We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Run in with a rude cleaner” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Emerald Spa Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Ranked #14 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Run in with a rude cleaner”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

We arrived late afternoon and wanted a place to stay for 3 nights, it was a busy time and the manager was lovely and found us a room for 1 night then we needed to move to another room for the last 2 nights.

All was going well until we wanted to move, into our new room, it was early but we were advised the cleaners started at 7.30-am and our new room would be the first to be cleaned. By 9.15am this was not quite done so we asked if we could just pop our bags in the couch of the new room so we could go out and meet our friends at 9.30am, we were told by the cleaners yes no problem, but ....... Then a very unpleasant woman came over and told us to remove the bags now as the room had to be cleaned and they weren't allowed in there, she was very rude and confrontational.

So we put all the bags in the car and checked out. We did not want to stay after being treated like this.

So we decided to spend $200 a night in another hotel just down the road where there were no up issues at all.

Not a great impression for staff to leave on guests.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LaboneWGTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RotoruaRata, Manager at Emerald Spa Motor Inn, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
We at Emerald Spa Motor Inn are really disappointed in the ratings you have afforded us. And, they do not reflect what the majority of guests have to say. In this instance it would seem that your perception of one person's demeanour ruled out everything else.

We did do our best to accommodate you and I understand an alternative for leaving your luggage was offered not only by the housekeeping staff but also at reception. It was only after your decision to leave that you explained you had an early appointment.

Our Housekeeper starts work at 8.00am, but is often in earlier, the cleaning staff start work at 9.00am. We did tell you your room would be cleaned first. It was started as soon as the cleaning staff arrived but we would not have expected to have had your room ready before 10am so your expectation of being able to Check In to your room at 9.15am is, in any accommodation provider's book, extremely unreasonable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    244
    97
    23
    3
    9
See reviews for
87
217
10
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Situated on the fringes of the city, this motor inn is slightly away from the main city, which is a problem if you don't have a vehicle ... however, if you DIDN'T have a vehicle, why on earth would you be staying in a motor inn?

As such, the location was perfect ... just slightly out of town, which means that the noise is kept to a minimum!

The staff were very friendly, and the only problem was that on the first night, something didn't work with the hot water, and we got lukewarm water instead. However, the owners quickly fixed the problems and order was restored!

The rooms were small, but very comfortable. They splurged on the extensive cable TV, which meant that rainy days and lazy nights were accompanied by relatively good TV (depending on your definition of good TV).

The free Wi-Fi was great and it's nice to see smaller outfits giving free Wi-Fi when larger hotel chains still charge for it ... shame on them!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank krebs1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RotoruaRata, Manager at Emerald Spa Motor Inn, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Problems such as no hot water are a major in this business, and we are always grateful for guests understanding and patience while these issues are rectified, really pleased that you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
69 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Good location, nice clean room, friendly staff. We enjoyed our stay here and our short Easter weekend break in Rotorua. Called beforehand to see if ok to leave our bags with reception in case our room was not available when we arrived and that was not a problem. Then when we did arrive, our room was ready! Room was quiet, no street noise. Was a little surprised our bedroom had no window, so no natural light, but otherwise room suited our needs (one bedroom for 3 people)

Room Tip: would ask if can have room with window!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AndAkiAnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RotoruaRata, Manager at Emerald Spa Motor Inn, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you for your review, it pleases us very much when we can accommodate last minute arrivals AND also sell our last room. :-) Please come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

We had such a great stay, we rocked up at 9.30 asking if a room was available (hubby is a fan of the spontaneous we-didn't-book-ahead type trips away) and were kindly given the last room, which turned out to be the honeymoon suite. It was neat and comfortable, and the staff were all lovely. We were given vouchers for our adventures around Rotorua, and lots of smiles. We really appreciated the get-away, thank you!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MJoy14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RotoruaRata, Manager at Emerald Spa Motor Inn, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you for your appreciation of the service and accommodation we provide, we always strive to ensure a high standard for our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
River Forest, Illinois
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

Rotorua is full of motels. Emerald Motor Spa stood out because of the helpfulness and friendliness of the staff. We called a day early to see if they had a room for an extra night. Even though they only had a two-bedroom unit, they gave it to us at the studio rate we had for the other nights. Plus they had good recommendations for sights and restaurants.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RotoruaRata, Owner at Emerald Spa Motor Inn, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Thank you very much for the lovely review, we really appreciate it. I am pleased that we were able to accommodate you and upgrade you to a larger unit. If our guests are happy we are happy.

Thanks again,

Kind regards
Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

This place was beautiful. The staff were awesome. I can't complain about a thing. It was well worth the money and found it totally enjoyable. Everything was centrally located and easy to find. Highly recommend this accomodatiom to anyone. It was beautiful.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RotoruaRata, Owner at Emerald Spa Motor Inn, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Wow thank you very much for your review. It means so much to us to get feed back like this. As a "team" we work very hard to keep our standard high. Rotorua has a lot to offer and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay.

Thanks again,

Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
93 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

We booked a studio and it was extremely comfortable, spotless, well-serviced with good hospitality. Very convenient location and made for a throughly enjoyable night.

It was our first motel in NZ and we were very impressed. Very good value for money and it beat all bar one of the other places we stayed by a long way. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RotoruaRata, Manager at Emerald Spa Motor Inn, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Thanks for your review of our motel, we are delighted to hear such great positive feedback. Come back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.2 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
0.8 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 93 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#20 of 93 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
1.7 mi away
Cleveland Thermal Motel
Cleveland Thermal Motel
#11 of 93 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
0.4 mi away
Regal Palms 5 Star City Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emerald Spa Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emerald Spa Motor Inn

Property: Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Address: 286 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#11 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#11 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#12 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Emerald Spa Motor Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Rotorua's newest 5 star Motels providing "luxury" accommodation with an outdoor heated swimming pool, BBQ facilities and small gym. 28 luxurious suites; studio, one and two bedroom all air-conditioned with large spas, 50+ Sky TV channels, Free WiFi, King size beds, hush glass and self catering kitchenettes. Ideal for families, couples and business travellers. Only 0.5 km from the excitement of the city, this 5-star motel has an excellent location for restaurants, golf course, racecourse, conference centre and thermal attractions. Offering superior services Emerald Spa Motor Inn is committed to ensuring that your stay is comfortable, relaxing and enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Emerald Spa Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emerald Hotel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing