We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Filthy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Ranked #10 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Looked clean, but sit on the carpet and your jeans will be black...that's right black....it's disgusting. The lady wasn't very friendly either.....what a shame.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Treacle_tart74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RotoruaRata, Owner at Emerald Spa Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2012

Sorry that the unit you had, had something spilt on the carpet and the the situation was not handled very well by our managers - (they are no longer with us) and the carpet has been profressionally cleaned.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (435)
There are newer reviews for Emerald Spa Motor Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

388 - 394 of 435 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2012

Highly recommended motel to stay at.When we arrived Julie the owner gave us an upgrade which was a nice surprise. The room was nice and modern,spotless and a huge spa bath.The owners are very friendly hosts which adds to the enjoyment of the stay.Check it out when in Rotorua.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank skyblue7Tauranga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

This resort is a great place to stay in Rotorua. Very friendly host can't do enough for you. The rooms are very nice with a spa in the room and a pool outside. The price is not cheap but middle range and good value. The place was spotless and we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuzyRNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2012

We traveled to Emerald Spa for the first time for a weekend of speedway. The managers sectioned off parking by the pool for our 4 cars and trailers and were extremely helpful. The rooms were very clean and of a comfortable size (we stayed in the 2 bedroom unit).
The pool was nice and warm and a cover is kept on it.
Fresh milk and a goodie box is provided on arrival.
The cleaning ladies were very friendly and bought pool towels up to our room for the kids without having to ask.
Would highly recommend Emerald Spa as it is good value for money and provided a great nights sleep.

Room Tip: 2 bedroom units are great for families and they accommodate for up to 6 people.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sammie1991pn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2012

A bright smile greeted us and owners even gave us some extra ice for our G&T's. Helpful info about our interests in town. Room was generous size, clean, well equipped.
After reading 2 very negative comments, I can only assume that the owners, who I dealt with, we're gone, leaving motel in care of a replacement.
We highly recommend this motel.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scoot C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

I stayed at this hotel last weekend and will never go back. Through out my two night stay I was judged for the way I looked, followed through the hotel when arriving back at night, a friend who had dropped me back to my room was told to 'leave and not come back' and to top off this extremely unprofessional behaviour I came out of my shower in a towel to find the male owner in my room trying to 'inspect' it. I was absolutely horrified and ordered him to leave immediately. The hotel had my credit card details and were more then welcome to do an inspection on the room AFTER I had checked out if they were worried about it. I have stayed in many hotels especially in Rotorua and have never once been treated with disrespect or unprofessionally like I was treated at Emerald Spa Resort. I have made other reviews on websites which advised me to make a complaint to the Motel Association, which i did do but unfortunately this hotel does not belong to that association.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Abbi_c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RotoruaRata, Owner at Emerald Spa Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2012

Thank you for the feed back of your stay over th RAGAMUFFIN MUSIC FESTIVAL WEEKEND. As hosts, it is utmost importance to us to provide a comfortable and relaxing stay for ALL of our guests. This means we take noise complaints and concerns about unauthorised guests staying on the property very seriously. As we had a number of complaints, about loud music from vehicles parked in the courtyard, excessive amounts of alcohol being consumed along with smoking of cannabis in the courtyard outside your units. We made a decision to man the gate because of the number of youngsters visiting the concert guests. We received a number of concerns from other in-house guests about whether we were able to keep the situation and noise under control. With the number of people we turned away from entering the property between 10pm to 2.20am it was obvious to us that you planned to make our motel party central. Your partner invited us into your unit to do an inspection,we were not aware that you were in the bathroom.We are sorry your stay with us was not as you hoped it to be, I guess we are more geared toward families,and business travellers and other guest otherwise seeking an upmarket stay and it sounds like our property was not a good match for the ragamuffin music experience you were seeking.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

I was absolutly disgusted with the way my friends and I were treated upon arrival and our stay at Emerald Spa hotel. One of the first things they said to us was "I hope you children aren't going to cause any trouble" instead of 'welcome to our motel' and apart from the fact we are all well into our 20's. We were basically stalked the 2 days we stayed there ranging from the owner looking out the blinds at us or just generally always there when you turned around. I found this extremely uncomfortable as i am not used to being made to feel like a criminal. SO if your thinking of staying at the emerald spa you should probally reconsider if you are : Under 30, White, Maori, Pacific Island or Have any tattoos and want to have a good time.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank celia_att
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.8 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
717 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#17 of 92 in Rotorua
857 reviews
0.2 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
206 reviews
1.2 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
0.8 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emerald Spa Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emerald Spa Motor Inn

Address: 286 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#9 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#11 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#11 Business Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range: £62 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Emerald Spa Motor Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Rotorua's newest 5 star Motels providing "luxury" accommodation with an outdoor heated swimming pool, BBQ facilities and small gym. 28 luxurious suites; studio, one and two bedroom all air-conditioned with large spas, 50+ Sky TV channels, Free WiFi, King size beds, hush glass and self catering kitchenettes. Ideal for families, couples and business travellers. Only 0.5 km from the excitement of the city, this 5-star motel has an excellent location for restaurants, golf course, racecourse, conference centre and thermal attractions. Offering superior services Emerald Spa Motor Inn is committed to ensuring that your stay is comfortable, relaxing and enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Emerald Spa Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emerald Hotel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing