We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly recommend ” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Emerald Spa Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Ranked #14 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Morrinsville, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Highly recommend ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

We found this a great place to stay. A lovely in built spa and external pool. The room had good cooking facilities and was very clean and tidy. The team were excellent, Colin and June (I think) were great. So would highly recommend. Good proximity to amenities. They also stored the mountain bikes for us.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RotoruaRata, Owner at Emerald Spa Motor Inn, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Thank you for the great review. We really appreciate the feed back. Rotorua has so much to offer and the bike tracks adds to all the attractions. It's our pleasure to store the bikes safely as we understand the value of them.
We hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards
Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    244
    97
    23
    3
    9
See reviews for
87
217
10
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed at Emerald Spa for 2 nights. The rooms were great and good value for money. Very clean, well equipped and spacious. The spa bath was a bonus. Julie was very helpful in advising on places to visit plus she also provided us with discount vouchers.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Bulleen Chicks L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RotoruaRata, Manager at Emerald Spa Motor Inn, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Thank you for your lovely feed back it is our pleasure to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. So pleased you had a great time. Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

We visited Rotorua in January and had a wonderful stay at Emerald Spa Resort. The owners of this resort are extremely welcoming.Rooms are neat & clean and up to the mark. We would definitely recommend this place to our friends.Simply perfect and worth the price!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank rkatu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RotoruaRata, Manager at Emerald Spa Motor Inn, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Thank you so much for the fantastic review. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and everything was just right for you. Best wishes. Marlene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

Me and my boyfriend stayed at this motel for 2 nights during our quick fire stay at Rotorua. The staff were extremely friendly and welcoming. The rooms are lovely and contain a large jacuzzi bath which was noisy but very comfortable. The motel is situated a little away from Rotorua town centre however is only a 2minute drive so not an issue if you have a car. There is lots of parking available and an outside pool, however we did not use this facility as it was raining during our stay. The hotel provides free wifi as an added bonus and basic kitchen amenities if you feel like staying in for dinner. I would definitely recommend this motel to others, we had a very relaxing stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RotoruaRata, Manager at Emerald Spa Motor Inn, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Thank you for writing a review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and had a nice relaxing time. Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmerston north
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014 via mobile

Happy with our choice of motel, clean, comfortable, nice decor and spa, very helpful hosts. Son enjoyed the pool, a little distance from town, lakes and tourist attractions, but fine if you have a car. Good car parking outside unit. I would try a top floor unit next time, probably a bit more private. Thank you

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank SandSPalmerstonnorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belo Horizonte
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

This motel was nice and the staff were very friendly and helpful. We stayed for 2 pleasant nights. The room was decent, but not the best, however, there was a huge hot tub/jacuzzi. There was a decent amount of parking available.
Probably the biggest negative is the location. It is too far to comfortably walk to town meaning either a taxi or driving.
Although there is nothing that the motel can do about it, my wife found the sulphurous smell unpleasant (I suppose part of the Rotorua experience). I, on the other hand, hardly smelt anything at the motel and inside the room it wasn't a major problem for my wife.
Even though I wouldn't say this was the greatest place I've stayed, it wasn't bad either. I would consider staying again but might choose a more central location first.

Room Tip: Maybe, a first floor is better than ground floor as a bit more private
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slatBH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
255 reviews
189 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

Reception/Manager lady was very friendly and offered me a nice cold beer on arrival along with some other treats to eat. Rooms where quiet, with no street noise. Room was clean and tidy with new and modern furnishings. Shower had good water pressure. Would stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cameron4611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RotoruaRata, Manager at Emerald Spa Motor Inn, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Thank's very much Cameron for the lovely review, we appreciate you taking the time to do this.
We try to make the stay enjoyable for people that are on the road travelling for business.
Hope we see you on your next trip to Rotorua.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.2 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
0.8 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 93 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#20 of 93 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
1.7 mi away
Cleveland Thermal Motel
Cleveland Thermal Motel
#11 of 93 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
0.4 mi away
Regal Palms 5 Star City Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emerald Spa Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emerald Spa Motor Inn

Property: Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Address: 286 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#11 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#11 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#12 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Emerald Spa Motor Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Rotorua's newest 5 star Motels providing "luxury" accommodation with an outdoor heated swimming pool, BBQ facilities and small gym. 28 luxurious suites; studio, one and two bedroom all air-conditioned with large spas, 50+ Sky TV channels, Free WiFi, King size beds, hush glass and self catering kitchenettes. Ideal for families, couples and business travellers. Only 0.5 km from the excitement of the city, this 5-star motel has an excellent location for restaurants, golf course, racecourse, conference centre and thermal attractions. Offering superior services Emerald Spa Motor Inn is committed to ensuring that your stay is comfortable, relaxing and enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Emerald Spa Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emerald Hotel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing