosphere genuine as in fun friendly patrons and waiting staff. Kai beautiful hence us going to Triple 1 Five whenever we can and invite and recommend to our family and friends. Prices that do not put you into overdraft for a romantic dinner for two or if the whole family comes along :-).

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
168 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Friendly greeting, efficient service, excellent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013 via mobile

We were a group of six visiting Rotorua. We were greeted warmly and tables quickly moved to suit our numbers.
The service was attentive without being intrusive and every person who served us new exactly what we wanted and they were very courteous.
The food was well priced and equally well prepared. We will be back.

Helpful?
2 Thank swampykevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orpington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
“Great meal on our first night in Rotorua”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

We strolled through Rotorua about 7.30pm, having only arrived about 5.30pm and went into the Triple I as we could see people peacefully enjoying meals outside in the restaurant's private garden; the varied menu options suited all four of us and, best of all, there was no music playing outside - and it was only playing quietly inside (we hate pounding music which stops us talking).

We had four different meals, enjoyed them all and even though two of us ordered from the 'Lite Bites' the meals were very filling. One person had beef steak which cooks in front of you on a hot stone, so you can easily ensure it is cooked to your liking. Reasonable prices, very polite and friendly staff, cleans loos - no criticism at all. Would definitely recommend the Triple I.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank StellaCaroline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice food, shame about the service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

We stopped by Triple One Five for a late lunch after taking part in the Ekiden Relay Race. From the moment we were seated, we felt as if we had turned up at an inconvenient time. The sign outside said there was an open fire - a perfect antidote for the cold, miserable weather outside. Alas they had switched it off and didn't offer to switch it on again when I inquired about it.

Our waitress disappeared after bringing us some water and 15 minutes later we resorted to calling over another staff member who was busy sweeping and asked if he would fetch the her. Instead, he offered to take our order but I really wish he hadn't. Every time we asked for something, he repeated it back to us in a markedly derogatory, sarcastic tone. If it weren't for the fact we were hungry and other cafes were closed, we would have left at this point.

When the food came, it tasted fine and the presentation was nice but the atmosphere was so negative that we just ate quickly and left. I won't be coming back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank razorsharp2505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Triple 1 Five Restaurant also viewed

Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing