We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dont go to the pics on website” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Emerald Spa Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Ranked #14 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Dont go to the pics on website”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

Lights were so dim
Spa z next to bed which has no curtain or door n the jetts are too strong that the water was going on carpet due to that i didnt take spa. Air con/Heater z on the cupboard which took alot of tym to warm d room
Couldnt even cook food cz the hobs are at wrong place below d cupboard
Bed wasnt comfortable got backpain other day
Seriously 145$p/n z worthless

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jasminejag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    244
    97
    23
    3
    9
See reviews for
87
217
10
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wanganui, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

Excellent accomodation in an excellent location in Rotorua, walking distance to racecourse where we attended a function.
On arrival the proprieter was friendly and helpful and made us feel very welcome.
Heated pool are outside so great for families with kids.
Large rooms which were well appointed and decorated.
Had a heat pump which heated the room quickly and kept it warm all evening
A lovely spa bath to relax after a long day.

We would definately visit again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jevada h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RotoruaRata, Manager at Emerald Spa Motor Inn, responded to this review, 13 June 2013
Thank you for your lovley review. We are realy pleased you had a great weekend and found it nice and handy to attend your function. Thank you for staying with us and hope to see you again.
Best Wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2013

A lovely glass of wine, few nibbles and the loan of a forgotten iphone charger made an immediate impact. Owners on site were delightful. The rooms are well-appointed and spotless. I didn't get time to use the spa bath but If I go back I will.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NancyMnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RotoruaRata, Manager at Emerald Spa Motor Inn, responded to this review, 13 June 2013
Thank you for your delightful review, we are so pleased you felt at home and look forward to seeing you again, hope you have time to enjoy our lovely big spa baths next time. Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

booked this motel at the last minute due to bad reviews at the place I was meant to stay at - so glad I changed. I could not fault this motel or the owners/managers - it was fantastic and so very clean!!!! Loved the spa bath in the room, loved that the rooms were so warm and free wifi was a bonus.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KLW12_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RotoruaRata, Manager at Emerald Spa Motor Inn, responded to this review, 6 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to wirite such a great review. We are so pleased you had an awsome time with us and were nice and warm.Look forward to seeing you again. Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

We selected this hotel for a one night stay based on all the good Trip Advisor reviews and once again we were not disappointed. Our room was VERY clean and modern. Lots of tea and instant coffee. Heater was easy to use and kept us warm on a chilly evening in late May. Best of all, very close to downtown and also the thermal events we wanted to tour. While we didn't use the big spa, we really enjoyed the shower with plenty of lot water and good shower speed. The continental breakfast was included and given food prices in New Zealand, that was really a nice plus. Owners provided good tips on touring, maps, discount coupons, etc. There were so many places to choose from in Rotorua, I was glad we went with Emerald Spa Resort based on TA reviews.

Room Tip: We asked for a room on the second floor based on personal preference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rose h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RotoruaRata, Manager at Emerald Spa Motor Inn, responded to this review, 6 June 2013
Thank you for your super review. So pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and everything was perfect for you. Clean, lots of tea/coffee, nice warm room and a great shower all very important on a cold winters day. Look out for more Hot Deals" during the winter months ahead. Hope to see you again. Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

Beautiful, modern and clean! The owners were so lovely and helpful, supplying us with an area map and complementary goody basket :) yum! On the main road so nice and central to town but far enough south to avoid the noise and hustle bustle. The in room spa was amazing!!! Such a great way to finish off the day, watching sky movies whilst relaxing in the spa!! Overall a great place to stay the only downfall - if I had to mention one - would be that our room was one in a row of many upstairs accessed by a balcony walkway so everyone who also had an upstairs room had to closely walk past ours to get to theirs! we just kept our curtains closed :)

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arow030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RotoruaRata, Manager at Emerald Spa Motor Inn, responded to this review, 28 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and the goodie basket on arrival also the nice big spa baths. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2013

We did a last minute booking and were due to show up in Rotorua after 11pm. The lovely team at Emerald arranged for our room to be open and ready, they even put the heater on for us as it was a cold night. We arrived to a warm and cosy room. The rest of the stay was great. Our breakfast delivered each morning was yum and the room was very clean. The owners had great knowledge of the town and have great advice on free activities and places to eat. We highly recommend staying here if you love great quality service and rooms at great prices. Thank you for a wonderful weekend.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaudiaJHunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RotoruaRata, Manager at Emerald Spa Motor Inn, responded to this review, 28 May 2013
Thank you for your great review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and had a lovely time exploring Rotorua. Nothing nicer than going in to a nice warm room in the winter, especially with the snow not far away. Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.2 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
0.8 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 93 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#20 of 93 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
1.7 mi away
Cleveland Thermal Motel
Cleveland Thermal Motel
#11 of 93 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
0.4 mi away
Regal Palms 5 Star City Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emerald Spa Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emerald Spa Motor Inn

Property: Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Address: 286 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#11 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#11 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#12 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Emerald Spa Motor Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Rotorua's newest 5 star Motels providing "luxury" accommodation with an outdoor heated swimming pool, BBQ facilities and small gym. 28 luxurious suites; studio, one and two bedroom all air-conditioned with large spas, 50+ Sky TV channels, Free WiFi, King size beds, hush glass and self catering kitchenettes. Ideal for families, couples and business travellers. Only 0.5 km from the excitement of the city, this 5-star motel has an excellent location for restaurants, golf course, racecourse, conference centre and thermal attractions. Offering superior services Emerald Spa Motor Inn is committed to ensuring that your stay is comfortable, relaxing and enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Emerald Spa Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emerald Hotel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing