We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value in Rotorua”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Ranked #14 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Arlington, VA
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Good value in Rotorua”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

I stayed here with my husband for our two nights in Rotorua. I chose this hotel because it seemed to be the best value for a hotel in that area that had air conditioning, and the spa tub in the room was a bonus. Overall, we had a very good experience here.

When we arrived, we were greeted by a friendly woman (I think her name was Julie) and taken to our room. We received a welcome basket with some snacks, which we enjoyed throughout our stay. This was a nice touch. I did read some of the negative reviews on this website, and I found it hard to believe that people would complain about the staff here, based on our experience. We got friendly service and felt quite welcome. We had some heavy rain during our stay and without a cell phone, we were concerned our blackwater rafting trip might be cancelled. Julie called the company several times to check on this for us and was very helpful. Luckily, this trip wasn't cancelled as it was our favorite day of the trip.

We got a standard king room, which was located on the ground floor. The hotel is located on the main strip, in the "smelly" area of Rotorua (sulfer). But once in our room, there was no smell. So this wasn't a problem at all during our stay. The room was a small, but it was clean and we had everything we needed. I loved the large spa tub and how the TV was able to turn to face the bed or the tub. The TV got a large number of channels, and we enjoyed several movies on the movie channels during our stay. The air conditioning kept the room cool, and the bed was comfortable. It was also nice to have a small kitchenette to keep drinks and snacks during our stay.

The only issue we had was minor. One night when we returned, there were only two small parking spaces in the back of the parking lot, and another guest's trailer made it difficult to maneuver our car into the spaces behind it. So we had a little trouble, and it took us about 15 minutes to get our car in, but we did get in. It did seem like there were enough spaces for the rooms, so this is probably not a common problem. But it's possible it would be an issue for people travelling in larger vehicles.

Overall, we had a very comfortable stay at the Emerald Spa Motor Inn and I found the value to be good for the amenities we received.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VAgirl505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RotoruaRata, Owner at Emerald Spa Motor Inn, responded to this review, 21 May 2012
Thank you for your feed back we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Hopefully we will see you again. Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    245
    98
    24
    3
    10
See reviews for
88
220
10
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tauranga
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

Looked clean, but sit on the carpet and your jeans will be black...that's right black....it's disgusting. The lady wasn't very friendly either.....what a shame.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Treacle_tart74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RotoruaRata, Owner at Emerald Spa Motor Inn, responded to this review, 21 May 2012
Sorry that the unit you had, had something spilt on the carpet and the the situation was not handled very well by our managers - (they are no longer with us) and the carpet has been profressionally cleaned.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

Highly recommended motel to stay at.When we arrived Julie the owner gave us an upgrade which was a nice surprise. The room was nice and modern,spotless and a huge spa bath.The owners are very friendly hosts which adds to the enjoyment of the stay.Check it out when in Rotorua.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank skyblue7Tauranga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gisborne, New Zealand
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

This resort is a great place to stay in Rotorua. Very friendly host can't do enough for you. The rooms are very nice with a spa in the room and a pool outside. The price is not cheap but middle range and good value. The place was spotless and we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzyRNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmerston North
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2012

We traveled to Emerald Spa for the first time for a weekend of speedway. The managers sectioned off parking by the pool for our 4 cars and trailers and were extremely helpful. The rooms were very clean and of a comfortable size (we stayed in the 2 bedroom unit).
The pool was nice and warm and a cover is kept on it.
Fresh milk and a goodie box is provided on arrival.
The cleaning ladies were very friendly and bought pool towels up to our room for the kids without having to ask.
Would highly recommend Emerald Spa as it is good value for money and provided a great nights sleep.

Room Tip: 2 bedroom units are great for families and they accommodate for up to 6 people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sammie1991pn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loveland, Colorado
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

A bright smile greeted us and owners even gave us some extra ice for our G&T's. Helpful info about our interests in town. Room was generous size, clean, well equipped.
After reading 2 very negative comments, I can only assume that the owners, who I dealt with, we're gone, leaving motel in care of a replacement.
We highly recommend this motel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scoot C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Shore, Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

I stayed at this hotel last weekend and will never go back. Through out my two night stay I was judged for the way I looked, followed through the hotel when arriving back at night, a friend who had dropped me back to my room was told to 'leave and not come back' and to top off this extremely unprofessional behaviour I came out of my shower in a towel to find the male owner in my room trying to 'inspect' it. I was absolutely horrified and ordered him to leave immediately. The hotel had my credit card details and were more then welcome to do an inspection on the room AFTER I had checked out if they were worried about it. I have stayed in many hotels especially in Rotorua and have never once been treated with disrespect or unprofessionally like I was treated at Emerald Spa Resort. I have made other reviews on websites which advised me to make a complaint to the Motel Association, which i did do but unfortunately this hotel does not belong to that association.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Abbi_c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RotoruaRata, Owner at Emerald Spa Motor Inn, responded to this review, 21 May 2012
Thank you for the feed back of your stay over th RAGAMUFFIN MUSIC FESTIVAL WEEKEND. As hosts, it is utmost importance to us to provide a comfortable and relaxing stay for ALL of our guests. This means we take noise complaints and concerns about unauthorised guests staying on the property very seriously. As we had a number of complaints, about loud music from vehicles parked in the courtyard, excessive amounts of alcohol being consumed along with smoking of cannabis in the courtyard outside your units. We made a decision to man the gate because of the number of youngsters visiting the concert guests. We received a number of concerns from other in-house guests about whether we were able to keep the situation and noise under control. With the number of people we turned away from entering the property between 10pm to 2.20am it was obvious to us that you planned to make our motel party central. Your partner invited us into your unit to do an inspection,we were not aware that you were in the bathroom.We are sorry your stay with us was not as you hoped it to be, I guess we are more geared toward families,and business travellers and other guest otherwise seeking an upmarket stay and it sounds like our property was not a good match for the ragamuffin music experience you were seeking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.2 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
0.8 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 93 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#18 of 93 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
0.4 mi away
Regal Palms 5 Star City Resort
0.1 mi away
Arista of Rotorua
Arista of Rotorua
#3 of 93 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emerald Spa Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emerald Spa Motor Inn

Property: Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Address: 286 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#11 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#11 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#12 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Emerald Spa Motor Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Rotorua's newest 5 star Motels providing "luxury" accommodation with an outdoor heated swimming pool, BBQ facilities and small gym. 28 luxurious suites; studio, one and two bedroom all air-conditioned with large spas, 50+ Sky TV channels, Free WiFi, King size beds, hush glass and self catering kitchenettes. Ideal for families, couples and business travellers. Only 0.5 km from the excitement of the city, this 5-star motel has an excellent location for restaurants, golf course, racecourse, conference centre and thermal attractions. Offering superior services Emerald Spa Motor Inn is committed to ensuring that your stay is comfortable, relaxing and enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Emerald Spa Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emerald Hotel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing