We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time disappointed”
Review of Nikau

Nikau
Ranked #56 of 227 Restaurants in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Mount Maunganui
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“First time disappointed”
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

We often stay at the Millennium hotel in Rotorua and look forward to dining in at the Nikau. This was the first time that we felt disappointed with the menu options and the meal was quite average. We started with liver pate to share but it was not the right consistency of pate and tasted bitter. Eye fillet was tough. Best part of the meal was the Triplebank Pinot Noir. We ate elsewhere for the rest of our stay.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank SharonSearle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    25
    6
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Something special!”
Reviewed 8 July 2013

At the Millennium Hotel, what a wonderful experience, unfortunately pre booked into another hotel and strolled in for a look around, fantastic amenities and amazing friendly and helpful staff.
Cyndi Childs looked after us in the restaurant, great range of food at very reasonable prices, great service! Nelson looked after us in the bar afterwards, last day in Rotorua was definitely the best after visiting Nikau.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JAKSKM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great service”
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We had two lovely meals at the Nikau restaurant. The Maitre D and his waitress Cyndi gave superb service. It was our wedding anniversary, we had flounder fish followed by hot chocolate cointreau pudding on our special day with a great Alan Scott savignan blanc wine.
Thanks for the delight

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fiona W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best restaurant of Rotorua”
Reviewed 1 June 2013

Definitely, the best in Rotorua.

We dined here and tried only the mains and Dessert. For Mains we had Lamb and Duck which was quite amazing and very well presented.

For dessert we had chocolate cake and ice-cream. The cake literally was melting in the mouth.

The service was great in the beginning but soon the place got busier and as they were short staffed the dessert took a long time to come. I should have given them a 4, but after having the dessert, I have no choice but to forgive them :)

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ManavSood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porirua, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good Food, friendly staff”
Reviewed 21 May 2013

We had 2 dinners at Nikau during the school holidays.It had special dinner on weekdays. Our friends and we all enjoyed the steak and chips on a Monday night and we tried the mussel pot later of the week.

We enjoyed our meals but if the waiting time for the food to come could be reduced that would be wonderful.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank I_love_travelling668
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nikau also viewed

 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Nikau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing