We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value and great service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Ranked #14 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington
Level Contributor
89 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good value and great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2013

The Emerald Spa Resort is centrally located, reasonably priced, very clean, quiet, good facilities, nice pool, amazing spa bath, gets good sun, and has very friendly and helpful service - highly recommend.

Room Tip: If you want to sit in the balcony in the sun, ask for one of the back rooms - good balcony for G&...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NZGirl69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RotoruaRata, Manager at Emerald Spa Motor Inn, responded to this review, 5 March 2013
Thank you for your great review. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and especialy the G & T's on the balcony in the sunshine. Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    245
    98
    24
    3
    10
See reviews for
88
220
10
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2013

Stayed there recently on the way down the North Island. Very nice place, good facilities and the staff were very friendly. Also well located for the city centre. Had a great massage there to wind down from all the travelling. Would thoroughly recommend this place (and the massages).

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank apb761
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RotoruaRata, Manager at Emerald Spa Motor Inn, responded to this review, 2 March 2013
Thank you for your review. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay and had time to also enjoy a lovely relaxing massage. Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

We spent 3 nights at the Emerald Spa Resort in early February 2013 whilst touring around the North island of NZ.

We were most impressed with the location, excellent facilities, attentive and approachable management and staff - what more could one ask for.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boondie_oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RotoruaRata, Manager at Emerald Spa Motor Inn, responded to this review, 28 February 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Emerald Spa, we are really pleased you had a great time. Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
55 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2013

We have just returned from a short stay in Rotorua and glad we picked Emerald Spa Resort. The rooms were clean & tidy and having a spa bath beside the bed was fabulous. Selecting a motel on the main street (Fenton St) I thought would be really noisy, but we were surprised how quiet it was. The hosts were very helpful & friendly and we would definitely stay here again. We would highly recommend this motel to all.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kayno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RotoruaRata, Owner at Emerald Spa Motor Inn, responded to this review, 19 February 2013
Thank you very much for the fantastic feed back we really appreciate it.
Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2013

Stayed for two nights recently as a pit stop before our trip down to Wellington. Out of all the places we have stayed around the North Island this month, we would rate Emerald Spa Resort the best place!! The hosts were very accommodating and helpful. The free carparks downstairs is great and the room itself was large, spacious and very clean. The semi equipped kitchen made things easier for us especially if you are the type that wants midnight snacks etc and having a fridge, kettle and toaster really help! In addition, having the spa in the room was great; you can watch tv while relaxing; however as soon as you turn on the spa it was very noisy and there were moments where my partner and I felt a bit awkward turning it on incase our neighbours might get annoyed at how noisy it was (now we can understand why you don't allow the spa to be used after 10.30PM)! I think if you can get this sorted it would really make the experience even better! Overall, great place to stay and we would recommend to others. The location was very close to city centre and local attractions as well.

Room Tip: Upstairs room might be helpful for summer time as I imagine downstairs could get a bit stuffy? Howev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RotoruaRata, Manager at Emerald Spa Motor Inn, responded to this review, 17 February 2013
Thank you for your great review. we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We will look in to the noise of the spa baths, we appreciate all feed back. Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2013

The Emerald Spa Motel definitely rates 5 star. I have stayed in many motels and this sits right at the top of the list. It's about 1km easy walk into town and there ar eplenty of bars,restaurants close by.
Incredibly the price for such a quality establishment is well within an expected range and the new managers are very pleasant and will do anything to assist. Also has free broadband and rather than wait until we asked, they asked if we needed it.
Units are cleaned daily and they wait until you are ready.
As I've said everything exudes quality at the Emerald Spa Resort

Room Tip: Any room is fine. We usually like upstairs but were more than happy with ground floor as all rooms a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RotoruaRata, Manager at Emerald Spa Motor Inn, responded to this review, 3 February 2013
Thank you very much for such a lovley review and positive feed back. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, it was our pleasure. Hope to see you again one day. Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

This Motel is to a excellent standard!!!!
We stayed 3 nights in Rotorua and had an amazing time, the motel was extremely clean and the spa bath was luxury.
We recommend staying here as it's a great location with excellent customer service, making us feel very welcoming on our arrival!
Highly recommend staying here!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redhotrockchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RotoruaRata, Manager at Emerald Spa Motor Inn, responded to this review, 24 January 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and in Rotorua.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.2 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
0.8 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 93 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#18 of 93 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
0.4 mi away
Regal Palms 5 Star City Resort
0.1 mi away
Arista of Rotorua
Arista of Rotorua
#3 of 93 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emerald Spa Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emerald Spa Motor Inn

Property: Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Address: 286 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#11 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#11 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#12 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Emerald Spa Motor Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Rotorua's newest 5 star Motels providing "luxury" accommodation with an outdoor heated swimming pool, BBQ facilities and small gym. 28 luxurious suites; studio, one and two bedroom all air-conditioned with large spas, 50+ Sky TV channels, Free WiFi, King size beds, hush glass and self catering kitchenettes. Ideal for families, couples and business travellers. Only 0.5 km from the excitement of the city, this 5-star motel has an excellent location for restaurants, golf course, racecourse, conference centre and thermal attractions. Offering superior services Emerald Spa Motor Inn is committed to ensuring that your stay is comfortable, relaxing and enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Emerald Spa Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emerald Hotel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing