We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to see Rotorua from!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Ranked #9 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We'd picked the Emerald Spa Resort and two others out of the guidebook provided by our car rental company, and when we arrived in Rotarua, drove past all three and decided on the Emerald Spa based on the exterior appearance (all three were on Fenton Street). The owners were delightful and accommodating.

We'd had a disappointing stay at a motel the night before and were relieved to find Emerald Spa to be everything as billed. Our room had a spa tub in the bathroom, and the bed was super comfortable. The kitchenette was well equipped in terms of utensils and dishes. TV had good selection of channels and good reception.

AC worked great and filtered out the pervasive smell of sulphur from the air. The room was essentially soundproof, in that I didn't hear any noise from any anywhere in the motel or from the street. The swimming pool was comfortably warm but not so warm that swimming was uncomfortable. Easy parking, convenient location for the different attractions (museum, Te Puia, Skyline) and reasonable choices for take out as well as restaurants in easy distance. Note that several of the local restaurants will deliver (this is the rating for room service - the motel did not have a coffee shop, which was my only "negative" about this motor inn.

While I didn't see the family rooms, there were several rooms that had families staying in them. These appeared to be larger (maybe 2 bedrooms?).

Room Tip: I don't think there's a bad room in the place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KerryLL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RotoruaRata, Manager at Emerald Spa Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Thank you for your great review, we love to hear that our visitors to Rotorua and Emerald Spa have had a good alround experience with accommodation, dining and entertainment. Come again soon and bring your friends.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (468)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

287 - 293 of 468 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2014

Brilliant clean welcoming friendly place to stay. Modern with lovely spa bath (big) next to bed. Great to relax in an watch a movie with a bottle of bubble ... Pure Bliss.
A heated swimming pool to use. Easy Parking. Great value. A big five stars all round!
We will be back! Thanks.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nzkes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RotoruaRata, Manager at Emerald Spa Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Thanks so much for your great review, we are all delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you back sometime in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We arrived late afternoon and wanted a place to stay for 3 nights, it was a busy time and the manager was lovely and found us a room for 1 night then we needed to move to another room for the last 2 nights.

All was going well until we wanted to move, into our new room, it was early but we were advised the cleaners started at 7.30-am and our new room would be the first to be cleaned. By 9.15am this was not quite done so we asked if we could just pop our bags in the couch of the new room so we could go out and meet our friends at 9.30am, we were told by the cleaners yes no problem, but ....... Then a very unpleasant woman came over and told us to remove the bags now as the room had to be cleaned and they weren't allowed in there, she was very rude and confrontational.

So we put all the bags in the car and checked out. We did not want to stay after being treated like this.

So we decided to spend $200 a night in another hotel just down the road where there were no up issues at all.

Not a great impression for staff to leave on guests.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaboneWGTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RotoruaRata, Manager at Emerald Spa Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

We at Emerald Spa Motor Inn are really disappointed in the ratings you have afforded us. And, they do not reflect what the majority of guests have to say. In this instance it would seem that your perception of one person's demeanour ruled out everything else.

We did do our best to accommodate you and I understand an alternative for leaving your luggage was offered not only by the housekeeping staff but also at reception. It was only after your decision to leave that you explained you had an early appointment.

Our Housekeeper starts work at 8.00am, but is often in earlier, the cleaning staff start work at 9.00am. We did tell you your room would be cleaned first. It was started as soon as the cleaning staff arrived but we would not have expected to have had your room ready before 10am so your expectation of being able to Check In to your room at 9.15am is, in any accommodation provider's book, extremely unreasonable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Situated on the fringes of the city, this motor inn is slightly away from the main city, which is a problem if you don't have a vehicle ... however, if you DIDN'T have a vehicle, why on earth would you be staying in a motor inn?

As such, the location was perfect ... just slightly out of town, which means that the noise is kept to a minimum!

The staff were very friendly, and the only problem was that on the first night, something didn't work with the hot water, and we got lukewarm water instead. However, the owners quickly fixed the problems and order was restored!

The rooms were small, but very comfortable. They splurged on the extensive cable TV, which meant that rainy days and lazy nights were accompanied by relatively good TV (depending on your definition of good TV).

The free Wi-Fi was great and it's nice to see smaller outfits giving free Wi-Fi when larger hotel chains still charge for it ... shame on them!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank krebs1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RotoruaRata, Manager at Emerald Spa Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Problems such as no hot water are a major in this business, and we are always grateful for guests understanding and patience while these issues are rectified, really pleased that you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Good location, nice clean room, friendly staff. We enjoyed our stay here and our short Easter weekend break in Rotorua. Called beforehand to see if ok to leave our bags with reception in case our room was not available when we arrived and that was not a problem. Then when we did arrive, our room was ready! Room was quiet, no street noise. Was a little surprised our bedroom had no window, so no natural light, but otherwise room suited our needs (one bedroom for 3 people)

Room Tip: would ask if can have room with window!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndAkiAnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RotoruaRata, Manager at Emerald Spa Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Thank you for your review, it pleases us very much when we can accommodate last minute arrivals AND also sell our last room. :-) Please come again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We had such a great stay, we rocked up at 9.30 asking if a room was available (hubby is a fan of the spontaneous we-didn't-book-ahead type trips away) and were kindly given the last room, which turned out to be the honeymoon suite. It was neat and comfortable, and the staff were all lovely. We were given vouchers for our adventures around Rotorua, and lots of smiles. We really appreciated the get-away, thank you!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MJoy14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RotoruaRata, Manager at Emerald Spa Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Thank you for your appreciation of the service and accommodation we provide, we always strive to ensure a high standard for our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Rotorua is full of motels. Emerald Motor Spa stood out because of the helpfulness and friendliness of the staff. We called a day early to see if they had a room for an extra night. Even though they only had a two-bedroom unit, they gave it to us at the studio rate we had for the other nights. Plus they had good recommendations for sights and restaurants.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pat A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RotoruaRata, Owner at Emerald Spa Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

Thank you very much for the lovely review, we really appreciate it. I am pleased that we were able to accommodate you and upgrade you to a larger unit. If our guests are happy we are happy.

Thanks again,

Kind regards
Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.8 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
746 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#17 of 92 in Rotorua
893 reviews
1.2 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Best Western Braeside Rotorua
0.2 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
0.2 mi away
Sport of Kings Motel
Sport of Kings Motel
#2 of 92 in Rotorua
1,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emerald Spa Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emerald Spa Motor Inn

Address: 286 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#9 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#10 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#11 Business Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range: £74 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Emerald Spa Motor Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Rotorua's newest 5 star Motels providing "luxury" accommodation with an outdoor heated swimming pool, BBQ facilities and small gym. 28 luxurious suites; studio, one and two bedroom all air-conditioned with large spas, 50+ Sky TV channels, Free WiFi, King size beds, hush glass and self catering kitchenettes. Ideal for families, couples and business travellers. Only 0.5 km from the excitement of the city, this 5-star motel has an excellent location for restaurants, golf course, racecourse, conference centre and thermal attractions. Offering superior services Emerald Spa Motor Inn is committed to ensuring that your stay is comfortable, relaxing and enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Emerald Spa Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emerald Hotel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing