We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We would come back to stay here again!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Emerald Spa Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Ranked #13 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“We would come back to stay here again!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2013

Stayed for two nights recently as a pit stop before our trip down to Wellington. Out of all the places we have stayed around the North Island this month, we would rate Emerald Spa Resort the best place!! The hosts were very accommodating and helpful. The free carparks downstairs is great and the room itself was large, spacious and very clean. The semi equipped kitchen made things easier for us especially if you are the type that wants midnight snacks etc and having a fridge, kettle and toaster really help! In addition, having the spa in the room was great; you can watch tv while relaxing; however as soon as you turn on the spa it was very noisy and there were moments where my partner and I felt a bit awkward turning it on incase our neighbours might get annoyed at how noisy it was (now we can understand why you don't allow the spa to be used after 10.30PM)! I think if you can get this sorted it would really make the experience even better! Overall, great place to stay and we would recommend to others. The location was very close to city centre and local attractions as well.

Room Tip: Upstairs room might be helpful for summer time as I imagine downstairs could get a bit stuffy? Howev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RotoruaRata, Manager at Emerald Spa Motor Inn, responded to this review, 17 February 2013
Thank you for your great review. we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We will look in to the noise of the spa baths, we appreciate all feed back. Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    244
    96
    23
    3
    9
See reviews for
87
216
10
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2013

The Emerald Spa Motel definitely rates 5 star. I have stayed in many motels and this sits right at the top of the list. It's about 1km easy walk into town and there ar eplenty of bars,restaurants close by.
Incredibly the price for such a quality establishment is well within an expected range and the new managers are very pleasant and will do anything to assist. Also has free broadband and rather than wait until we asked, they asked if we needed it.
Units are cleaned daily and they wait until you are ready.
As I've said everything exudes quality at the Emerald Spa Resort

Room Tip: Any room is fine. We usually like upstairs but were more than happy with ground floor as all rooms a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RotoruaRata, Manager at Emerald Spa Motor Inn, responded to this review, 3 February 2013
Thank you very much for such a lovley review and positive feed back. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, it was our pleasure. Hope to see you again one day. Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

This Motel is to a excellent standard!!!!
We stayed 3 nights in Rotorua and had an amazing time, the motel was extremely clean and the spa bath was luxury.
We recommend staying here as it's a great location with excellent customer service, making us feel very welcoming on our arrival!
Highly recommend staying here!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank redhotrockchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RotoruaRata, Manager at Emerald Spa Motor Inn, responded to this review, 24 January 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and in Rotorua.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2013

Beautifully appointed motel - wonderful hosts - great spars in every room! Swimming pool and gym. Handy to excellent restaurants and golf courses. Would absolutely stay again on our next trip to Rotorua.

Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Trish L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RotoruaRata, Owner at Emerald Spa Motor Inn, responded to this review, 8 January 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to post such a lovely review. We appreciate the feed back. I hope the golf was good too!! Nothing nicer than to have spa bath or a swim after a game of golf.
Thank you once again, and have a great 2013
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
Level Contributor
33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2013

We booked two rooms here for six nights in January 2013 for a family group of eight. The motel is modern, clean, and quiet. The rooms are clean and comfortable with all the required facilities. The pool is a good size and the water is very warm - excellent to spend time there after a busy day sightseeing. The motel is on the main street, about 10-15 minutes' walk from the main shopping centre. We will definitely stay here the next time we're in Rotorua.

Room Tip: Ask for room 28. This is a two-bedroom unit at the front of the motel overlooking the pool and stre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwiViajero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RotoruaRata, Owner at Emerald Spa Motor Inn, responded to this review, 7 January 2013
Thank you very much for the lovely review on Emerald Spa Motor Inn. We are very pleased that the family enjoyed the stay with us. Have a great 2013
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Feilding
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed this very clean, neat and modern motel rooms. Had a special on for the night 175 dollars a night. Huge spa bath in bathroom, which was a bit small for it. Kitchen was so well equiped, beds were huge and comfy. Hostess was so welcoming and kind. We swam in the pool at eight at night, it was perfect. overall a great experience.

Room Tip: depends on what you need, we had a downstairs one, was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KayTimIndigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RotoruaRata, Owner at Emerald Spa Motor Inn, responded to this review, 8 January 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post such a lovely review. It is always good to get nice positive feed back. It was lovely having you stay with us and we hope to see you again.
Have a great 2013
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2013

We stayed just a single night here last month. We found the owners to be very helpful in pointing us in the right direction on what tourist attractions were best to see.

The rooms were very clean, and plenty of parking was provided onsite. There are many motels on the same street most quite dated, but this one looked like the pick of the bunch. There was a swimming pool, gym and laundry on site as well, although we didn't use them.

Great value overall.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AussieTraveller1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RotoruaRata, Owner at Emerald Spa Motor Inn, responded to this review, 7 January 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. We really appreciate the feed back.
Hope you have a great 2013
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.2 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
0.8 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 93 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
1.2 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#20 of 93 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
1.7 mi away
Cleveland Thermal Motel
Cleveland Thermal Motel
#11 of 93 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
0.1 mi away
Arista of Rotorua
Arista of Rotorua
#3 of 93 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emerald Spa Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emerald Spa Motor Inn

Property: Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Address: 286 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#11 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#11 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#12 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Emerald Spa Motor Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Rotorua's newest 5 star Motels providing "luxury" accommodation with an outdoor heated swimming pool, BBQ facilities and small gym. 28 luxurious suites; studio, one and two bedroom all air-conditioned with large spas, 50+ Sky TV channels, Free WiFi, King size beds, hush glass and self catering kitchenettes. Ideal for families, couples and business travellers. Only 0.5 km from the excitement of the city, this 5-star motel has an excellent location for restaurants, golf course, racecourse, conference centre and thermal attractions. Offering superior services Emerald Spa Motor Inn is committed to ensuring that your stay is comfortable, relaxing and enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Emerald Spa Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emerald Hotel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing